We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
125
21
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
21
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsoutdoor barin townbeautiful hotelnicest hotelenjoyed every momentspa areanice spotmodern fusionbuffet stylerestaurant food is amazingother hotelscevichethe hotel staffluxury hotelcomfortable roomsloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay here but dropped by for lunch and ordered head to tail lobster and the tasting menu. Usually with tasting menu you have to wait ages for each dish. That wasn't the case here, food was fast. It was the best food we had in Ecuador not just in Galapagos!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sassy_sasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Tranquil, smart layout, good food and drink, sunset view! Nice walk around to town and the beach. The room is not spacious, but comfortable.
Minor drawback, shower shield cannot prevent water spilling out to wet the floor.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SmallArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The Golden Bay is worth the money to stay here. It is by far the best hotel in the town. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. A balcony suite is a must so you can watch the wildlife down on the beach all day long. If you are paying to stay in a nice hotel you should splurge and get a oceanside or oceanfront room with a balcony. We stayed on the 3rd floor front room overlooking the beach and boardwalk. It was amazing. The room is very spacious, clean, and modern. The bathroom is huge with a double vanity, and enormous shower room. It was very quiet even though it sits right on the front boardwalk that is popular with all tourists. The hotel staff was very kind, the bartenders and some of the restaurant staff were not as cheerful, but they were never rude. We ate at the restaurant Happy Hour most nights as it was delicious. The drinks are perfect during Happy Hour Buy 1 Get 1 Free. We shared a few of the apps and were typically full after that. The Pool is not real impressive, I never saw anyone go in it during our entire stay. The rooftop plunge pool was really cool with a great vibe but the water was cold and so we never used it. The Breakfast is really great, they will order you eggs anyway you like, and the rest of buffet style with pastries, fruit, and coffee/juice. Walking through the town we caught glimpses of other hotels that claimed to be luxury, they were not compared to the Golden Palace. This place is the real deal and we enjoyed our stay 100%.

Room Tip: Balcony, ocean side or ocean front
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We were grateful to have popped into the Golden Bay Hotel. This is a modern, well designed sea facing boutique hotel. The owner Pablo is a gracious host, friendly and service orientated. He went out of his way to help us source an Ecuadorian tea. The chef serves excellent, modern fusion cuisine. The ceviche was outstanding. We returned often to eat here during our stay on San Cristobel. They also have a chilled outside coffee/cocktail area, good service and overlooking the sea and seals.
Unfortunately we were booked at a hotel next door, but would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit to the Galapagos

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra5A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Golden Sands is a beautiful boutique hotel with gorgeous views on the beach and the sea lions. The restaurant is really great and serves fusion gastronomy. From far the very best place in San Cristobal, although extremely pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ochassot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews