We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and comfortable hotel right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2017

The hotel was very well located, with lots of sea lions right outside - large comfortable rooms, with large bathrooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast and nicely presented. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay here but dropped by for lunch and ordered head to tail lobster and the tasting menu. Usually with tasting menu you have to wait ages for each dish. That wasn't the case here, food was fast. It was the best food we had in Ecuador not just in Galapagos!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sassy_sasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Tranquil, smart layout, good food and drink, sunset view! Nice walk around to town and the beach. The room is not spacious, but comfortable.
Minor drawback, shower shield cannot prevent water spilling out to wet the floor.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SmallArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The Golden Bay is worth the money to stay here. It is by far the best hotel in the town. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. A balcony suite is a must so you can watch the wildlife down on the beach all day long. If you are paying to stay in a nice hotel you should splurge and get a oceanside or oceanfront room with a balcony. We stayed on the 3rd floor front room overlooking the beach and boardwalk. It was amazing. The room is very spacious, clean, and modern. The bathroom is huge with a double vanity, and enormous shower room. It was very quiet even though it sits right on the front boardwalk that is popular with all tourists. The hotel staff was very kind, the bartenders and some of the restaurant staff were not as cheerful, but they were never rude. We ate at the restaurant Happy Hour most nights as it was delicious. The drinks are perfect during Happy Hour Buy 1 Get 1 Free. We shared a few of the apps and were typically full after that. The Pool is not real impressive, I never saw anyone go in it during our entire stay. The rooftop plunge pool was really cool with a great vibe but the water was cold and so we never used it. The Breakfast is really great, they will order you eggs anyway you like, and the rest of buffet style with pastries, fruit, and coffee/juice. Walking through the town we caught glimpses of other hotels that claimed to be luxury, they were not compared to the Golden Palace. This place is the real deal and we enjoyed our stay 100%.

Room Tip: Balcony, ocean side or ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We were grateful to have popped into the Golden Bay Hotel. This is a modern, well designed sea facing boutique hotel. The owner Pablo is a gracious host, friendly and service orientated. He went out of his way to help us source an Ecuadorian tea. The chef serves excellent, modern fusion cuisine. The ceviche was outstanding. We returned often to eat here during our stay on San Cristobel. They also have a chilled outside coffee/cocktail area, good service and overlooking the sea and seals.
Unfortunately we were booked at a hotel next door, but would not hesitate to stay here on our next visit to the Galapagos

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra5A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.1 km away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
211 reviews
0.3 km away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
49 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
70 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
84 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#22 of 25 in Santa Cruz
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Charles Darwin Lote 3 | Sector Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 200150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range: ₹ 21,401 - ₹ 42,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Bay Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Bay Hotel & Spa with 21 rooms was conceived and designed to offer guests an extraordinary level of comfort and world class service in the wonderful and unique Galapagos Islands of Ecuador. The Hotel merges luxury with environmental demands of "the Enchanted Islands". The architectural design combines modernity with the surrounding natural world. The Golden Bay Hotel was also designed to integrate "Playa de Oro" San Cristobal to its arquitectural design and contribute to enhance the natural beauty of the bay, the city and the bottom of the green hills of the island. The Golden Bay Hotel was designed to be more than a top choice accommodation. We seek to provide our guests an outstanding hotel experience, designed to further enrich the fabulous experience of visiting the Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa Galapagos Islands/Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing