We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Blanca on San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands”
Review of Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Blanca
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We selected the Casa Blanca on a recommendation from our travel agent. We spent one night here prior to starting our 8 day cruise. This hotel was quaint and we met the owner and had an opportunity to chat with her. She was delightful to chat with and gave us a quick overview of the things to see. The hotel has rooms overlooking the main harbor. From the hotel, we crossed the street and were picked up by our cruise naturalist. We had breakfast served downstairs and it was included with our stay.

Room Tip: Great view over the harbor. Has a third floor balcony where you can relax and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rebloch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

This was my go to breakfast place. I enjoyed the food and coffee. However on my eighth visit I was greeted by blaring rap music at 8 a.m.. when the 20 something guy tried to take my order I had to give it to him outside because he could not hear me over the music. I asked him to turn it down and he did for 10 minutes. I ate half my breakfast and left. 2 other people left because of the blaring rap music. It was 8 a.m.!!!! The previous times a nice young girl, very efficient and kind was taking orders and seemed to be in charge. During the previous visits nice music played, somtimes reggae, the volume was reasonable and pleasant. The guy that was playing the loud rap music on my last visit didn't care about the comstomers at all! I will never go to Casa Blanca cafe again after this dreadful experience!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonandstar1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I have no idea what the couple of poor reviews before me were on about, I had a wonderful stay here it was perfect!
First the location can't be beaten, it is right infront of the dock to catch boats and tours etc, and you can enjoy a leisurely stroll along the waterfront on Darwin Avenue- there are little boardwalks that you can go along and get great photos of iguanas, crabs, sea lions - honestly these guys are everywhere they are so cute!

The hotel itself has a very sweet bar downstairs and the best and most reasonable wine that I found on the island.
As for the music being "loud" this is utter tosh - they played a respectable volume of great music with lots of Ecuadorian specialities, and they are so polite and accommodating I'm sure they would turn the music down if anyone asked. Special thanks to the girls and Aroon for being so lovely and helping me with all my questions and constant requests for a pen haha

My room was delightful - I had a hammock, tv, cable, air con! Again - to the people who didn't like their room have you actually travelled through central or South America? Do you know what's luxury air con is? Or the complaint about hot water - water is a limited resource in this area,maybe extend a little gratitude that they are even able to offer a shower!

Jackie who owns this place was SO lovely, really accommodating and helpful and so kind. I loved her art work throughout the place.

Saving the best til last they have a small rooftop terrace with 4 sunbeds, I was the only one up there every day it was heavenly!

Thank you again for a great stay

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I would recommend for people not to stay here. This place is a dump and very overpriced. When booking I looked at photos of beautiful rooms however both of the rooms my family slept in did not look like these pictures. I was really stressed out by this place. Why didn't we like it? The place did not provide value for money, there was no hot water and it is situated above a bar is noisy. The loud music starts around 7.30 am and continues into the night. Nothing really works well, the overhead fan was noisy, the outdated air conditioner was also noisy and even the bed groaned when we rolled over. The bathrooms are not separate to the room - instead the bathroom is separated from the bed by a wall which is about 3 quarters high - meaning there is absolutely no privacy at all. I really did not like staying here - it is poor quality hostel type accommodation for hotel prices. The breakfasts were ok and the service slow. Because we had a representative from our travel agent present - they were able to facilitate getting breakfast early before we went on our daily tours - otherwise we would not have received breakfast on the days our activities started early. The best thing about this place was being able to listen to the sea lions at night - after all the noise died down. Just find somewhere else to stay - you will be much happier.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here make sure you get the front bigger rooms and be aware they are noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Travelled from Canada via Panama and Guayaquil to get to Galápagos and this place was the worst meal and service we encountered out of numerous restaurants in different countries during this trip. My partner had falafel and both of us agreed it was the worst we have ever had. I had the shawarma and it was the worst shawarma I have ever had. To top it off the service was slow and inattentive - they brought is our appetizer after I was done my main. At least the Buccaneer beer they had was a nice treat.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmyytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.3 km away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
118 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
204 reviews
0 km away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
67 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#3 of 8 in San Cristobal
94 reviews
0 km away
La Zayapa Hotel
La Zayapa Hotel
#3 of 16 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca

Address: Av. Charles Darwin y Herman Melville, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 200150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range: ₹ 7,070 - ₹ 12,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blanca is an original and artistic Bed & Breakfast located in San Cristobal Island,Galápagos, just in front of the touristic pier and the seafront boulebard. It has six rooms and one suite (dome)with ocean view, an art gallery downstairs and breakfast included at the cafeteria of the house. Each room has its own character and hand made details of the islands. Personalized attention and heplful information for the guests who are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Galapagos Islands/Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing