We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor at best, leans more torward terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Reviewed 14 January 2018

With what I paid as a solo traveler in the Galapagos (A LOT!) and to get the room I got at this hotel was INEXCUSABLE! I'm not sure if it's the Agency's fault or the hotel's but suffice to say, nope nope nope nope nope!!! I've stayed in rooms like the one I got at Opuntia that cost...oh...$15 OR LESS in so many other countries in South America where I traveled when I was a student! I don't care that this is the Galapagos and "special". This hotel and it's "pool side rooms" leave A LOT to be desired. Peeling paint, mildew, no chairs in the room to sit on, flimsy curtain with a view out back that is unattractive, a bathroom with a broken shower head, uncomfortable mattress etc. etc. The hotel staff are friendly and the view from the breakfast area is lovely (it's of the marina). But....that's it! The breakfast I found awfully lacking as well. Nothing special! I mentioned the crappy room I was given to the Agency head that organized my Galapagos trip and am now I'm on a different island in the best suite in one of the top hotels. Why this didn't happen in San Cristobal I do not know. But sadly, I can not/NOT recommend Opuntia Hotel. Even the swimming pool was dirty when I thought about swimming in it one morning....there apppeared to be bird poop floating all over the surface of the water. Even the breakfast area with the lovely view has a peculiar odor (probably sea lion urine) and the tables/chairs are not comfortable (hard heavy wood chairs...how difficult would it be to put cushions on them to make it more comfortable?) All in all, not a recommendable place to stay. I'm sure there are far nicer hotels on the island of San Cristobal where one can get much better value. Be warned that if you stay rather diasappointing hotel, do not/NOT get the poolside rooms! Maybe the ocean view rooms are better? Good luck!

Room Tip: DO NOT get the pool side rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you very much for your review .
We value each one of your comments .
We could only hope that you had given us the chance to hear from you directly as we could have helped solving some of your issues . Which we want to cover one at the time , in order to clarify a few points .
Regarding the type of room that you were given , our hotel has two type of rooms : standard and Ocean Front .
Your agency knew the type of room you were assigned , which was a standard room , which is very similar to our ocean front rooms , it has exactly the same amenities and facilities except from
the view .
Regarding the condition of the mattress , it is the first time we read such a complaint as they are new and yet again we wished you had given us your opinion at the front desk in order to offer you an upgrade .
You also mention a broken shower and we would have loved to hear from you the first day when you used such a shower in order to fix it .
Nevertheless we have reviewed the shower and it is working properly.
The swimming pools are cleaned twice a day , please keep in mind that Galapagos has an abundant wildlife and we try to keep up with them.
Regarding the breakfast area , it is located in an opening space with amazing ocean front views , we do enjoy the breeze coming from the sea .
Our breakfast selection is very varied and abundant, despite the fact that we are very isolated from the continent, we manage to offer you juices from fresh and exotic fruits , healthy granola and quinoa pop , two different flavored yogurts , a tray of cheese and ham , freshly baked bread with an option of butter and jam , omelette and another type of carbohydrates such as French toast , crepes or potatoes with cheese paddies . Freshly brewed coffee and an assortment of teas and infusions .


We can only wish that in the future, if you have a complaint you bring it to the people in charge in order to solve it on the spot , so you can understand that the situation is not arbitrary.

Once again we want to repeat that we value your comments and we are going to contact your agency and make sure that there is a follow up.
If we had been given the chance to help you , we would have offered you a solution.
Best regards from the Opuntia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018

Everything I am writing here I left in the survey form at the hotel.

My wife and I are just back from the Galapagos where we stayed on 3 islands, San Cristobal was the last.

We were felt very welcome when we arrived at CO and we were provided a nice, refreshing drink and explanation of the hotel. We had one of the top floor, ocean view rooms (#2) which provides a spectacular view of the port area, we found the room very spacious and very bright, there is a big cupboard to hang clothes and a few drawers which were sufficient for us. The major negative though was the shower, which had terrible pressure and rarely hot water, my wife waited until Quito to wash her hair, it was that bad.

There is a fridge at the hotel entrance with some local and Ecuadorian beer which works on an honor system. It was nice to be able to have a drink at the tables in the breakfast area and hang out when we had a bit of downtime or waiting to go somewhere. There is a nice pool area as well which we didn't have the time to use.

Breakfast in our opinion was pretty bad so i don't understand other reviews here saying it was great. There are a couple of tables in the breakfast area pushed together where you could get some scrambled eggs (which were not very hot) or a kind of cheese bite, also not very hot. A plate of sliced fruit (watermelon and pineapple from what i could see) was covered by plastic wrap in case you wanted any, presentation was very poor. Coffee came from a large dispenser on the same table, when I had mine it was only warm. There was also a small jug of yogurt and some cereal. A jug of juice was added to our table when we arrived. For the price paid for the room the breakfast is poor in our opinion, we had been to Isabella previously and stayed at a less fancy hotel where the breakfast was far superior. I would suggest having the choice of an omelette and some toast/pastries as well as a better fruit selection and maybe another flavor of juice and making sure the coffee is hot,

My wife got a scratch from a rock at the beach and the guy at the reception was very helpful finding some antiseptic and a way to apply it. In general the staff were excellent and very helpful. If we needed a cab it arrived in 5 mins.

WIFI was not available at all in our room, which is not the end of the world but does make it a bit of a pain when trying to confirm excursions etc. The signal was fine in the breakfast area apart from the day when we arrived and the guy at reception had to reboot the router.

We enjoyed our stay but we could have enjoyed it more with a better functioning shower and improved breakfast.

Room Tip: Take room #2, an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noel_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for your review ,
It certainly allows us to improve our services and guaranteed that your stay is pleasant .
Regarding the shower water pressure and hot water , we will address this immediately with our maintenance team.
Breakfast is very important to us, that is why we strive to give you the most options we can , despite being isolated from the continent and its consequences as limited supplies .
Nevertheless we do offer you two types of yogurts, two different cereals ( granola and quinoa pops), freshly baked bread with butter or jam . We do offer two types of fruits ( which we vary the next day ), a freshly made juice from tropical and exotic fruits ( sour sop , blackberry, tomate de árbol, naranjillas , passion fruit and strawberry) which we also vary the next day .
We also offer a cheese and ham platter and a selection of scrambled eggs and another option of carbohydrates such as cassava , potatoes or green plantains paddies with cheese .
All these items must be covered in a plastic Film d ue to the striving bird life in San Cristóbal and its curious finches in particular.
Our coffee is also freshly brewed every morning.
We do appreciate your comments and again , we will take them seriously and improve our breakfast even more !
Internet is only available in our lobby area as we clearly state on all of our booking portals , due to how far the islands are from the continent , internet can be slow at times .
We want to thank you for noticing the effort of our staff to make your stay enjoyable and for complementing our facilities .
We are looking forward to see you again in our Hotel Casa Opuntia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Opuntia with my wife during our honeymoon in early Jan. Absolutely stunning views over the bay, spacious and beautiful rooms (we had the ocean view room for 3 persons) and a great location. Short walk everywhere and sealions/iguanas right in front of the hotel.

Special thanks to our host Ariel who advised us the best spots for surfing, snorkeling and cycling. Great service from the very beginning! Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
It means the world to us and to Ariel in particular !
We are looking forward to keep providing a great service ! Thank you again for enjoying the beautiful nature in San Cristóbal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We just spend several nights at this hotel. It is a short and easy walk from the dock if you are taking a boat to the island. The staff were incredibly helpful and made sure you were enjoying your stay. The rooms are large, they had family style rooms. 2 pools and lots of good outdoor seating areas. Just outside the property is a beach where sea lions live so there is endless entertainment watching them, you may want to pack ear plugs since the alpha male sea lion likes to bark a lot at night. They do not have a restaurant onsite but there are many very close. They do provide a lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: Sea lions are loud, bring earplugs to sleep.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lisanicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Lisa thank you for your positive review !
We always enjoy having families on our hotel , and we are very grateful to you for noticing our effort to provide an excellent service , and enjoying our outdoor areas and swimming pools .
We hope to see again in the Opuntia family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

My clean room had a beautiful view of the bay and nearby beach with sea lions all over the place. The hotel staff was very attentive and helpful in answering questions. They provided a great breakfast each morning. The lobby and pool areas of the hotel were relaxing. Great hotel!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jamison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your kind words ! Our team
Is very happy to be able to provide an excellent service whilst you enjoy the amazing nature of the Galápagos Islands!
Thank you, again ,for staying at Casa Opuntia !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.1 km away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
128 reviews
0.3 km away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
52 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
70 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
85 reviews
80.4 km away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#20 of 25 in Santa Cruz
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Address: Charles Darwin S/N | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 179217, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range: ₹ 8,549 - ₹ 12,824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Casa Opuntia is our landmark hotel in San Cristobal Island. We offer 13 comfort class rooms, some with ocean front balconies, as well as a common seating and lounging area overlooking the boardwalk. You are only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach and from the small, lazy port town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno. Take a refreshing dip in our small, fresh-water swimming pool while you enjoy a cocktail before sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing