We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
90
84
38
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
84
38
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions ceviche adventure life hot water breakfast table the hotel manager laundry service juice hotel is in a great location our tour guide lovely spot remote island staff were incredibly helpful full service hotel blue footed boobies room number crepes
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We had the top room overlooking the harbor. This hotel has the basic amenities, but it has an enthusiastic and energetic manager that makes you feel at home immediately. Breakfast is good and served with a smile daily. Be sure to check out the open area on the second floor above the office. It is a wonderful open sitting area with great views of the harbor and provides books and games in case you didn't bring yours. They also have a pool, snorkel rentals and assistance with restaurants and things to do.

Room tip: The noise was coming from the harbor: sea lions as well as partiers. More quiet rooms are in the back, but they have no view.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words !
Thank you for noticing our team effort and we are looking forward to seeing you again in San Cristóbal, so that you can enjoy, yet again , the beautiful views and the proximity to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This full service hotel is on the harbor. Excellent breakfast and very comfortable rooms. The staff were helpful and knowledge. All the rooms were excellent and quiet since the hotel is located on the end of the boardwalk.

Room tip: Rooms on the second floor have views
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words !
It keeps all of us motivated and looking forward to provide an excellent service to all of our guests .
Thank you for joining the Opuntia Family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The manager Tatiana was very approachable and friendly - her local knowledge and contacts were so helpful in planning our trips and visits on the island. She really went above and beyond for us! The rooms were very well kept, clean etc, and the location next to the harbour was perfect.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidjw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words! We love to share our local knowledge with our guests to make sure that they get a unique experience whilst in the Galápagos!
Thank you for choosing Casa Opuntia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I wish so much I could write a more positive review of our experience there. Their location was perfect - overlooking the marina - and their staff were very friendly. Unfortunately, we had a a very negative experience. We booked two nights at Casa Opuntia a few weeks ago for our family vacation to the Galapagos. Upon arrival, we were brought to our room which seemed well kept. I noticed right away, what looked like a few small ants coming out of a gap between a built-in and the wall. I didn't think too much of it at the time since it was just one or two.

That quickly changed. After dropping our bags in the room and heading to the beach, we came back to an infested room. Every item from books to tablets that were on the built-in had dozens upon dozens of these ants. Further, they formed a train up the wall to the ceiling and were everywhere in the bathroom on the counter as well. It was late, so we tried to pack everything up and put it up in the closet and tried to avoid having anything touch the walls/ground before we went to bed (their reception desk was closed). The next morning, I immediately went there at opening to ask about switching rooms again for our final night and explained the issues. They told us again they were full, so I asked for a refund so we could find another place to sleep and they refused. Tatiana later came, the hotel manager, who I asked again about a refund and she refused. She instead said they'd use chemicals to spray the room to address the issue.

Ultimately, we decided to leave early and lose the hundreds of dollars we spent on the night - it was worth it to get a good nights sleep and not have to worry about bugs crawling on us and our belongings. Tatiana was very friendly and helpful and they have a great location - which is why they got 2 stars - but I am very disappointed they would not refund us the one night since we shouldn't be expected to sleep in such conditions.

Room tip: Do not choose a ground level room! Issues with insects
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for your review.
I would like to clarify a few comments.
As you are all aware , Galápagos is a pristine and unique place , that strives due to its unwavering protection of its ecosystem.
That is also part of our philosophy in Hotel Casa Opuntia .
For example , all of our shampoos , detergents, conditioners and soaps are biodegradable and eco friendly.
The month in which you visited corresponds to our winter , and by definition it is accompanied by rain , which increases the amount of insects.
Due to that , we do monthly fumigations (approved by the GALAPAGOS NATIONAL PARK).
As you can read on our other reviews , there are no mention of insects . Your case was an exceptional situation . As we were just as surprised as you , in order to address this new event , we decided to do another intensive cleanup , reinforced by the use of biodegradable repellents ( to which you refer as chemicals ), these repellents are approved by the local authorities and readily available in any grocery store .
We also ask our guests , not to keep any food that can attract insects in their rooms .
As per our conversations , you agreed to spend another night at the hotel , as you were satisfied with the steps we took to ensure that your stay would be confortable, in the same room .
The only reason you had to leave abruptly , was due to the fact that there was no availability to go to Santa Cruz , on the charter boats . You had a hotel booked there and in order not to loose your reservation, you decide to leave a day sooner . This decision was not related to the room as you describe in your review, because you had already agreed to stay with us .

I am very sorry that we couldn’t change your room as the hotel as fully booked during that week .
We are very thankful that you did appreciate our beautiful location and the kindness of our staff members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Opuntia. Tatiana, the manager (owner?) was delightful and helpful, as well as the rest of the staff. Our room was pleasant with a peak of the bay and a balcony, and the room and hotel was very clean.

Room tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiserWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana J, Manager at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so very much for your kind words, I will share them with our staff members ,
We hope to see you again and we are very grateful that you chose to stay with the Opuntia family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews