We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$230
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$226
View deal
Hotels.com
$226
View deal
Travelocity$226
Vio.com$226
Priceline$230
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
79
13
7
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
13
7
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor beautiful view sea lions every morning hotel is in a great location stayed here for nights let them know our honeymoon visit san cristobal eggs susana pier puerto galapagos island boat tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2022

We had the absolute pleasure and good fortune to stay at the Galapagos Sunset Hotel for our honeymoon. It was amazing, easy to find (we took the ferry, it was right across the street), check in was easy, the view is absolutely stone cold gorgeous. The rooms were clean and super comfortable, and super well equipped. We arrived to a beautiful little welcome basket with a small bottle of wine and a notebook and some other treats, breakfast is served every morning, they make you eggs on the top floor! It's centrally located and we had a great time sleeping in, strolling around the town, and a very easy time connecting with taxis and boats for our other more distant excursions.

Know that if you use a mobility aid, there isn't an elevator. We had two massive bags (I had scuba equipment and camera equipment and scuba camera equipment so yeah, they were no joke) and they still helped us carry them up and down the stairs. Truly excellent people, truly excellent food, truly excellent rooms. I can't recommend it enough!

Room tip: You can definitely hear traffic on the street at night, but the good news is there's very little traffic on the street at night,
Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otros at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2022

Esteemed guest
Thank you for your comment, its very important for us. Its great know about your experience with us.
Best regards
Staff Hotel Galapagos Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022

Excellent choice for staying on Cristobal. Just across the street from the pier and near airport. They have a 40$ 1/2 day tour you can take of the island. It’s not narrated, just a taxi that waits for you as you do short hikes to interesting destinations. Very good… the hotel is spotless. Breakfast, excellent. Staff very friendly,
I highly recommend.

Room tip: Ask for second floor room. There is no lift
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnhD7893EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Esteemed
Thank you for your comment, its very important for us and its great know anout your experience with us. Just one clarification we dont offer tours , we help call some taxi and in the taxi you can go to highland and the price is $80 actually only the taxi.
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

We booked this hotel to stay a few nights before our Diving Holiday. We picked it because some of the rooms had a lovely sea view. When we booked the hotel we asked to book one of these rooms and paid her cost they were on their website through our agent. It’s was our honeymoon so the agent had it as ocean view room on own booking. When we arrived we were given a room with a partial sea view but it was on the side of the hotel so not very private and the hotel next door was looking over us. We asked to change or pay the extra but we could not get accommodated as the rooms were full.
The hotel is in a great location and with it being our honeymoon we had a bottle of wine in the room. Breakfast was lovely on the top of the hotel with fruit ham and your choice of eggs scrambled or fried. If you need anything they also have a small mini market underneath the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear guests
We are sorry for your disagreement, When the agencies make a reservation, we give them all information and tell them that the room wiht one king size bed has a "lateral sea view" because those with a frontal sea view have 2 full size beds and the agency has all information and confirm us your decition.
We hope you have great memories about Galapagos
We are always at your service
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2022

The Sunset Hotel is conveniently located on San Cristobal very close to the pier and many restaurants. We stayed for two nights in May 2022 in an inside room without any windows. This wasn’t a problem because it’s a very short walk to a beautiful view. But, by the second day, we did notice an issue with some very small ants (flea size) sneaking into the room by the recessed lights on the back wall (close to the bathroom in Room #4). We had asked NOT to have housekeeping after our first night. Something for visitors to consider.

The highlights: breakfasts on the top floor overlooking the pier were very pleasant. Eggs cooked to order along with pieces of fruit and a glass of juice. And, a great view! Susana, both at the front desk and as breakfast hostess, was extremely helpful answering our questions and helping us set up a taxi tour of San Cristobal sites. Excellent, personalized service. Fresh drinking water was easily available from a cooler just outside the room. Very important if you’re preparing for any long walks/tours. And, the Sunset’s great location was close to a variety of quality lunch/dinner options. We ate very well in San Cristobal.

All told, we thought the price was a little high for the size of the room. But, the positives outweighed the negatives as we enjoyed our once-in-a-lifetime trip to the Galapagos.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear guest
We are pleased to know that your stay was to your liking, that motivates us to be better every day.
Your opinion is very important to us
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2022

Excellent in all respects. Fantastic location right on the harbor, with the best sunset views in town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast with eggs, fruit, juice.

Room tip: Try to get Room 9, if possible. It's on the top floor with a very nice patio overlooking the harbor and sunset.
Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbC3792KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear guest
We are pleased to know that your stay was to your liking, that motivates us to be better every day.
Your opinion is very important to us
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews