We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$170
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$167
View deal
Hotels.com
$167
View deal
Tripadvisor$167
Orbitz.com
Travelocity$167
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
76
12
7
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
12
7
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor beautiful view rooftop terrace sea lions every morning hotel is in a great location stayed for two nights scuba diving let them know in town susana pier galapagos puerto boat island tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

We booked this hotel to stay a few nights before our Diving Holiday. We picked it because some of the rooms had a lovely sea view. When we booked the hotel we asked to book one of these rooms and paid her cost they were on their website through our agent. It’s was our honeymoon so the agent had it as ocean view room on own booking. When we arrived we were given a room with a partial sea view but it was on the side of the hotel so not very private and the hotel next door was looking over us. We asked to change or pay the extra but we could not get accommodated as the rooms were full.
The hotel is in a great location and with it being our honeymoon we had a bottle of wine in the room. Breakfast was lovely on the top of the hotel with fruit ham and your choice of eggs scrambled or fried. If you need anything they also have a small mini market underneath the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear guests
We are sorry for your disagreement, When the agencies make a reservation, we give them all information and tell them that the room wiht one king size bed has a "lateral sea view" because those with a frontal sea view have 2 full size beds and the agency has all information and confirm us your decition.
We hope you have great memories about Galapagos
We are always at your service
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2022

The Sunset Hotel is conveniently located on San Cristobal very close to the pier and many restaurants. We stayed for two nights in May 2022 in an inside room without any windows. This wasn’t a problem because it’s a very short walk to a beautiful view. But, by the second day, we did notice an issue with some very small ants (flea size) sneaking into the room by the recessed lights on the back wall (close to the bathroom in Room #4). We had asked NOT to have housekeeping after our first night. Something for visitors to consider.

The highlights: breakfasts on the top floor overlooking the pier were very pleasant. Eggs cooked to order along with pieces of fruit and a glass of juice. And, a great view! Susana, both at the front desk and as breakfast hostess, was extremely helpful answering our questions and helping us set up a taxi tour of San Cristobal sites. Excellent, personalized service. Fresh drinking water was easily available from a cooler just outside the room. Very important if you’re preparing for any long walks/tours. And, the Sunset’s great location was close to a variety of quality lunch/dinner options. We ate very well in San Cristobal.

All told, we thought the price was a little high for the size of the room. But, the positives outweighed the negatives as we enjoyed our once-in-a-lifetime trip to the Galapagos.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear guest
We are pleased to know that your stay was to your liking, that motivates us to be better every day.
Your opinion is very important to us
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2022

Excellent in all respects. Fantastic location right on the harbor, with the best sunset views in town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast with eggs, fruit, juice.

Room tip: Try to get Room 9, if possible. It's on the top floor with a very nice patio overlooking the harbor and sunset.
Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbC3792KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear guest
We are pleased to know that your stay was to your liking, that motivates us to be better every day.
Your opinion is very important to us
Best regards
Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2022

We stayed in the room on the top floor with a king size bed. The view of the water and the sea lions is fantastic! The staff was helpful, kind and overall wonderful. The location is perfect because you are as close as you can get to the pier, shops and restaurants.

Room tip: Chose the Room on the Top Floor (no elevator)
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 April 2022 via mobile

Clean and nice rooms. The breakfast was ok, but each day you were served the same. At first, it was not that clear how breakfast worked so we felt like we could eat more. But the next day we asked for extra and it was no problem to the friendly staff

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 337carolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Esteemed
Thank you for your comment, its very important for us; all time is a pleasure can give a excellent service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews