We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$190
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
$187
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$187
Priceline$190
FindHotel$192
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
75
12
6
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
12
6
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view top floor rooftop terrace sea lions every morning hotel is in a great location stayed for two nights scuba diving let them know in town susana pier puerto galapagos boat island tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2022

We stayed in the room on the top floor with a king size bed. The view of the water and the sea lions is fantastic! The staff was helpful, kind and overall wonderful. The location is perfect because you are as close as you can get to the pier, shops and restaurants.

Room tip: Chose the Room on the Top Floor (no elevator)
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S1772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 April 2022 via mobile

Clean and nice rooms. The breakfast was ok, but each day you were served the same. At first, it was not that clear how breakfast worked so we felt like we could eat more. But the next day we asked for extra and it was no problem to the friendly staff

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 337carolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Esteemed
Thank you for your comment, its very important for us; all time is a pleasure can give a excellent service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2022

Lets just say that I did my research on Puerto Baquerizo Moreno’s hotels quite amply before committing to reserving Galapagos Sunset. I shortlisted Playa Mann and this one, but finally balanced out budget and location to stay with Galapagos Sunset. Reviews seemed fair.

Here’s my honest feedback on my experience:

Honeymoon treatment: we did not get even an apple, from the hotel. I had mentioned this to the property in advance, with their only responses being the purchase of a “package”. Normally, hotels don’t make you purchase a package for a nice simple touch, unless it’s something more elaborate like spa pampering etc. We know Galapagos properties are simple and practical, so this was not what I meant. As a guest, you mean “surprise us”. For comparison, I stayed at Isabela’s Albemarle and Santa Cruz’s Galapagos Suites and both did their own details like bed decoration, towel shaping and even a bottle of wine. Even the restaurant at the Finch Bay Hotel in Sta Cruz decorated some strawberries and chocolate on a plate with words on it for a dinner. It’s all about going an extra mile to be creative. Nothing offered on pre arrival emails nor acknowledged at check-in despite my attempts to draw their attention to a proactive customer service touch. It felt like Susana just gave us a cold shoulder.

Room assignment: in line with the above, there were different option bedrooms for the same type we purchased. We were not given the best one in terms of space and view. Just a regular room that worked fine until what happened. Keep reading…

A water leak from the room above on the bathroom: as you can see from the pictures, this water leak started right about the middle of the stay. Needless to say uncomfortable and noisy at night. A bucket had to be brought to capture the leaking water. After someone from the hotel checked the problem, we were asked to move to another room on the same floor. And guess what: we were given the room that would have been nice to have as the honeymoon attention. Noting that this room was the same room type booked/price. This wasn’t a bigger type, no upgrade here, it was just in the corner with view to the port with much nicer quarters. It felt like a bit of poetic justice there.

Breakfast serving times: if you are taking boat excursions like many of us do when visiting the island, you know they will start very early (pickup/ checkin times). We never got to eat the breakfast because of this, since it is served at 7:30am or close (right about the tour’s time). Doesn’t give you a buffer to eat and leave. Would be better if attuned to the tourism context. Again, comparing to the other hotels we stayed at in Santa Cruz and Isabela, breakfast started very early.

Others:

Noise: even though the hotel is right in the middle of a main street, it didn’t bother us. Yes, motorcycles pass and are noisy, but I think we were just too tired at the end!

Location: by far it’s best feature, you will be at walking distance right off the ferry / boat dock.

Room facilities: they are in good condition and well cleaned.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank fecardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear guests
We are sorry for your disagreement, I do not understand what packages you are referring to since we do not offer them worse even as you mention "obligate"; We are sorry for what happened in the bathroom, but accidents can happen anywhere and what we do is try to find a solution immediately.
When the agencies make a reservation, we give them the information and tell them that the double room has a "lateral sea view" because those with a frontal sea view have 2 full size beds.
Breakfast is always ready at 7:00 a.m. I don't understand why you couldn't have breakfast if your activities started after that time.
We are always at your service
Best regards Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2021 via mobile

It’s not just about the room or the view. It’s about them, those who are there to greet you before you arrive, once you arrive, when you have breakfast and even if your A/C isn’t cool enough. They are there every step of the way to help you.

Spacious rooms with a wonderful view, from your room if you booked one with that side. If not, no worries you’ll get to see the view while having breakfast (which is included).

They were kind enough to recommend us daily tours and places to eat. Some tours start quite early just let them know and they will pack a light breakfast for you!

I wish I could give Galapagos Sunset more than five stars. Worth every single penny!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anacarlotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Thank you for your important comment, all time we hope can help in every things because the most important for us is the experience in Galapagos Sunset.
Your opinion is motivation for all staff
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

The Galapagos Sunset was amazing!! From the minute you arrive, you feel welcomed and right at home. Susanna and her staff are all so nice and hospitable and we were so impressed. We booked room #9 and the views were incredible!! Don’t hesitate to book here- you won’t be disappointed. The breakfast overlooking the bay every morning was amazing and the beds were comfy, water pressure was great, etc. Get ready for an amazing trip!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cbmcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
susana yandun, Otro at Galapagos Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review, its motivation for us. We are happy that you remember Galapagos Sunset with great regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews