We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking Views from Spacious, Well-Equipped...”
other travellers have booked this property
From entrance, facing west
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From entrance, facing west
From entrance, facing west
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
From entrance, facing west
From entrance, facing west
Terrace - Looking South
Terrace - Facing North
Bedroom terrace - Looking West
Where We Are
West-facing picture-windows.
King bed, kitchenette and door to side-balcony
View from Bedroom
Bathroom (gas heated water)
Kitchenette
Building viewed from main entrance
At top of stairs - Facing NE
View from the patio
Playa Man Beach (3 minutes walk)
The Tijeretas (20 minutes walk)
Kicker Rock / Leon Dormido
Big-game Fishing with Galeodan
Meet Marlin
Hammerhead at Kicker Rock
San Cristobal Sea-lions
Playful Sea-lion
Habla Espanol?
Marine Iguana
Pajaro Brujo (Vermilion Fly-catcher)
Tortoise
Heron
Porpoise
Land Iguana
Red-footed Booby
Blue-footed Booby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Brenlang...
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views from Spacious, Well-Equipped Private Penthouse with Great Hosts”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We capped off an 8 day/7 night cruise with a 5 day stay on San Cristobal in this penthouse managed by Sean (a Canadian) and his Ecuadorian wife, Maria Elena. This is a good place for those who appreciate the "quiet side" of the Galapagos and good access to dive sites. It is also good value for money. It is indoor/outdoor living with a sprawling patio where all the comings and goings of the harbor can be monitored from the privacy of the perch. It has both a king sized and a double bed. There are about 10 good restaurants in walking distance (5-15 minutes) as well as a ktchenette with a stove, microwave, coffee machine and apartment-sized fridge. There are a significant number of stairs, some quite steep.Would not recommend for people with mobility issues. Sean and Maria Elena (who also lived in Canada many years and speaks good English) are a fount of information, but also respect your privacy. Sean kindly booked ferry tickets for us in advance and as it turned out, met our plane. He is a very good communicator. We elected to bring groceries from Santa Cruz (a rough two hour boat ride, $30 per pax, 2x day) as stocks are more predictable there, and we had a few hours to spare. Apparently there is also a 24 min flight. There is no TV and wifi is slow. Climate here is moderately hot, can cool at night. Think shorts, tee shirts, good water shoes, and sun tan lotion!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, hosts
Liked least: Struggled with Wifi (unfortunately business issues cropped out which couldn't be put on hold and it took forever to download files etc)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Thank you for your very kind review which was both generous to us, and informative for future visitors. There a couple of points on which I would like to further expand.

We have, so far, resisted the temptation to install a TV. We do ask guests if they would like one (which we can provide) but, so far, they have all been happier to take a break. We have some excellent reading and, of course, the amazing view - which includes the night-lights of the port and boats, the stars and the moon.

On the other hand, we do concede the necessity of wi-fi and access to the Internet so that guests can attend to urgent personal, business or travel matters. However, we do caution our guests that the experience can be frustrating since Internet access in San Cristobal, indeed anywhere in the Galapagos, is slow at best and sometimes completely impossible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David0317...
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely suite, lovelier hosts!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved our visit to San Cristobal, and were delighted with the Galeodan Penthouse Suite. We stayed there for seven full days and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation. It was spotlessly clean, the service was perfect and the views spectacular.

Our hosts Maria Elena and Sean were wonderful. Their recommendations, advice and assistance were spot on! Their knowledge of local attractions and recommendations for reliable guides, dive/snorkeling tour operators, and local attractions were very, very helpful.

The town of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno (locally referred to as San Cristobal) is charming. We felt safe wherever we went, the inhabitants were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Sean and Maria Elena's recommendation for restaurants led us to some delightful meals.

Again, I heartily and enthusiastically recommend the Galeodan Penthouse Suite. It is clean, friendly, expertly run, and welcoming. Look no farther for a great place to stay in San Cristobal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our enthusiastic hosts.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew L
Nags Head
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I had a great stay at the apartment! The accommodations were fabulous. The view was 2nd to none. The owner Sean was helpful and very accommodating. Short walk to snorkeling and surfing. Great view of "Canyon" the left point break. Far enough from the main area of Town so you don't hear the noise on the weekend but not far enough away to make it difficult to get there. I highly recommend this unit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansgar H
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect week”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I stayed at Galeodan one week from end February.
Maria Elena and Sean, the owners of Galeodan are perfect Hosts. The place looked brandnew and was perfectly cleaned, the view overlooking the bay is just spectacular.
They organised an overnighter in Guayaquil, which made the long journey a totally relaxed experience.

The fishing they offer on their own boat "Leodan" was my reason to come here and it was really worth the trip. The seas where nice and calm, the crew very experienced. We caught really nice fishes and had spectacular fresh seafood as Ceviche and Sashimi, which was created by mate Luis. Having Sean on board as a big time photographer was awesome, he is a nice guy that has seen somewhat of the world and is an excellent Entertainer.
Once in a lifetime trip ? Don't think so, twice sounds better...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fishing !
Liked least: That I only had one week
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing