We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
19
41
21
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
41
21
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2019

As my title implies, I came back here but decided to stay at the Miconia since I had a different travel partner this time with different needs. I remembered having some good meals at their restaurant the last time so I figured I would go and stay there this time. We were here for 5 nights.

We stayed in room 18 which had a private entrance and private balcony on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, had a little fridge and there was hot water (although we did have to let it run for a minute or two). We did have a little hiccup with the A/C however they apologized profusely and reacted very quickly and had it running again in no time. We also went into the small pool one afternoon which was a little cool but refreshing.

The breakfast was coffee or tea, juice, fruit, cheese, toast, jams and eggs cooked according to your taste. The food was tasty and served quickly. Same goes for the restaurant as we did have several meals there.

Located on the main street it was surprisingly quiet however, there were a couple of nights when we could hear music coming from a few streets down and also a political rally for the mayoral elections. This did not bother us as it all ended around 11PM. As for the noise coming from the gym, we did not hear anything at all as some others have reported. Lastly, the staff were friendly and helpful. A special thank you to Kathy and her team.

We booked this directly with the hotel and paid in advance using a bank transfer.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelmiconia, Manager at Hotel Miconia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Dear Moqueen,

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019

We stayed here for two nights as part of an organised tour with a company called Exoticca. We were a group of five couples and we were all given ground floor rooms that were dark, very hot and smelled very badly of damp. We all complained to the Hotel Manager and she moved us all to the first and second floors, fortunately sufficient better rooms were available. We cannot really blame the hotel as I suspect the tour company had paid low prices. The new room we were given was lovely, comfortable bed, good shower and air con that worked. I would agree with a previous reviewer who mentioned the lack of a bathroom window - just a mesh screen which did let some bugs in. Four of us had an early start on a boat trip and breakfast was served especially for us. We expected a limited fare but had a full choice including freshly cooked eggs. The location of this hotel is perfect, just make sure you pay a bit more and get a great room.

Room tip: Avoid the ground floor
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelmiconia, Manager at Hotel Miconia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Dear Paula,

Thank you very much for your review. Currently we are doing our best to improve the hotel, therefore all comments help us do so. We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for one awful night when Tame airlines had canceled our flight. Rude staff. Said they had no extra pillows and would need to take them from someone else’s room. No window in the bathroom only an ill fitting screen. Bugs everywhere in the bathroom. The floor was so over run with ants it was impossible to use the bathroom. Upon alerting the staff they brought up a can of bug spray that was 95% empty and then insisted that my husband spray for ants-not them. It was so overrun with insects that they refused to enter. An awful experience!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelmiconia, Manager at Hotel Miconia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Dear Jauth,

We are very sorry for the awful experience you had. Currently, we are doing our best to improve the hotel, and all our guests comments are helpful to take actions.

We wish you all the best,

Kind regards,

The management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had friends staying at this hotel (they seemed generally happy with it, although they were having wifi issues, which is common on the islands!), so we had a lunch and 2 dinners in the restaurant associated with the hotel. All meals were very good Ecuadorian fare...a wonderful ceviche de cameron with rice and plantain really stands out! Good prices, good service...a definite place to visit when you are on San Cristobal!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Hotel Miconia's location, a few steps from the pier, is perfect. You can meet your snorkel guide, the ferry, the fishing boat, etc. - only 3 minutes from your hotel room door. Breakfast up on the 2nd story is lovely - you'll be joined by finches and listen to the sea lions bark at each other, while you have juice, eggs toast, and fruit. Dinner restaurants are only a few steps away, and you can walk along the beach at night and grab a few drinks or ice cream at several spots on Charles Darwin Avenue. It's a quick walk from the Interpretation Center and the beach side lunch spots. We did not use the pool, but we did use the safes and the room refrigerators. The rooms are pretty rustic - but we enjoyed the atmosphere. Yes, the gym is noisy from 4 to 6 or so, but.. who is sitting in the room at 4:00 when you're in the Galapagos? It didn't bother us at all. Kathy helped set up our fishing and snorkeling tours, and we enjoyed the laid back, relaxed feeling in San Cristobal.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MustSeeThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews