We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubrovnik to Bari Overnight Ferry”

Jadrolinija - Day Trips
Ranked #61 of 77 things to do in Rijeka
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

So I will be completely honest with you- I have been traveling the last month around Croatia and completely understand everyone has different expectations and costs for traveling around new places. However I was surprised I couldn't find too much info about the overnight ferry service. Therefore I will do my best to give as much details about my experience with Jadrolinja, hopefully helping you make the choice not just for your budget but for your comfort.

First off, good luck with Croatia customs getting on the boat. It doesn't allow you to enter through till after 8:30pm, but you can be sure there is no air flow in the entire building so you'll be left standing outside with hundreds of other people. Once you get in its basically a joke, the barely look at your passport and push you through, so feel free to bring beer and what not for this next part.

Jadrolinja offers 3 options for travelers from low to high; a no reservation ticket, a reserved seat ticket, and a cabin ticket. I'll go through each below:

The no reservation ticket is basically you getting on the boat and sleeping on the floor. No kidding. Hallways of the ship will be littered with make shift beds, inflatable rafts and towels that people bring abroad. Obviously this is your cheapest option, however its first come first serve, so if you can get through customs quick enough you may ensure an ok section of carpet for yourself-- otherwise you are ensured to be sleeping outside. Cons? It's never quiet, like we experienced at the bar, a lovely church group who decided to sing LOUDLY until 12:30. Also, children run freely because by this time, parents dgaf and it's basically like a big sleepover. I recommend this for the hostel/camping traveler.

Next there's reserved seats. While these were a huge step up from the cheaper option, this within itself is probably for the traveller who still is on a budget but doesn't mind lights, loud people and no privacy. Imagine an airplane seat, with wider arm rests and leans back further- that's exactly what you should expect from your reserved seat. These are again, IMO a way better option if you want to splurge a little bit, however people come in and out of the rooms often, children are running around loudly, so it's hard to sleep at certain points. I recommend this for travelers who are willing to spend more but expect less of the other guests.

Lastly, you have the upscale cabins. These will offer you the most privacy, however the are extremely dated, small and the bathroom/showers which are shared are definitely like a locker rooms. We had an extremely potent smell of piss down our hallway so every time we opened the door it was a wave of a urinal. However when it came to sleeping, it was nice to have a bed to spread out on, and I couldn't complain that the sheets, pillows and blankets weren't clean bc they seemed fresh. It's a little tricky getting on the top bunk bed (the ladders they offer actually don't fit the bed so beware of that) but overall the room cooled nicely and it was quiet from the previous floors. I recommend this for the traveller who is willing to spend the extra Kuna/Euro for privacy and a bed.

Overall experience on the boat- most of the crew are not friendly and do not want to help you. I watched an American ask a crew member a question multiple times, and purposely waved off (i actually found it funny but I would have been upset if I was in his position) seeing as how what he was asking was for directions.

There is no food on the boat after 10:30, only chips, pretzels and cookies.

If your lucky, make your way to the 100 section of the boat by the cabins- that lets passengers off first and is the fastest way to Italian customs, otherwise you'll be in line a while (only one person working in Italian customs when we went on a boat that had more than 500 of us).

Hope that helps! Safe travels!

Date of experience: August 2015
24  Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car ferry"
in 7 reviews
"brac island"
in 6 reviews
"ferry service"
in 5 reviews
"your choice"
in 3 reviews
"high season"
in 5 reviews
"foot passengers"
in 3 reviews
"shower and toilet"
in 3 reviews
"three hours"
in 2 reviews
"negative reviews"
in 2 reviews
"scrambled eggs"
in 2 reviews
"berth cabin"
in 2 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 2 reviews
"marco polo"
in 2 reviews
"ferries"
in 27 reviews
"zadar"
in 18 reviews
"crossing"
in 9 reviews
"supetar"
in 7 reviews
Filter

88 - 92 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2015

There are not too many reasonably priced options to ferry over from Split to the nearby islands. Jadrolinija charges too much and yet doesn't maintain the inside of their ferries. Not clean and not even punctual. (for arrival times). Boarding and de-boarding is a push and shove your way safely on board experience. If you need to leave at certain times than this may have to be your choice.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank BFAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

As a frequent user of Jadrolinija services I must say I hate the company. The prices are outrageous. I very often use the Brestova- Porozina line which is a 15 minute (barely) long trip and i have to pay 140 HRK IN ONE DIRECTION for it. I don't often pine about prices in Croatia but this is just not fair. Plus, now they closed of the only parking area on Brestova so you cannot even go without the car to Cres (people that live in Porozina often go there just for a day so its unnecessary to go with a car) unless you want to pay cca 10 kn per hour. COME ON!!
Timetable is okay though, but only during the summer. Ferry is also okay- it's nice and tidy. At least on this line. The one that goes from Zadar to Pula looks like it hasn't seen a broom since 1980s.
What is not okay though, is that once you arrive in Porozina you're on your own to get off the ferry. There is no order in exiting the ferry (the crew SHOULD organise the exit, just like they're organising the boarding).
For now, jadrolinija is the only way to get to the Islands of Croatia with a car so i guess we all just have to deal with this thieving company.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank NightMoonstone60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We used the ferry to go on day trips to Split from Supetar. It is a nice and efficient way to get between the mainland an Brac. The ferries depart several times a day and goes on time. Tickets are bought on land before you enter the ship.

The ferry appears to be in good shape, it's planty of space and it's clean and tidy. The bathrooms are ok.

Inside the ferry there is a small cafe that serves drinks, small dishes and snacks. The trip between Split and Supetar takes around 50 minutes.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank TrineNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

It was a very hot day in Sibenik, even too hot to go to the beach. To manage the heat and to do something fun, a friend of mine suggested us to visit the island of Prvic, just around 4nm from Sibenik with two small villages, Prvic Luka and Sepurine on it. So, we decided to take a small ferry named "Tijat" operated by Jadrolinija, Croatia’s largest liner shipping company. After buying some food at the local farmers market, we boarded the ferry at 9:30am and reached Prvic Luka, our final destination by 10:15am. Round-trip ticket was 34 kunas (around $5) per person. There is also a 50% discount for the kids younger than 12; you can get more details athttp://www.jadrolinija.hr/en/about-us/ships/passenger-ships/tijat .
The ferry berths in Sibenik, right next the main bus station, where you can check the schedule and buy the tickets before departure at a small kiosk (easy to find). Be aware that parking in Sibenik is a challenge and quite expensive, but if you drive around you may find a spot and park for free in some small streets next to the main roads. There is also one “official” long-term parking area, a 15-20 min walk away from the ferry, which offers reasonable price per day (if you want this one, google the web to find the map and driving direction -http://www.gradski-parking.hr/hrv/downloads/GP-letak-2015.pdf ).

The Jadrolinija ferry, Tijat sails through the Sibenik Channel, where you will pass the historic fortress on your left. The first stop is the port of Zlarin on the island of Zlarin. The next one will be Prvic Luka.
Island of Prvic is a small island 2nm long by 0.8 nm wide; with only one main street that connects two villages. There are no cars on the island!!! But plenty of rocky and pebble beaches of your choice – there are no private or fenced beaches there;https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prvi?. On the island there are a few good restaurants if you need a bite or a drink. Ask locals for more specific things to do or just be adventurous and explore on your own. Have fun as we had.
Ferry Tijat is an old-fashion ship, built in 1955, but she is still fully functional. She has two decks – for a nice view and a breeze, go to the upper deck. If it is too windy for you can get inside as well. You can get a cup of coffee or a soft drink if you wish. There is a kitchen where the chef prepares meals for the crew; the smell of freshly made yummy dishes might be tempting, but unfortunately you will not get a chance to taste it, even the crew is very friendly.
For you with some mechanical engineering background, you may want to get a peek at the ship engine, or just to watch the bow and the stern waves leaving the ship in “the Kelvin” formation.
If you travel with the bags or carriages, you can leave them upon boarding next to the gangway – just watch where others park their bags, so you do not need to carry them around the ship.
The ferry sails back to Sibenik a few times during the day. You may also catch one that sails to Vodice (a city on the coast 10 miles north from Sibenik) and then take a local bus to return back to Sibenik. You should check the schedule before you plan your trip.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank ip461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jadrolinija - Day Trips also viewed

Hrvatska Kostajnica, Sisak-Moslavina County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Rijeka, Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
 

Been to Jadrolinija - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing