We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much too good for Atlantic City”
Review of Knife & Fork Inn

Knife & Fork Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Knife & Fork Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 406 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Albany Avenue
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Much too good for Atlantic City”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Forget the over hyped, over priced casino restaurants. The Knife & Fork is on a par with the best NYC has to offer. My wife and I and our friends dined here on Saturday January 7th. From the moment you enter, its obvious you're in one very classy, sophisticated, extremely well managed restaurant. Reception is warm and not a hint of the casino style pretension.

We arrived about 20 minutes early for a 6:45 reservation and scored the last four available seats at the bar. Within no more than a few minutes, our order was taken and the pours were generous. Try a Wistle Pig Rye Manhattan. 100 proof and 100% rye.

The service is unbelievably professional. No hint of any kind of snobby attitude you frequently get at the casinos. Without going into a lot of detail, I can tell you the food is about as good as it gets. Rack of lamb, tuna, steak, cold, fresh oysters - all perfect. Also, the extensive wine list won't break the bank.

Secure valet parking at curbside is a plus. The Knife & Fork personifies fine dining.

Go to the Knife & Fork. You won't be disapointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob46890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    129
    48
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good food and service at holiday time”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

went in xmas eve and had a good experience. food and service was good. waitstaff attentive. prices are somewhat hight but this is one of the oldest restaurants in atlantic city and well worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank citisieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellant Food and Service”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

An Atlantic City Landmark not to be missed is the Knife and Fork Restaurant. Locals and visitors are rarely disappointed when dining at this First Class Restaurant.. From delicious soups, fresh seafood and tender filet mignon, everyone will be pleased.
Try their Happy Hour for a chance to try the wonderful appetizers and soups.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shorechicknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Timeless Class All the Way”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

What a great place to have a steak. With an atmosphere straight out of the forties, Knife & Fork will make you feel like a member of the Rat Pack or one of the Sopranos. A crowded bar, dim lighting, interesting corner location across from the beach and everything you'd expect from a true steakhouse: prime cuts, broiled asparagus, creamed spinach and massive drinks. Ask to sit at a table in the bar where you can gaze out the window and watch for you limo. All at a cost much less than the chain places that abound in A/C like Ruth Chris, Mortons, etc.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nucky Ate Here & Food is Very Good!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The German architecture of the historic Inn on a corner belies it's speakeasy history. We went with other business people hosted to an array of fine appetizers and the best was their Kobe beef sliders which were cooked perfectly pink/red in the center. We waited for more while eating and drinking at the 1912 bar with an ongoing spread of crab sliders, salmon sliders, tuna tatar served on FRESH waffled potato chips, fried oysters topped with a tomato/jalapeno sauce with a dollop of blue cheese dressing...can you imagine buffalo oysters? The bar had a tall glass vessel filled with pineapple and vodka which I had mixed with soda and it was a WOW on taste! We had another function to visit and when mini desserts arrived we felt saddened we couldn't eat more. Of what we did try they were perfect...Mini: cheese cakes, key lime pie, chocolate,etc...I wish we had dinner there and being AC is only an hour away, we're planning a trip with the family. The wine list looked remarkable and if the main courses are as good as the sampling of appetizers, we are in for an epicurean treat! Now I know why my colleagues insist we walk to the Knife and Fork and take a cab back to our hotel, we were stuffed !
One final note: Given AC restaurant's overpricing, I felt the food was fairly priced given the quality of food. MY TOP PICK in AC.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RFRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knife & Fork Inn also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Knife & Fork Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing