We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect ”
Review of Ikaro Cafe

Ikaro Cafe
Ranked #29 of 384 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Thai, Cafe
Description: Our Restaurant and Coffeeshop is dedicated to homegrown organic speciality coffee and organic vegetarian food featuring flavors from all over the world. We run a coffee roastery and are specialized on vegetarian and vegan gourmet food, Asian fusion and on the second floor we host an Ayurvedic SPA. We try to sustain our Restaurant with organic food produced on our own farm or from neighbor farms located in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. Our coffee is roasted freshly every 2–3 weeks, here at our shop by —Soul Seed Coffee Roastery— With the income from our Coffeeshop we support Fundacion Make me Smile Colombia, which dedicates itself to the support of the local communities, indigenous groups and reforestation projects. visit us in Santa Marta, a charming coastal town at Colombia's Caribbean coast.
Restaurant details
Description: Our Restaurant and Coffeeshop is dedicated to homegrown organic speciality coffee and organic vegetarian food featuring flavors from all over the world. We run a coffee roastery and are specialized on vegetarian and vegan gourmet food, Asian fusion and on the second floor we host an Ayurvedic SPA. We try to sustain our Restaurant with organic food produced on our own farm or from neighbor farms located in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. Our coffee is roasted freshly every 2–3 weeks, here at our shop by —Soul Seed Coffee Roastery— With the income from our Coffeeshop we support Fundacion Make me Smile Colombia, which dedicates itself to the support of the local communities, indigenous groups and reforestation projects. visit us in Santa Marta, a charming coastal town at Colombia's Caribbean coast.
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Our coffee and chocolate combination was really nice. A lot of coffee options, even aero press. Our eggs and banana pancakes were just perfect. Calling fans, decore and music were enjoyable. Server was a bit confused but polite and tried hard. I found the check shockingly low. Recommend!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank richardbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmut u, Propietario at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018


We appreciate your visit and that you have enjoyed a good coffee, we are improving to offer a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We were so disappointed. Service was good but food isn’t freshly made where it easily could be, it makes you wonder what all the fuss is about for this place.

We ordered an Italiano sandwich which was described as having melted mozzarella cheese with tomato, pesto etc. It came out as a an orange colour slice of what was supposed to mozzarella cheese but melted cold on the sandwich? and had clearly just been left sitting till someone ordered it. We’re not even sure if it was pesto, bit of a mystery.
We also ordered Gyosas and had one and left the rest. They tasted awful.
So we left having to pay for basically nothing and hungry. We ended up at lulo - much better.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmut u, Gerente at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

We offer an apology for the event that occurred, in the ikaro restaurant we work every day with the best quality standards to offer a good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

The café’s atmosphere is really nice. It gives you a good vibe and has cool and different types of seating arrangements.

The food was very good and filling (granola bowl with almond milk). It had a lot of fresh fruits, but lacking a bit of the granola and oats itself. However it was okay.

The coffee was too rich (over-extracted), albeit brewed by hand (i.e. chemex/v60 etc.). I would not recommend this place as a must-see for coffee fanatics, but rather as a decent place for breakfast.

The staff was silent and anonymous. One could argue that a place like this deserves more vibe from the staff.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jorgenern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmut u, Gerente at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Thank you for your comments and opinions with which we will improve the service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Was recommended this cafe by a friend who is veggie. I am vegan but was still spoilt for choice. Went twice and both meals were delicious. (Also gluten free!). The staff are really nice if a little all over the place! Lovely atmosphere created by the setting and music. Recommend!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dianabE1862BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmut u, Gerente at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018


It is gratifying that you feel happy in Ikaro cafe, thank you very much for visiting us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

I came to Ikaros twice, since I was SO happy to find a place where you can have vegetarian, raw food. I had a salad once, and a sandwich, both were very good. The juices and the coffee (I graved Cold Brew, which they have) are also very nice. But you can, of course, get way way cheaper food in Colombia. It's not a place where you go when you're on a budget. But if you need a change from the Colombian food in a nice atmosphere it's a good place to go ;)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank HeikeAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmut u, Gerente at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

We appreciate your visit and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ikaro Cafe also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Los Naranjos, Tayrona National Park
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Ikaro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing