We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 61
US$ 59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casa Bugambilia(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Guaca Hostel(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$ 30
US$ 29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miami SM(Santa Marta)
US$ 27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cacao Hostel(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
US$ 34
US$ 21
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
188
55
13
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
55
13
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbreakfast and dinnerlos angelessound of the wavesopen airother guestsquesadillalonely planetthe guidebookcommunal diningbeer and soft drinksfreshwater lagoonpure natureserved family styleriver viewtayrona parkbig table
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for just 2 nights, enjoyed the beaches and the park tayrona. They're cooking for all guests the same amazing columbian speciality. But you can also wish some extra if you can't eat everything.
There is no air-conditioning, but it's not too hot in the rooms. Best place to stay if you wanna hear the nice sound of the sea and nature.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Raphael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The hotel is beautiful and set into some amazing scenery, right on the coast. We stayed in Maloka, which is decorated in keeping with the eco-style with hammocks and deck chairs for you to make the most of the view. The communal areas are open to the elements. The room itself was clean, the beds comfy and all the decorations were very lovely, understated and complimentary. We stayed on the river side and you can hear the waves crashing in the distance during the night.


The breakfast and dinner were delicious, some of the best meals that I had on the trip, even if they were quite simple. Meals were freshly prepared and shared around communal tables, which gave the evenings a great convivial atmosphere.

I popped my head into one of the empty Cabana rooms and they look super-cool, but best for mobile visitors, otherwise it's a bit difficult to get up to the actual bed. The decking area of the Cabana hung directly over the waves and was a great place to read for a couple of hours - truly an unbeatable view.

I'd definitely recommend it, maybe not for a conventional hotel stay, but definitely an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The guidebook said this was a beautiful place and it wasn't wrong. Overlooking the beach and the river with mountains in the background it is pretty special.

The accommodation is simple but spectacular as you look over the cliffs and can hear the waves crashing below you.

The food was excellent but the staff were never around although when they were they were very helpful.

Probably slightly overpriced but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We liked our room in Cabana looking over the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We fell in love with this hotel. It's very simple and not many luxuries - but what you get instead is the most amazing location and view! Both on the river, the ocean and surrounded by nature.
It's very relaxing, with hammocks and chairs overlooking the ocean. Really great vibe and dinner and breakfast are included and delicious. You get to share tables with other people which was a fun way to meet other travelers! Highly highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Arianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlovento C, Owner at Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed in Maloka. Based on the reviews and the price I expected a lot more. There are actually quite a few hotels on this beach - it's not nearly as isolated as it looks - and no place to swim (pool or beach). The rooms were fine and clean and comfy, though they smelled a bit odd. The staff was friendly but not that helpful (when we arrived the woman walked ahead of us texting while older members of our party struggled to carry their bags down the shell path to the rooms). I was a bit surprised by this because the person I emailed with about the reservation was incredibly helpful.

The common area is beautiful and nice to hang out in. Dinner was family style and tasty, and they did provide reasonable vegetarian options. The beach is small but stunning, and the view of the river coming in is very nice too.

Overall this place is fine, but by far not my favorite in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartagena2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlovento C, Owner at Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review.

We want to point out that we are an Eco Friendly hotel with few rooms and thus we have limitations with the number of people that can work at the hotel and our unable to provide the service that you may find in a large hotel. That said, our personnel is under instructions to be as helpful as possible.

The odd smell you mentioned is the scent of the palm leaves which compose the thatched roof of our lodges. That happens specially when wet and we have been subject to an unusually long and heavy winter.

Thanks again for your review and we apologize for our limitations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews