We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
193
57
13
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
57
13
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner sound of the waves los angeles other guests open air quesadilla falling asleep the guidebook communal dining lonely planet family style beer and soft drinks pure nature river view deserted beach tayrona park amazing scenery
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for just 2 nights, enjoyed the beaches and the park tayrona. They're cooking for all guests the same amazing columbian speciality. But you can also wish some extra if you can't eat everything.
There is no air-conditioning, but it's not too hot in the rooms. Best place to stay if you wanna hear the nice sound of the sea and nature.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 996raphaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The hotel is beautiful and set into some amazing scenery, right on the coast. We stayed in Maloka, which is decorated in keeping with the eco-style with hammocks and deck chairs for you to make the most of the view. The communal areas are open to the elements. The room itself was clean, the beds comfy and all the decorations were very lovely, understated and complimentary. We stayed on the river side and you can hear the waves crashing in the distance during the night.

The breakfast and dinner were delicious, some of the best meals that I had on the trip, even if they were quite simple. Meals were freshly prepared and shared around communal tables, which gave the evenings a great convivial atmosphere.

I popped my head into one of the empty Cabana rooms and they look super-cool, but best for mobile visitors, otherwise it's a bit difficult to get up to the actual bed. The decking area of the Cabana hung directly over the waves and was a great place to read for a couple of hours - truly an unbeatable view.

I'd definitely recommend it, maybe not for a conventional hotel stay, but definitely an unforgettable one.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 611meic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The guidebook said this was a beautiful place and it wasn't wrong. Overlooking the beach and the river with mountains in the background it is pretty special.

The accommodation is simple but spectacular as you look over the cliffs and can hear the waves crashing below you.

The food was excellent but the staff were never around although when they were they were very helpful.

Probably slightly overpriced but well worth a visit.

Room tip: We liked our room in Cabana looking over the ocean
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We fell in love with this hotel. It's very simple and not many luxuries - but what you get instead is the most amazing location and view! Both on the river, the ocean and surrounded by nature.
It's very relaxing, with hammocks and chairs overlooking the ocean. Really great vibe and dinner and breakfast are included and delicious. You get to share tables with other people which was a fun way to meet other travelers! Highly highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Arianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlovento C, Owner at Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed in Maloka. Based on the reviews and the price I expected a lot more. There are actually quite a few hotels on this beach - it's not nearly as isolated as it looks - and no place to swim (pool or beach). The rooms were fine and clean and comfy, though they smelled a bit odd. The staff was friendly but not that helpful (when we arrived the woman walked ahead of us texting while older members of our party struggled to carry their bags down the shell path to the rooms). I was a bit surprised by this because the person I emailed with about the reservation was incredibly helpful.

The common area is beautiful and nice to hang out in. Dinner was family style and tasty, and they did provide reasonable vegetarian options. The beach is small but stunning, and the view of the river coming in is very nice too.

Overall this place is fine, but by far not my favorite in the area.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartagena2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlovento C, Owner at Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review.

We want to point out that we are an Eco Friendly hotel with few rooms and thus we have limitations with the number of people that can work at the hotel and our unable to provide the service that you may find in a large hotel. That said, our personnel is under instructions to be as helpful as possible.

The odd smell you mentioned is the scent of the palm leaves which compose the thatched roof of our lodges. That happens specially when wet and we have been subject to an unusually long and heavy winter.

Thanks again for your review and we apologize for our limitations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews