We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
193
58
13
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
58
13
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner sound of the waves los angeles other guests open air quesadilla falling asleep the guidebook communal dining lonely planet family style beer and soft drinks pure nature river view deserted beach tayrona park amazing scenery
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Experience a setting which looks across a river flowing out of the jungle into the sea. Totally relaxing, simple rooms, great food and easy access to the national park. You can choose between Maloka (river view and less sea noise) and Cabana with rooms precariously hanging out over the sea.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stustertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Booked a very last minute stay at Finca Barlovento and although there was some confusion about where exactly we were staying (the hotel is more a complex of different hotels than one individual hotel) - once we got sorted we had the most perfect stay.

The rooms are comfortable with basic amenities but everything you need to relax. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was perfect.

The staff didn't speak any English but were helpful and we had no problems. A delicious dinner and breakfast was included in the room rate and the food was plentiful. Their was an honour bar with various beers and wines which was a nice touch.

However, the location of Barlovento is the main draw. Right at the junction of the river and the Caribbean sea, the views are simply sensational. From the rooms and the common areas we could look out and relax. We went for a walk down the sand and honestly it was pure perfection. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jahoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a last minute stay at Finca Barlovento at the airport on our way to Colombia and I am so glad we did! Evening before being shown to our room we arranged to stay another night because we were both so in awe of the beauty that surrounds this place! The staff were outstanding-they prepared delicious cocktails, wonderful family style dinners, and had great suggestions of what to see and do while staying there. Truly the highlight of our trip and we cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catiecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights in a maloka room and didn't get bored once!
It is in the most beautiful setting with stunning views.
Rooms are very comfortable with good showers- we had the end room with a great view from the shower down over the river and jungle.
Very comfortable communal area to relax with again, amazing views of ocean and river which can be seen from a sofa, comfortable deckchair or hammock.
There is a nice bar where you can choose either an ocean or river view or if you sit in the middle, both!!
Food was good both breakfast and dinner with an honesty fridge full of beer and soft drinks. The quesadillas are a good option for lunch.
Easy walk to another huge beach with more options for lunch.
Close to the park entrance, five minutes by bus from the top of the road (don't forget ID for the park!). We didn't wait long for a bus.
There is a small beach area and a great view point to relax on.
Staff are very friendly.
Only downside, if I had to find one, was nowhere to swim as crocodiles in river (we didn't see any) and too rough sea although you can join the surfers where they go to paddle out further but you can't really swim and the waves are very strong. The big tease is there is a pool in the private villa!!!
Loved it here and was exactly what we needed to completely relax.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

A wonderful stay!!! Not only does the Finca have an spectacular view it also provided an excellent service. Natalie, Martha and the rest of the staff made you feel like you were part of the family. If you are looking for a place to unwind and be very reflective this is the place for you.

At the Cabañas you go to sleep hearing the ocean waves. If you are staying at Maloka it's a quieter experience. The view is to the river.

There are things to do nearby. The meals are family style. You have an opportunity to meet other guests and share experiences over a home cooked meals.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patrib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews