We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't make the mistake to book this, WAY overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
Ranked #2 of 117 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2017

I expected a lot more for this money. Yes the location is beautiful but THAT'S ALL YOU GET!

It's better to find an accomodation nearby (at Los Naranjos) and walk here to enjoy the view.

For USD 150 I believe this hotel is terribly overpriced.

The facilities at the hotel are very poor. The strip of beach is filthy and needs to be cleaned up, plus it reeks of sewage.

Furthermore the food (which is included in the price) is very minimal. Fried rice, fried plantain and beetrood salad for dinner. And egg and toast for breakfast.

The lunchmenu consists of only a cheese and tomato Fajita. Drinks are limited to: beer, wine and cola.

How can an expensive hotel like this have such limited options?? I was expecting fruit juices, snacks and excellent food for this money? The barman at the bar (which was empty!) had a bored look at his face and was playing on his phone the entire evening

If the accomodation price was 50 USD I wouldn't have written this review but USD 150 is way too much for what you get.

Avoid yourself the dissapointment and book Aite Eco Hotel at Palomino. AMAZING hotel for USD 70. Stunning beach, excellent food and top quality service. Best hotel I have stayed at in Colombia.

Finca Barlovento, your management still has A LOT to learn.

Best regards,

Karen

Room Tip: If you choose the beach property, be aware, at night the ocean is extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenduys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlovento C, Owner at Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

☮️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Experience a setting which looks across a river flowing out of the jungle into the sea. Totally relaxing, simple rooms, great food and easy access to the national park. You can choose between Maloka (river view and less sea noise) and Cabana with rooms precariously hanging out over the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stustertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Booked a very last minute stay at Finca Barlovento and although there was some confusion about where exactly we were staying (the hotel is more a complex of different hotels than one individual hotel) - once we got sorted we had the most perfect stay.

The rooms are comfortable with basic amenities but everything you need to relax. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was perfect.

The staff didn't speak any English but were helpful and we had no problems. A delicious dinner and breakfast was included in the room rate and the food was plentiful. Their was an honour bar with various beers and wines which was a nice touch.

However, the location of Barlovento is the main draw. Right at the junction of the river and the Caribbean sea, the views are simply sensational. From the rooms and the common areas we could look out and relax. We went for a walk down the sand and honestly it was pure perfection. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jahoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a last minute stay at Finca Barlovento at the airport on our way to Colombia and I am so glad we did! Evening before being shown to our room we arranged to stay another night because we were both so in awe of the beauty that surrounds this place! The staff were outstanding-they prepared delicious cocktails, wonderful family style dinners, and had great suggestions of what to see and do while staying there. Truly the highlight of our trip and we cannot wait to return!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank catiecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights in a maloka room and didn't get bored once!
It is in the most beautiful setting with stunning views.
Rooms are very comfortable with good showers- we had the end room with a great view from the shower down over the river and jungle.
Very comfortable communal area to relax with again, amazing views of ocean and river which can be seen from a sofa, comfortable deckchair or hammock.
There is a nice bar where you can choose either an ocean or river view or if you sit in the middle, both!!
Food was good both breakfast and dinner with an honesty fridge full of beer and soft drinks. The quesadillas are a good option for lunch.
Easy walk to another huge beach with more options for lunch.
Close to the park entrance, five minutes by bus from the top of the road (don't forget ID for the park!). We didn't wait long for a bus.
There is a small beach area and a great view point to relax on.
Staff are very friendly.
Only downside, if I had to find one, was nowhere to swim as crocodiles in river (we didn't see any) and too rough sea although you can join the surfers where they go to paddle out further but you can't really swim and the waves are very strong. The big tease is there is a pool in the private villa!!!
Loved it here and was exactly what we needed to completely relax.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
2.2 km away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
604 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
24 reviews
35.3 km away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 km away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
241 reviews
6 km away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
123 reviews
37.7 km away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka

Address: Km 33, 1 Via Riohacha, Los Naranjos, Next to Tayrona Park, Santa Marta, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range: ₹ 9,172 - ₹ 10,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabaña hangs on a cliff over the beach and ocean. It has been featured in documentaries, tv and magazines such as Maison Marie Claire french edition. Maloka has lovely views to the river and sea or the jungle, its quieter than the cabaña and the rooms are spacious and with a private bathroom. The web site of Maloka can be accessed through "go to maloka" on the cabaña's web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing