We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabanas Agua Dulce(Providencia Island)
US$ 89
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
South West Bay Cabanas(Providencia Island)
US$ 70
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Enilda(Aguamansa)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel El Pirata Morgan(Providencia Island)
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cabanas El Encanto(Providencia Island)
US$ 82
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Posada Jasmina Place(Providencia Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 53
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sirius Hotel & Dive Center(Providencia Island)
US$ 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yellow Home CasaBaja(Providencia Island)
US$ 99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
226
80
34
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
80
34
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrabour honeymoongolf cartsan andressmall poolplunge poolrestaurant staffluxury hotelhotel is greatsmall roadrooms are greatthe nicest placecoral reefa special placeremote islandrent scootersrobinson crusoe
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Providencia was probably one of the best places I've ever been to. The hotel is near the airport and great for couples and families. Theres a small pool but you will end up just swimming at their dock where they have their own coral reef. Hotel offers a lot of excursions as well and you can rent golf carts or mopeds to get around the island. There are locals offering trips at the hotel also but we decided to book snorkelling through the hotel which was brilliant, renting the golf cart to explore the island was also great as its a short drive to some of the nicest beaches I've ever been to. Staff were excellent as well which really made the trip. Would be back to this place tomorrow if I could!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for the views as well as the room size
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

My stay at Deep Blue Hotel was incredible! This hotel was the perfect combination with the island of Providencia, especially being that this was a solo trip in which I wanted to get away far from home and relax in good modern style. When I arrived to the island I was quickly escorted to the hotel, which was located very close to the airport. After arriving to the reception I was greeted with a very delicious welcome cocktail from the hotel staff. Debbie, the front desk worker explained everything about hotel property, as well the island and how to do everything that I wanted to do while there. She was very nice and was willing to answer all my many questions. The hotel coordinated my scooter rental for the island at a discount price. They also booked an incredible guide for hiking to the peak of the island mountain, as well as coordinate my excursion to the Cayo Congrejo. I was satisfied with the room, located right by the reception. The room was spacious, had a balcony, and also was modern and clean. Each morning and night I ate at the hotel restaurant, which had a very friendly staff that worked diligently to meet every guest need. The culture of the hotel very much matched that of the island. Providencia is very private, laid back, and beautiful, and that's exactly how this hotel was. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The internet wifi was only available in the reception. Perhaps they will provide in the rooms in the future, but this is no big problem.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrshayes363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBlueBlue, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Many thanks for the great review, we hope that you can return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

If you don't want to be disturbed, you want to lose yourself in a good book. Leave technology behind and drink cold alcoholic beverages this is the hotel for you. Hire a buggy and visit the whole island. Eat the seafood platter, sit on the jetty, hire a boat....just dont expect to get wifi and a phone signal. But that is fine for a few days any longer and I would have lost my marbles.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank ATH04KAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

What an incredible treat! I'm not sure what some of these negative reviews are about. The reality is Isla Providencia is a very very remote island, yet the team there pulls off luxury to an almost unimaginable extent. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. The food at the restaurant is excellent- why would you order something other than the fresh catch of the day or the lobster that was caught that morning? Sauces and finishes? Yes, but why? The staff couldn't be nicer. Every question was answered with "No problem, I'll take care of it." Providencia has 6,500 citizens and is deep in the tropics. If you want an uptight staff that hustles to your every whim, go to New York. If you want genuinely nice people who do a great job at a very pleasant and comfortable speed, go to Providencia. We rented 4-wheeled mules and scooters. The staff helped arrange for 2 amazing days of snorkeling and a day of shark diving. One family had arranged for a day of fishing, and when they returned with their impressive haul, the waterfront team cleaned the fish while others used a light to highlight a black-tip reef shark circled to eat the fish parts. It was great fun for everyone having dinner on the dock. One lucky couple got treated to a fully decorated deck and a single beautiful table on the dock in celebration of their anniversary. The cell phone service is a bit spotty, but that's because Deep Blue sits in a large basin. Overall, we felt fortunate that we had selected Deep Blue over the other options. We couldn't have been happier. If you're looking for a place to luxuriate at a slower pace, you have to try Deep Blue!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DStull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Summarizing we are really disappointed with the service. As apologize for all this bad experiences we received a “sorry”. The Hotel is beautiful as well as the view but to be absolutely honest, this is not worth to make such a LONG and EXPENSIVE trip to such high prices and such FAIRLY MEDIOCRE SERVICE.

Unfortunately we had very high expectations according to the evaluations on TripAdvisor. And when you imagine to pay more than 1 million COP per night (this is much more than one average Colombian earns per MONTH), then you obviously expects an amazing experience.

But the reality is different ... We booked the most expensive room in the hotel for two nights, more nights were not available. And to be honest, we are really happy about that!!

The bad experience started with the booking process.

We sent the booking reservation trough an automatically system and needed 7 e-mails (or more) and 6 calls to receive the right reservation with the right nights number, dates and prices...In one call Fabian told to my sister “when you do not pay by today we will cancel the reservation”...what??? You received our credit card number and code and informed via mail that YOU charged our credit card 15 days before our arrival... unbelievable...

At our arrival we needed to wait because we came before check-in. This is obviously ok.
But we needed to come and call to reception several times after 3 o’clock to get our room. This is not ok if you are in a such “high class” hotel.

By the way the toilet at the reception was so dirty that I decided to wait until get our room.

On the second day we stayed in our room and ordered only one ceviche (row fish nothing cooked) and two cocktails once again. The waitress informed us that room service is from 12 pm. This is also ok. We ordered in advance and received the food 12:45, that does mean 45 minutes later!!!
the restaurant is in worst case 1 Minute far from the hotel.

We ordered some food from the Restaurant and needed two spoons. The waitress brought one and promised to come back. I guess we would wait until today.

We intended to used the safe because in all your brochures you notified your guests to urgently use them to keep safe valuable things. One of the safe showed “low battery” and did not work. We called and someone came and repaired one of them, the other one remained with low battery. How much does cost two AA-Battery?

In the restaurant not everyone was friendly, two times we “interrupted” the deep conversations in the kitchen, because we wanted to get a coffee and got a really disgusting face.

If you consider to pay a flight to Bogota, then a flight to San Andres, then a flight or catamaran to Providencia to get this service...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank María A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBlueBlue, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

We are glad that the client appreciated our “beautiful” hotel and our beautiful sea views and we are pleased to note (via direct feedback) that she also liked the restaurant food.

We agree with the assertion that it’s a long way to travel for only a 2 night stay if you are travelling non stop from Europe. Some of our repeat visitors often stay 2 full weeks. We appreciate her determination to visit our hotel, which is the most recent winner of the award for “best boutique hotel in Colombia” from the association of Colombian Travel Journalists and was last year rated as one of the “Best Hotels in Colombia” by UK newspaper The Daily Telegraph.

This client explained to us their holiday itinerary and it sounds like a stressful schedule, with little time to actually relax. At least 17 hours of jet-lag inducing flights from Germany via Bogota arriving to San Andres for only one night, then up at 5am for a bumpy 3-4 hour catamaran journey to Providencia, followed by a 4 hour wait around for our 3pm check-in time. Just 2 nights stay with us (only 1 full day to appreciate the island). Followed by another 5am start the final morning for departure on the catamaran back to San Andres. That really is a tough itinerary and we understand why the client would recommend against it.

She chose to do the last legs on the catamaran which is a 3-4 hour bumpy ride on the high seas (the 20 minute flight from San Andres is much quicker and more comfortable) and after a massive transatlantic journey she stayed on the island for just one full day (as she points out, we were fully booked the other nights).

She was understandably disappointed when she couldn’t check-in early after such an exhausting journey. We apologised to the client that the room wasn’t available at 3pm sharp but, as she says, that wasn’t enough, she has made it clear to us that she expected compensation that wasn’t given by us.

A few mistakes were made by the staff with the client. We are sorry that they impacted her stay quite so much and have apologised various times. We will take the feedback into account and hope to use it in a positive way as we are always striving to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews