We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
24
33
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
33
10
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This was my sixth visit. I always stay at El Recreo because it is comfortable, has excellent AC and provides appetizing breakfasts. It has convenient access to the beach right in front unlike other lodgings nearby and is a short walk from restaurants and a large well stocked general store.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I stayed at Cabanas el Recreo with my husband and two young children in May 2016. The location of these cabanas is excellent (best on the island, really! Directly on a wonderful beach, although some of the rooms face the street), but the hotel is poorly run and the rooms are extremely dirty. Our room featured cigarette ashes, mice droppings around the beds, dead (and live) cockroaches, pubic hair from the previous tenants, and the list goes on... The furniture had not been cleaned in a very long time. The mattresses and bathroom fixtures are more than overdue for a replacement. I don't mind a simple accommodation, but the filth here is just too much. The air conditioning worked fairly well at night, but not at all during the day. There is no restaurant or bar on site (they only serve breakfast).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amelie_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at El Recreo for 2 nights in August. Check in staff were friendly and we negotiated down to a rate of 140.000 pesos per night. Unfortunately the room needed some work, nothing worked properly, toilet seat needed replacing, doors falling off hinges and general wear and tear. That's not to say the room was awful, just not worth the money. Friends stayed for 150.000 a night at Posada del Mar and the rooms there were a class or three higher than ours. I recommend staying there.

I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you can get the room rate down to nearer 100.000 pesos, all they are worth.

Breakfast was OK, probably below average.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank bobdog343434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The El Recreo hotel is in front of a beach of blue and green colorful and transparent sea water and in front of "Felipediveshop" the best diving operation in tue island. You can book the hotel directly and they can help organize your touristic tours in this paradise. It is adviceable to negotiate your breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms have cable tv, refrigerator and airconditioner and bathroom wit shower. The rooms are clean too. Remember to bring protection against mosquitos since you are in Tropics.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bogota_NAUI_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at El Recreo the week of Christmas 2011. The cabin we were in was very simple, but fairly clean (at least, clean if you ignore the wood shavings from an obvious termite infestation). The best feature was the porch facing the ocean. The bed was hard and the pillows were completely flat, but we generally slept decently. They left the bath towels for several days until we finally threw them on the bathroom floor in the hopes they would get changed. They took away the old ones, but didn't bring new ones until we asked. We also ran out of toilet paper more than once when we were left with just a little and no extra.

The beach was nice, but the amenities were disappointing. There were no beach chairs available at all from the hotel. You could rent chairs from the dive shop next door, but none were provided. The porch of our cabin had some chairs, so we dragged those across the street and onto the beach a couple of times. The hotel also did not provide beach towels unless you paid to rent them. We paid one day (5000 pesos per person), but the ones provided were old, worn, and very musty. We got a better deal by buying them from the tienda in the Hotel Pirate Morgan.

Our room also had a "mini-bar", basically a fridge with a couple bottles of Coke and a couple of water. They charged 2500 pesos for each drink, but never replenished the supply during the week we were there.

All this being said, it seemed like a fairly decent place for the island. Many of the hotels did not have a beach and had only tiny pools. We did not see rooms anywhere else, but all of the properties seemed equal to ours. The Miss Elma next door did seem a little nicer and is also on the beach. They also supplied beach chairs and there was also a little bar right on the beach at that hotel. We also had lunch one day at the Miss Mary on Southwest Bay, which also seemed like a nice property. I would try and book one of those before returning to El Recreo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank land_shark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews