We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st visit to Cartagena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Ranked #58 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1st visit to Cartagena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

A wonderful experience to stay in such luxury inside the city walls! Was great to get transport from airport too( we had a 2 hr delay in Bogota before we left) i enjoyed the spa treatment too much to my surprise! The room was very nice and the staff was always open to help you with reservations, transport and things you'd like. As soon as we arrived we had a very good dinner there, the hotel has very good facilities as well.

My only criticism was the service at breakfast! I feel it was a biit haphazard as the waiter had no English but was very willing to serve a lot of guests who came down late for service! It was good to have an omelette with ham but no cutlery-a detail, i know & am not trying to be picky but when you pay for service this really needs attention, I feel !! I would have appreciated a strong tea to drink!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garavitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 22 July 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días estimado cliente Consideramos su comentario muy valioso y como un buen aporte para la mejora continua, fue un placer para nosotros haberlos atendido en casa canabal, esperamos su pronta visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    150
    26
    10
    23
See reviews for
57
264
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We found an oasis in the middle of a little bit of chaos. The Getsamani neighbourhood is a short walk outside of the walled old city (Centro and San Diego areas). It is a little rough around the edges but we never felt unsafe - maybe a little on edge at the beginning but found some nice restaurants and even our neighbourhood "corner store" where they had yummy cherros for our evening dessert!

As soon as we stepped inside the always locked door of the hotel we were greeted with smiles, fresh flowers and general serenity. There is a pool and huge sitting areas on the roof where you can relax and cool off from the heat and humidity in Cartagena. Staff were always very friendly and super helpful when booking tours or looking into buses, etc. (check if the tours are in English!)

Our room was newly renovated, clean and modern. We had an upgrade to a suite so was perfect for 2 adults and 10 year old. Most comfortable bed I think I've EVER slept in!!

Wifi worked in one room only so we spent quite a bit of time there - had a fan and glass windows looking onto the central area so was not a bad place to hang out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Dear Guest

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Perfect hotel for a short stay in Cartagena. The staff are very helpful and friendly, particularly if you don't know much Spanish. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if ever I return to this beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0cky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Dear Guest

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Lovely staff, all the time ready to help, book tours and restaurants.
New hotel, very beautiful area, with a fantastic rooftop.
Clean rooms. The superior room is quite small, but well equipped with great bath shower.
Location is good, close to central town, but sometimes we felt not safe to walk at night from old town at night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Dear guest

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a nice stay in this beautifully furnished boutique hotel in Getsemani. The standard room is a little small but well equipped, and while we would have appreciated having a window, the back rooms allow for more quietness than the street-facing ones. Breakfast was very good. We also enjoyed the roof terrace which is beautiful and nice to relax, although the 2 pools (on the terrace and on teh ground floor) are both too small to be able to swim.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#27 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#51 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#60 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.6 km away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Tripita Y Media Cra 10. # 31-39, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,984 - ₹ 13,285
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canabal House Hotel is located in the traditional Gethsemane district, 10 minutes from Rafael Nunez airport and steps from the convention center of the city. Our policy of personal customer service is especially designed for you and where we hope to enjoy an unforgettable experience. We have 18 rooms; Standard rhythms, Superior and Suites. You can also enjoy fine dining in our restaurant, created with local ingredients by our chefs. Disconnect will take pleasure in the world in the Spa, through its rituals, relax in the ambience of the Mirador Terrace and be tempted by our menu of cocktails and spirits at the Bar Lounge. Spaces that lead to know the city of Cartagena de Indias, declared by UNESCO Cultural Heritage and Historic Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing