We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, treated like royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Marques Hotel Boutique
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed at El Marques with some friends and it was great! The hotel keeps it's colonial charm with all modern comforts - cool a/c rooms great for Cartagena weather, wifi throughout, modern rooms and bathrooms. The staff couldn't be more helpful, it was like having a personal butler 24hrs! Breakfast was amazing, the bread is even made by the cook on site every morning! I am definitely coming back and would definitely recommend to the pickiest travelers!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thepaperlady73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for El Marques Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

i was with my wife for 4 days.... excellent. has been my best vacation.
the hotel is small an cozy, excellent wifi, a/c, only 8 or 10 rooms
great pool. close to everywhere
the staff is excellent. i recommend to use the bike ( that the hotel has) to getting around the old city.
ill be back , for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodolfo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is my first review on this website, and I am only taking the effort to write it because of the amazing experience at El Marques. We had a beautiful room - modern and well-appointed, but which exuded immense colonial charm. The staff was very prompt and helpful. But most of all, this hotel is an absolute gem. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Cartagena. It is among the best hotels I've stayed at around the world.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Just an absolutely fantastic hotel.

We returned home tonight having spent the whole day by the pool at this beautiful hotel.

I was lying there wondering what else I'd want from this hotel and there really isn't anything at all. I mean that.

The service was superb, embarrassingly good in fact: in the sense that they couldn't stop being helpful. Robin and Alberto the two waiters/generally-amazingly-helpful guys really stood out. Although everyone was really good: professional, friendly and made us feel at ease.

3 examples of their awesome service:

1. It was late when we arrived. We asked one of the maids about the hotel laundry service. We were told we were too late for that day but if we wanted some clothes washed, she would take them home and do it for us. Cue 8am the next morning she's there with perfectly washed and ironed clothes, not wanting to accept any money for doing it.

2. We had a boat booked for 8am. So spoke to Layette (sorry, think I spelt her name wrong) on the desk the night before. We get to breakfast at 7am where Robin's got a table waiting for us. He'd been waiting since 5am in case we wanted breakfast earlier than the normal breakfast hours (7am - 11am). That's embarrassingly good service - we felt bad.

3. Today. Our flight was at 10pm back to Bogota. I'd had a bad stomach this morning and didn't feel like doing much. Check out is 1pm. So we spoke to the front desk and it was all "no problem, stay around here as long as you need to" we finally checked out at 6pm, of our own accord. Lazed by the pool all day, they brought us a fantastic lunch to have sat in the sun.

I could go on...

I'd definitely agree with some of the comments other people wrote about the staff's lack of English - but it's what makes it a great place. You just need to know a few words and if you get stuck, ask to use the guest laptop and get on Google translate. That's what I did.

Simply the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shicktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

A boutique hotel is not only a well located place, very few rooms and very expensive, it's about great service, and this is not the case.
Very nice hotel, beautiful, great location, but terrible service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARCOSSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Aguamarina
Hotel Aguamarina
#94 of 155 in Cartagena
55 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
Hotel Casa del Arzobispado
#40 of 155 in Cartagena
239 reviews
0.2 km away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#45 of 155 in Cartagena
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
0.2 km away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Marques Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Marques Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Nuestra Senora del Carmen No. 33 - 41 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: ₹ 12,951 - ₹ 17,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Marques Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Marques Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing