We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
114
96
61
40
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
96
61
40
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel amazing pool some tlc pool side breakfast was excellent renovation grandeur icon lobbies unit maintenance carnival
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Very good location at the beach/bay, beatitiful accommodation cuban style, service staff is friendy but not very professional, food quality is Medium and quite espensive, always good waves/surf at the beach for beginners and advanced. In total very recommendable though!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jhhagenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo S, Gerente at El Prado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Jhhagenah


We hope to be able to assist you in a next occasion and have the opportunity to enjoy, The Hotel El Prado- Baranquilla.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

I stay in a lot of hotels and this was such a beautiful grand and opulent place to stay. The best thing about my experience was the kindness and attention from the staff. From Jorge at reception who upgraded me to ensure that i'd have great wifi, to Michelle in the pool bar who was so friendly and brought me delicious cocktails and then to Francisco Javier who was one of the best and most helpful porters i've come across, I had an amazing experience. It was so difficult to get out of the bed because it was so comfortable - but i'm glad i did because the breakfast was excellent - and I spent so much time at the amazing pool. Great place to stay in Barranquilla i'll be back ;-) Thanks so much to everyone at El Prado for making by stay so wonderful!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo S, Gerente at El Prado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear KayteWebb

Thanks for staying and for those words so gratifying for us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

We hope you come back soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Had not visited my city of birth in over 20 years, had to return to a place I felt safe, beautiful and in the heart of Barranquilla. My kids who were traveling for the first time to Colombia absolutely loved this hotel. Knowing they were staying in a hotel that had been around for so long, visited by many dignitaries was enough for them to feel as royalty. The service was a bit slow, definitely due for renovations but their gardens, pool and restaurants were great. Only stayed there for a few nights, but it definitely felt like home.

Room Tip: Center of the city
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cleopatria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo S, Gerente at El Prado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Cleopatria

Thank you for sharing your experience with us . We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! You can be sure that your comments will be part of our improvement programs.

We want you to come back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The hotel is old and needs a few updates, but we had a large group and spend a lot of time lounging around the pool which is exactly like the photos. Enjoyed the free breakfast. The beds were nice and everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoxanneAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo S, Gerente at El Prado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear RoxanneAlbuquerque


Thank you for sharing your experience with us and leave us your perception of the hotel, however we hope to be able to assist you in a next occasion and have the opportunity to enjoy the remodeling we are doing; You can be sure that your comments will be part of our improvement programs.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The El Prado Hotel has been a sort of icon for more than a century, practically all Colombians have had something to do with it one way or other since planning weddings, birthdays, vacations, family meetings at this grand old palace was deemed a social "must". However, at various stages the hotel fell into hands that did not keep maintenance and service up to par. Now, luckily, the place is finally recapturing the excellence it has always stood for, as it is being taken over by an experienced international hotel chain. Its beautiful pool area, spacious lobbies, carefully tended gardens, are beginning to look like the old Prado of yore. The rooms in the remodelled area are tastefully furnished, the restaurant open air and pool side with acceptable service and a varied menu. On the negative side, large groups of people who pay for the day on weekends take over the restaurant and pool area, the menu changes drastically, loses its appeal.
On the good side, the hotel is so large and the areas so varied and wide apart that the intrusions can go unnoticed.
A beautiful oasis that still outshines many of the more modern hotels in the Caribbean!

Room Tip: With view of pool is better.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodrigoSpiniak, Gerente at El Prado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Ruth P

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we regret the incidents that occurred during your stay; You can be sure that your comments will be part of our improvement programs.

We look forward to your visit again so that you can enjoy our new executive tower that has 81 rooms which are 60 executive King, 16 executive Double Queen, 4 executive Suite and 1 executive Presidential Suite spacious, elegantly decorated with a contemporary style that will provide you with high quality comfort. They have beautiful view to our gardens, pool and city so you enjoy a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We offer all the necessary services to make your stay a unique experience. ¡We´re waiting for you!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews