We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ok hotel , but poor experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Grand Mercure as our first choice, the Sheraton hotel, was booked out during these two days. Overall an ok experience, but sadly spoilt by the checkout experience.
The room was ok with a reasonable size for a 3-4 star hotel and likewise for the bathroom though the shower was a bit tight because it's over a narrow bath tub.
The reception, come lobby bar, was set up for wedding receptions and that added an interesting experience and the weddings did not impact the guests with noise etc.
The hotel entry security checks were courteous and friendly, and surprisingly generally better than dealings with hotel staff!
At the checkout the receptionist wanted to charge us for two breakfasts that we didn't have, stating that we had booked the breakfast at checkin, and we had to pay whether we had them or not! I made it clear that we had not booked any breakfast, and what I said was we would checkout the breakfast buffet before deciding, our decision was no breakfast.
After asking to speak to the manager, the front desk manager, Amanda, agreed to look into it further and after making a long phone call, eventually agreed to cancel the charge, putting it down to poor communication at check in. Unfortunately, by then the damage to our experience had been done. This reduces our confidence in this hotel and hence the rating. We then left for our stay at the Sheraton.
Our sty at the Sheraton is a little more expensive, but the experience is worlds apart! Overall the Grand Mercure gave a 2 star experience, but on a good day it could make 3-4 stars.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ahmad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Distinguished guests:
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Your comments is very careful and comprehensive and thank you for your criticism, This exposed that there are many drawbacks in service. We will strengthen staff training and improve the quality of service.
If there is a chance, we hope you could still staying at our hotel. Please contact me,my Email address: H8557-sl1@accor.com I will give you a more discount, free plan your itinerary in SinKiang.
Looking forward you coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The give us some fruits and nuts which was a pleasant surprise. But some things could be better: I had trouble to access the eu-fi during all my stay. The towels were very soft, but couldn't dry. And the worst part: it was difficult for them to call taxis. The last time we asked the reception guy called a man who made us pay a very high value (he wasn't a taxi driver for sure) with the excuse he couldn't find a taxi at all (we asked that with 1 day in advance). Far away from what we expect for a Mercure attendance.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank egleelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Dear guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. I am very sorry for your encounter. It is difficult to call a taxi during the 6,7,8,9 month (the peak tourism season of SinKiang).You mentioned the vehicles(you ask the frontdest ), the vehicles belong to the travel agency , price is a little bit high.
I am very sorry again. I 'll give you a more discount when you live in our hotel in the next time.If you have any question and need, please contact my email:H8557-sl1@accor.com. Look forward you coming again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The room was perfect, the a/c (important most of the year) functions well and quietly. Beds very comfortable. There were problems with the wifi which the hotel staff was able to sort out. Nice bathroom, great attendants. Friendly and helpful front desk people.
Vastly-- again, vastly-- overpriced buffet breakfast/lunch/dinner. Good food, but an absurd cost. Urumqi has many, many, many, good places to eat. Grab a cab, head do NanMen, walk south and eat anywhere-- a large plate of dumplings will set you back $2, a more elaborate dinner for two might run $10-$20 if you go fancy.
But the restaurant pricing is the only downside to this very, very, nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback in terms of Service. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am sorry that your experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our F&B team is working on every effort to improve the value for money and the quality of our buffets.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be better than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Good room size . Only one green and one red tea bags were provided . No coffee or breadfirst tea or milk . So bring you own . Breadfirst selection is not too bad . However we did have sea food buffet dinner in the restaurant ($128 RMB per person) . The selections were good .
Bad location because is not really near the centre . As we only stayed for two separate nights so no idea what the city centre is like .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Connieconni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 May 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

There's not a lot of international chain hotels in the region and this one stands out as it's rather massive and its uniquely located in the city.

There is a huge wholesale market just in front/bottom of the hotel .. we were told that the historical Silk Road passes through Urumqi and the market has almost everything ..

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jaqen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us on your last visit and appreciate your positive feedback and comments. Here at Grand Mercure Urumqi our team is always striving to meet up with our guests’ expectation. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
6.9 km away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 656 in Urumqi
86 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 656 in Urumqi
314 reviews
1.2 km away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#65 of 656 in Urumqi
33 reviews
2.7 km away
Hoi Tak Hotel
Hoi Tak Hotel
#9 of 656 in Urumqi
236 reviews
10.6 km away
Tianyuan Hotel
Tianyuan Hotel
#8 of 656 in Urumqi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel

Address: No.109 Xihong East Road, Shuimogou District, Urumqi 830063, China (Formerly Hua Ling Grand Hotel)
Region: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range: ₹ 5,196 - ₹ 13,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing has 250 well-appointed guestrooms embody both modern elegance and comfort with visible ethnic features. Guests will enjoy a refreshing moment in the lavender fragrance and other in-room facilities include big-size LED television with satellite channels, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi access, IDD telephone, executive desk and in-room safe. Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing brings you who look for a unique dining experience refined and contemporary culinary delights  Cafe Veranda, the hotel's all-day dining restaurant provides a sumptuous international buffet along with a delightful a-la-carte menu. The Lobby Bar is the place to meet and chill out with a wide selection of teas, coffees and other drinks. As one of the brand signatures offered by Grand Mercure Mei Jue, an afternoon Kongfu Tea Ceremony is also presented daily. The Executive Lounge on the 15th floor exclusively reserved for the Executive Club guests, provides complimentary breakfast, happy hour drinks, coffee and tea, with a bird’s eye view of Hongshan Park and the city skyline.  Loulan Chinese Restaurant serves classic Cantonese dishes as well as Xinjiang local specialties. Siam Thai Restaurant is engaged in exquisite seafood and specialties introducing the most authentic taste of Thailand. Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing is the brand new option for grand meetings and conferences, banquets and weddings in the city. The exquisitely designed Hualing Ballroom of 512m²can host up to 500 guests and is an ideal choice for large events. Four multi-functional rooms ranging from 90m²to 336m²in size are all equipped with state-of-the-art audio & visual equipment and high-speed Wi-Fi connections. A dedicated professional meeting service team is on standby to facilitate the success of every event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing