We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious & clean property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

There's not a lot of international chain hotels in the region and this one stands out as it's rather massive and its uniquely located in the city.

There is a huge wholesale market just in front/bottom of the hotel .. we were told that the historical Silk Road passes through Urumqi and the market has almost everything ..

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jaqen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us on your last visit and appreciate your positive feedback and comments. Here at Grand Mercure Urumqi our team is always striving to meet up with our guests’ expectation. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2016

Not a happy experience right from the word go. Firstly, the location is not good. There are masses of people selling meat on skewers, but I'm vegetarian. Lots of little shops selling tat. Nowhere to walk except the main road. Pollution big time.

With five minutes of arriving I witnessed two of the cleaning staff having a major set to, screaming and yelling like I've never heard before. I went to tell them to be quiet, which they did for a few seconds, then they started screeching again. One other room cleaner tried to stop them, but no! Totally unacceptable behaviour in a hotel. And this one purports to have stars??

Staff speaking English you cannot even count on the he fingers of one hand. Front desk staff are all smiley faced youths who say 'my English is not good'. Well, they don't have to tell me that. I'm pulling my hair out because of it. Granted, most people staying are Chinese, but surely Accor, Grand Mercure and the owner have enough business acumen to know they will lose out to competitors with these standards. The woman in charge of housekeeping, one front desk person and one man in charge in the restaurant speak good enough English to understand and trouble shoot, and were very helpful. The manager keeps himself hidden, but does speak English.

Getting tea at breakfast became a joke. The first day I asked for green tea. Mei you (there isn't any) I was told. This, in the biggest green tea producing country in the world. Maybe the Chinese drink black tea, but not everyone does. And I don't. The helpful manager realised there was a problem and told the waitress to get me some green tea. OK. Next day same as the first. And so it went on. A joke now after the event, but frustrating first thing in the morning.

Taking a shower became a major undertaking. A rain shower is fine if you're washing your hair, but I don't every day. So I used the hand shower. How to have a puddle rather than a swimming pool on the floor? An antiquated system that needs updating.

Then sleep??? Probably a good idea to sleep between 11am and 5pm. At other times there are loud voiced men shouting to their friends and on their phones down the corridor. Party time is between 1 am and 4 am when delightfully inconsiderate people check in, and bang their doors. Sound insulation here is appalling. However, the bed and pillow are comfortable.

The only reason I'm rating this as 3 and not 1 is because there are some staff who were very pleasant and helpful and have their hands tied by poorly thought through procedures. I blame management and lack of appropriate training for the poor standards in this well known French chain.

Room Tip: Quieter is at the back. If you like loud supermarket music, have a room at the front
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kinnie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2016

Thank you for selecting Grand Mercure Urumqi on your last visit to the city. We apologised sincerely for not meeting up with the expectations that your should experience here. Rest assured that your feedback and comments are very important to us and will give us the opportunity to improve. We have shared all your feedback and comments with our Management Team and we are putting up action plans and working on the improvements for the comfort and convenience of all our guests. We do hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you better and looking forward for your next visit at Grand Mercure Urqumqi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Nothing remarkable about this place. It's a decent business hotel, but they had helpful english-speaking staff who sorted us out with taxis to the bazaar and then to the train station, and there was nothing not to like about the room. Didn't have breakfast or explore the hotel facilities, and I think there was some loud music coming from somewhere at night (i could hear it faintly but it didn't bother me), but I would still have no problem recommending this place.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PlanetByTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for only 1 night during our Silk Road trip. I found there are room for improvement in housekeeping as the pillows were not properly made up upon check in. There were stains on carpet and washroom. Maybe it's the best Urumqi hotel but it's just not a five star hotel. Reception were not particularly helpful or professional. Breakfast was pretty average. Still it's better than most Xinjiang hotels.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Victoria1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for staying with us on your last visit and we do appreciate your valuable comments as this will give us the opportunity to improve our facilities, product and service standards. We had since addressed all your concerns to the respective departments and they will try their best to solve it .We look forward for your next visit at Grand Mercure Urumqi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Good hotel, but miss amenities such as a pool for such a class of hotel. Breakfast buffet offer a large choice of local and international. Loved the Thai restaurant. The location is close to a commodity market, not best for tourism, but a quick taxi ride give access to good restaurant and real market.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
6.9 km away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 656 in Urumqi
86 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 656 in Urumqi
314 reviews
1.2 km away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#65 of 656 in Urumqi
33 reviews
2.7 km away
Hoi Tak Hotel
Hoi Tak Hotel
#9 of 656 in Urumqi
236 reviews
10.6 km away
Tianyuan Hotel
Tianyuan Hotel
#8 of 656 in Urumqi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel

Address: No.109 Xihong East Road, Shuimogou District, Urumqi 830063, China (Formerly Hua Ling Grand Hotel)
Region: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range: ₹ 5,196 - ₹ 13,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing has 250 well-appointed guestrooms embody both modern elegance and comfort with visible ethnic features. Guests will enjoy a refreshing moment in the lavender fragrance and other in-room facilities include big-size LED television with satellite channels, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi access, IDD telephone, executive desk and in-room safe. Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing brings you who look for a unique dining experience refined and contemporary culinary delights  Cafe Veranda, the hotel's all-day dining restaurant provides a sumptuous international buffet along with a delightful a-la-carte menu. The Lobby Bar is the place to meet and chill out with a wide selection of teas, coffees and other drinks. As one of the brand signatures offered by Grand Mercure Mei Jue, an afternoon Kongfu Tea Ceremony is also presented daily. The Executive Lounge on the 15th floor exclusively reserved for the Executive Club guests, provides complimentary breakfast, happy hour drinks, coffee and tea, with a bird’s eye view of Hongshan Park and the city skyline.  Loulan Chinese Restaurant serves classic Cantonese dishes as well as Xinjiang local specialties. Siam Thai Restaurant is engaged in exquisite seafood and specialties introducing the most authentic taste of Thailand. Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing is the brand new option for grand meetings and conferences, banquets and weddings in the city. The exquisitely designed Hualing Ballroom of 512m²can host up to 500 guests and is an ideal choice for large events. Four multi-functional rooms ranging from 90m²to 336m²in size are all equipped with state-of-the-art audio & visual equipment and high-speed Wi-Fi connections. A dedicated professional meeting service team is on standby to facilitate the success of every event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing