We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, Western/ International Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Stayed on the executive floor. Large room and bathrooms, nicely decorated. No BBC or CNN, which was frustrating. Wireless fine, if not very fast. Note: unable to go to Google or get Gmail in any Xinjiang province hotels. Yahoo and MacMail fine. The hotel seemed in busy, nondescript area, so nowhere really for a walk. I would have rated this hotel a bit higher, but I thought the food was at best average. I don't need Western options. Juices tasted canned. Chinese selections didn't have much taste. Dinner about the same thing. Hotel needs to upgrade food. Also, no gift shop or place to buy drinks or snacks. Nothing. Nowhere nearby that I could find either. Finally, the front desk assigned one room to two different customers on my floor and this caused a lot of upset at 2am that woke everyone up. The front desk folks need more training.

Room Tip: I stayed on Executive floor (16th Fl) and rooms great.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artappraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016

Stayed here for 1 week recently and was very surprised at how good the hotel really was.
Language was a bit of a barrier but, they do have the occasional English speaking person on the front desk and one of the bell boys spoke very good English too!
The hotel was very accommodating in changing our booking 3 times (unfortunate set of circumstances) but no complaints from us.
The hotel is exceptionally clean. Our towels were changed every day and toiletries replenished also.
The food we ate 2 nights in the Thai restaurant and 1 night in the Mexican was of good quality and plenty of it. I'm not sure how fresh any of the fish was but the meat dishes certainly lived up to my expectation.
We stayed on the Muslim floor which is a non smoking floor but found when going for a look around that only half (if that) of the hotel was in use. And our air con worked too!
The place seems very popular for weddings, we saw 4 during our stay all very different and nice to see.
Getting a taxi was no problem as the hotel would arrange this for us whenever we needed one, but traffic and driving was a different story altogether!

We couldn't find a bar in the hotel to have a drink so we would order at reception desk sit and drink in the reception area.
There were very few western people staying at the hotel but I think a little bit more written information available at reception might help getting your bearings around the hotel.

The wifi password kept changing every 2-3 days without you knowing which meant if you were in your room you had to go back down to reception to ask for the code.
Overall as I say pleasantly surprised

Room Tip: Non smokers stick to the Muslim floor
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finkelhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Most rooms have a great views. Hua Ling mall is worth taking a look at. Main restaurant has great decoration and tasty food. Bussiness facilities have everything that a succesfull bussines needs. Overall great trip, great hotel Must see

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Excellent hotel. Rooms were fantastic. Big, clean and well equipped. Pleasantly surprised that the bathroom came with a rainwater shower! But best part of the hotel was the service. We had planned to take a car to Turfan to see the sights there the next day and discussed our plan with the concierge and bellhop in the morning. When we returned to the hotel in the afternoon after sightseeing and were just relaxing in the lobby, the bellhop, without prompting, approached us and showed us the newspaper weather report about an impending sandstorm that could close the road to Turfan. Good thing he gave us early warning so we had enough time to make alternative arrangements to take the train to Turfan. Great job by the service staff.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elijah234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in total - two initially and one on our way back from Kashgar. They kept our luggage for us in between the stay.
We had asked for non-smoking rooms and the first room we got had a strong smoking smell. We were promptly assigned another room. The property is upscale and the hallway and the room decor was very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast spread was good. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urumqi hotels
6.9 km away
Hilton Urumqi
Hilton Urumqi
#1 of 656 in Urumqi
86 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
Sheraton Urumqi Hotel
#3 of 656 in Urumqi
314 reviews
1.2 km away
Luxemon Xinjiang Yindu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
Bayinhe Hotel Zhongshan
#66 of 656 in Urumqi
33 reviews
2.7 km away
Hoi Tak Hotel
Hoi Tak Hotel
#9 of 656 in Urumqi
236 reviews
10.6 km away
Tianyuan Hotel
Tianyuan Hotel
#8 of 656 in Urumqi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel

Address: No.109 Xihong East Road, Shuimogou District, Urumqi 830063, China (Formerly Hua Ling Grand Hotel)
Region: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Urumqi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 656 Hotels in Urumqi
Price Range: ₹ 5,211 - ₹ 13,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing has 250 well-appointed guestrooms embody both modern elegance and comfort with visible ethnic features. Guests will enjoy a refreshing moment in the lavender fragrance and other in-room facilities include big-size LED television with satellite channels, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi access, IDD telephone, executive desk and in-room safe. Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing brings you who look for a unique dining experience refined and contemporary culinary delights  Cafe Veranda, the hotel's all-day dining restaurant provides a sumptuous international buffet along with a delightful a-la-carte menu. The Lobby Bar is the place to meet and chill out with a wide selection of teas, coffees and other drinks. As one of the brand signatures offered by Grand Mercure Mei Jue, an afternoon Kongfu Tea Ceremony is also presented daily. The Executive Lounge on the 15th floor exclusively reserved for the Executive Club guests, provides complimentary breakfast, happy hour drinks, coffee and tea, with a bird’s eye view of Hongshan Park and the city skyline.  Loulan Chinese Restaurant serves classic Cantonese dishes as well as Xinjiang local specialties. Siam Thai Restaurant is engaged in exquisite seafood and specialties introducing the most authentic taste of Thailand. Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing is the brand new option for grand meetings and conferences, banquets and weddings in the city. The exquisitely designed Hualing Ballroom of 512m²can host up to 500 guests and is an ideal choice for large events. Four multi-functional rooms ranging from 90m²to 336m²in size are all equipped with state-of-the-art audio & visual equipment and high-speed Wi-Fi connections. A dedicated professional meeting service team is on standby to facilitate the success of every event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing