We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jinjiang Inn Urumchi Hongqi Road(Urumqi)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 78
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 116
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 119
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 161
US$ 98
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yilite Hotel(Urumqi)
US$ 251
US$ 53
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Urumqi(Urumqi)
US$ 113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
44
82
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
82
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restauranta short taxi ridenice toiletrieswholesale marketcommercial centrex ray machinelong rampstar experienceaccor websiterooms are comfortablehotel managementon footinternational chainhotel roomcomfortable staycentral locationsilk road
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Stayed here for 1 week recently and was very surprised at how good the hotel really was.
Language was a bit of a barrier but, they do have the occasional English speaking person on the front desk and one of the bell boys spoke very good English too!
The hotel was very accommodating in changing our booking 3 times (unfortunate set of circumstances) but no complaints from us.
The hotel is exceptionally clean. Our towels were changed every day and toiletries replenished also.
The food we ate 2 nights in the Thai restaurant and 1 night in the Mexican was of good quality and plenty of it. I'm not sure how fresh any of the fish was but the meat dishes certainly lived up to my expectation.
We stayed on the Muslim floor which is a non smoking floor but found when going for a look around that only half (if that) of the hotel was in use. And our air con worked too!
The place seems very popular for weddings, we saw 4 during our stay all very different and nice to see.
Getting a taxi was no problem as the hotel would arrange this for us whenever we needed one, but traffic and driving was a different story altogether!

We couldn't find a bar in the hotel to have a drink so we would order at reception desk sit and drink in the reception area.
There were very few western people staying at the hotel but I think a little bit more written information available at reception might help getting your bearings around the hotel.

The wifi password kept changing every 2-3 days without you knowing which meant if you were in your room you had to go back down to reception to ask for the code.
Overall as I say pleasantly surprised

Room Tip: Non smokers stick to the Muslim floor
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finkelhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Most rooms have a great views. Hua Ling mall is worth taking a look at. Main restaurant has great decoration and tasty food. Bussiness facilities have everything that a succesfull bussines needs. Overall great trip, great hotel Must see

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Excellent hotel. Rooms were fantastic. Big, clean and well equipped. Pleasantly surprised that the bathroom came with a rainwater shower! But best part of the hotel was the service. We had planned to take a car to Turfan to see the sights there the next day and discussed our plan with the concierge and bellhop in the morning. When we returned to the hotel in the afternoon after sightseeing and were just relaxing in the lobby, the bellhop, without prompting, approached us and showed us the newspaper weather report about an impending sandstorm that could close the road to Turfan. Good thing he gave us early warning so we had enough time to make alternative arrangements to take the train to Turfan. Great job by the service staff.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elijah234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in total - two initially and one on our way back from Kashgar. They kept our luggage for us in between the stay.
We had asked for non-smoking rooms and the first room we got had a strong smoking smell. We were promptly assigned another room. The property is upscale and the hallway and the room decor was very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast spread was good. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure U... H, Manager at Grand Mercure Urumqi Hualing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have your high regards on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Urumqi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

This is a big, modern-looking hotel. You enter into what seems to be a vast, rather gaudy lobby, with the reception desk tucked away at one side. In fact this area is really a ballroom or functions area that caters to outside weddings and the like. When I was there a private performance event took place that created such an ear-shattering din that conversation between guests and reception staff was practically impossible.

On my floor at least, the rooms had a really tacky feature -- fake double entrance doors. Actually they have a standard, single door -- the other one is fixed immovably to a solid wall. This is an old trick of second-rate Las Vegas hotels, to imply a grandeur that really isn't there.

My room was large and was furnished in modern but rather sparse style -- a large bed with glass shelves for bedside tables, a desk consisting of a glass top and a small drawer containing only a sewing kit, a small, awkward couch, and a large TV. The TV offered some English news channels (BBC, CCTV, and RTL) and some English movies as well. There was free wifi which generally worked quite well, except that it regularly shut down and demanded that I re-enter the passwords before I could continue. My room was on the 12th floor which is apparently the "muslim" floor because the mini bar was locked (with no key provided) and a prayer rug and cap were included in the amenities. There was a room safe at floor level, so I had to get down on my knees to operate it. There was an electric kettle and two bags each of tea and coffee. The coffee however came as a prepared mix of sugar, milk powder, and a trace of coffee --- great if you like your coffee that way, but horrible if you don't want it to taste mostly of sugar. The do-not-disturb and make-up-room sides of the door card were hard to distinguish, so be careful which you side of the card you display. The room offered a good view over the city but the outside of the window was really filthy -- I'm not sure if this resulted from irregular maintenance or irresistable pollution.

There was a nice modern bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower stall with both hand spray and overhead "rain" spray fixtures. I though the bathroom lighting was too dim. There was a good set of toiletries with toothbrush, comb, etc. The shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel were in identical containers with the contents labeled in such small type that some people would not know which was which.

The breakfast buffet offered an exceptionally wide range of items, mostly local but with enough western choices too.

My group wasn't required to produce individual credit cards when we arrived, which created problems if we wanted other hotel services. I gave the hotel some laundry, but they demanded payment in cash at the room door when they delivered it, and refused to charge it to the room. I had to to down to the lobby, change some money, and come back up and pay for my laundry... Not what one would expect in a supposedly high-end hotel.

Overall this is an OK place to stay, but it doesn't live up to the "Grand" in its title.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews