We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 116
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 62
US$ 59
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tibet Hotel(Chengdu)
US$ 87
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 70
US$ 61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 219
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 231
US$ 194
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,441)
Filter reviews
2,441 results
Traveller rating
1,606
707
101
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,606
707
101
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe zhorizon clubacross the riverirish barbars and restaurantsriver viewlobby loungeconcierge servicegreat facilitiesduty managerwonderful hotelroom was spaciouspanda reservefitness centerchinese restauranthotel staffbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,441 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Jeff, Tyler and George were very helpful with making travel and tour arrangements and recommending activities that made our stay very memorable. Location is very convenient to the central city and directly across the street from s historic bridge to a very lively nightclub district. Lovely and very clean hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and giving us the FULL score. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially impressed by the location and the service from our colleagues Jeff, Tyler and George. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I stayed in Shangril-la, Chengdu in late March to 1 April 2018. Staff at Horizon Club were not so friendly, not so cheerful and not so service orientated as before. I stayed here many time and I know the difference this time. There was also lack of staff at times reducing to only one. They forgotten about my coffee which I had ordered. Stale fried rice was served for breakfast. Chipped porcelain spoon was found. Not really what I had expected coming from Shangri-la brand. The only plus point was that the club serving F&B stopped at 8 pm while some other Shangri-la hotels ceasing serving after 7.30 pm.

For house keeping was still good but also slipped when my request for turn down service was noted to my annoyance not done after being back a few hours later.

Room Tip: for views, choose the river view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear sawlee, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are dismay to know about your unpleasant encounter at the club lounge, and will take immediate action of this on our ongoing improvement changes. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Once again, we were blown away by the magnificent accommodations that China has to offer. This hotel was beautiful in every way. It was also well positioned to walk up and down the river and the happening nightlife spots.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Brandon K, thank you for your choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and giving us the FULL score. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially impressed by our location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The room we had was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was kept very clean by domestic staff.The restaurant provided a fantastic range of Western and Asian breakfasts and it is located in easy walking distance to many good restaurants and night entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Trevor D, thank you for your choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and giving us the FULL score. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially impressed by our service quality and food quality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We were really looking forward to our time at Shangri-La Chengdu. When we checked in (for a four night stay) the lobby looked grandly beautiful, check in was seamless and very friendly, our room (a corner one) was lovely and a pick up from the airport for our adult daughter (arriving later) was easily arranged.

But then things fell apart.

My husband and I decided to have a drink at the lobby bar while we waited for our daughter. When we tried to order a glass of prosecco, we were told it was not available. OK, so we will have red wine. No sorry, only 2 out of 7 available. OK then what can we do to get a drink?? Eventually they went downstairs to the other bar and brought up a bottle. We were a little taken aback but thought no more about it.

The next night when we all returned from dinner (around 8pm) we went to the lobby bar to try again (as it's a lovely setting). Ah no, it was CLOSED, actually boarded up. OK, so that's a bit strange! We tried to other bar, it too was now devoid of furniture and closed!

When we approached Front Desk staff we were informed that there would be a wine show in these spaces in the coming days. We complained about the lack of amenities and they sent us a complimentary bottle of wine.

The next morning it became evident that it was a bit more than a wine show. To cut a very long story short, the ENTIRE LOBBY and downstairs floor of the hotel was COMPLETELY REMODELED including cheap carpet covering the beautiful rugs and marble.

This process went on for a further two days. It appears that by the time we checked out (on day 4) the wine TRADE SHOW was about to start. The only place that guests could go in the entire hotel was the breakfast room. On our last night we attempted to have dinner at the Sichuan restaurant and we were led to a room (A SINGLE TINY ROOM) with four tables. We had to weave our way through what was basically a building site to get there. Needless to say, we said no thanks. Breakfast on day 3 (meant to finish at 10.30am) was clearly over by 10.10am, it would appear so that they could begin setting up for a mega lunch for the trade crowd.

So what was the hotel's attitude to all this? (1) Free bottle of wine night one (no mention of what was to come in terms of disruption). (2) After I got really mad on day 2, and only after this, they offered us 'free use' of the club floor. This essentially meant 2 hours of free drinks for 2 nights, as our room rate already included breakfast. Oh, and a free airport transfer. So, minimum of expenditure on the hotel's part.

I was actually told, "Well, your rooms are not affected" !!!! What complete ignorance of what you pay for in a 5 star hotel. Bars and restaurants and a nice lobby area are surely paramount to the experience?? The ambience is a very important part of the experience and for 3 days, we lived in a construction environment for what appeared to be a mega trade show.

I also do not buy the hotel's explanation that "every single 5 star hotel in Chengdu is the same right now." If that was the case, then why not advertise that beforehand on booking sites? Why take the tourist's dollar when things are so disrupted? There should have either been a very clear notice to potential guests about the level of disruption OR the hotel/s should have been blocked to (non wine) tourists for this period of time.

Upon checking out, there was no recognition of the impact of the trade show on our experience. We were given a "sorry" letter on day 2 but that was it. So we paid normal hotel prices for something that was NOT what we were promised. I would constitute this as breach of contract.

This is a very sad reflection on the Shangri-La group in general, and in particular the management of the Shangri-La in Chengdu.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Linda C, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay experience and highlighting the issues during sugar and wine exhibition. We are dismay to know that our service was not up to your standard. We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews