We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
214
424
150
45
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
424
150
45
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meeting room chengdu city ihg hotels pizza hut chunxi road breakfast buffet the location is perfect platinum member shopping street rooms are small spent two nights bit dated laundry service nice room tianfu square chinese restaurant the club lounge
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We probably should have spent just a bit more to ensure a more pleasant and relaxing stay in Chengdu. We had seen reviews stating that this hotel is slightly dated. Dated doesn't begin to describe it - this hotel's key feature is the profound and overwhelming mixture of 20+ years of smells that have been locked into its old walls and carpets. I have no problem with peeling paint or scuffed furniture, but bad smells can really turn a fine trip into a total downer. We had to hold our noses everytime we walked the halls, and so when we returned to the room after a long day of hiking or seeing the pandas, the hotel wasn't particularly welcoming or relaxing. The staff did attempt to offer us recommendations on sightseeing; however they were less accommodating when we asked to purchase Haagen Daaz from the freezer in the lobby after it 'closed' at 9pm.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie21NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsCTUCH, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Bernie21NYC

Thank you very much for your online feedback concerning your recent stay at the hotel. I was very sorry to read your comments particularly concerning the smell you experienced in the hotel corridor. I will certainly follow up on this point and we will look to change the current fragrance we use. I am sorry our team were not helpful when the Lobby Lounge was closed and you wished to purchase an ice cream, we should certainly have been more pro active.
Thank you again for your comments, it does allow us to monitor the services we provide and I do hope we might be able to welcome you back to a sweeter smelling accommodation venue.
With best wishes
William Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The hotel is in a very good location with lots of restaurants and shopping center near by. The hotel staff are nice and polite and ready to help. The rooms however needs some refurbishment, also the bathrooms. The ally towards the rooms smells of cigarettes, they should work on this.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Barsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsCTUCH, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Barsha P
Thank you very much for your online feedback concerning your recent stay with us.
I am pleased you enjoyed our friendly service and the good location of the hotel.
Your points on the refurbishment of the hotel are well noted and our next phase of room works will start early next year. I noted your point on the smell of cigarettes.
I do hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Chengdu.
With best wishes

William Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

In addition to being a first class hotel, this beautiful hotel is very well managed and maintained. It is also the home of the Chengdu Rotary Club that invites visiting Rotarians to join in the weekly meetings that include a great dinner!

Crowne Plaza City Centre
Sichuan 610016

The Club meets every Tuesday
Doors open: 6:30 pm
Program: 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsCTUCH, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Don

Thank you very much for your online feedback. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and
found the hotel to be beautiful and well maintained.
The hotel is very proud to welcome both visiting Rotarians and members and guests of the Rotary Club of Chengdu. Our club was rechartered back in 2014 and we are growing all the time!
I hope we can welcome you back to Chengdu on your next visit.
Best wishes

William Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Excellent and friendly customer service from all hotel staff, very helpful for my postal request at lobby. As Platinum member, I was lucky had room upgraded with fresh fruits plate. However, this hotel had been operated for years and needs to be refurbished (etc lighting / air conditioning / Capet ).

Convenient location for people whom travelling in Chengdu. Its at right in the central Chengdu, Its closes to Chunxi shopping street and Hongxing shopping street, it only takes less than 15 mins to walk to Taikooli, which is newest luxury shopping and entertaining area in Chengdu. also there is lot of another eating and shopping options around hotel.

It takes around 30 mins from airport without traffic and costs around CNY60.
There is a few locally bus stops just right at outside hotel for locally buses if you could understand in Chinese.

Room Tip: Higher Floors always have chance to have nice view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruofanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsCTUCH, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Ruofan X
Thank you very much for your online feedback concerning your recent stay at the hotel.
Delighted to read you enjoyed our central location quite near to Chunxi Road, IFS and Taikoo Li. As a valued IHG Rewards Club member we were pleased to extend the Platinum member benefits to you.
I do hope we can welcome you back again when you visit Chengdu.

With best wishes
William Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Very beautiful scenic view hotel situated right in the center of the Chengdu. Maintained with very good standards, has many facilities like swimming pool, massage, gym.
Restaurant is also very attractive.

Room Tip: higher floor has more beautiful views towards roadside.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akash325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsCTUCH, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear akash325

Many thanks for your feedback and I was very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and found the location and our wide range of facilities to be good and attractive.
I do hope we can welcome you back to downtown Chengdu on your next visit.

With best wishes
William Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews