We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Services are below my expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Riverview Chengdu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
Ranked #20 of 2,637 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Services are below my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Having stayed in Ascott Residences before, I looked forward to my stay in Somerset Chengdu. However, I think there's a huge room for improvement. While the studio apartment is spacious and quite clean (I can't say very clean because I found an extremely dirty kitchen sponge in the kitchen sink - do they expect me to use it?), they really have to improve their services. When I asked for a multi-outlet electrical plug at around midnight, the guest service staff told me that their equipment room was locked and nobody could open the room door, because the only staff who held the key was off duty. I had to wait till the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    63
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
35
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I spent two weeks in this hotel - when it opened it was called the SHAMA CENTRAL POINT, and now it is called SOMERSET RIVERVIEW due to a change in ownership.

My stay was totally delightful - the rooms are bright, spacious and very clean. All the facilities are brand new, and the gym is great. It is so much more comfortable than a hotel because you have more space, a small kitchen, and a washer/dryer, but still get hotel like services.

It is within walking distance of the shopping area, but you really need to take a taxi to get to most restaurants. Highly recommended if you are going to be in Chengdu for more than four or five days.

Room Tip: The NORTH facing rooms are much better than the south facing rooms, because the NORTH rooms have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeAngelaDrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Clean rooms, friendly and helpful stuff, good location. As mentioned in another review the air conditioning was a bit loud but not a problem for us. Poor breakfast selection was the only significant drawback. Paid 600 RMB per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zikade08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed at Somerset Riverview Chengdu for a couple of weeks on business. The location is great, it is almost in the city center and just a 3 minute walk away from Huaxiba metro station making it very convenient and connected. The room was excellent - spacious, very clean and modern - loved it at first sight. There's an Indian Restaurant called Cacaja and a pizzeria called Highfly Pizza right opposite the apartment. Both these restaurants are open till about 11pm so life was good out here because vegetarian food was no problem at all. The housekeeping was great - they clean all your used plates, glasses etc. so you practically have no cleaning to do even if you cook and/or eat inhouse. The complimentary wifi and wired internet offered decent speeds.

The service was just great - except that at first they did not seem to know how to utilize an airconditioner. It was still winter when I visited Chengdu and so they had switched off the central cooling unit with average room temperature almost appearing preset to 26 degrees celsius - something that I found irritating because I like cold and comfortable airconditioning in my room. I had to tell them that if they don't fix the cooling for me, I would check out and shift to Fraser Suites (another serviced apartment) which is just a short walk away. In less than 10 minutes, they immediately arranged for the window to be opened up and also provided me a personal cooler to use till they cleaned and restarted the central cooling unit - which they fixed in the following week. The breakfast was excellent - a large spread which would suit almost everyone.

Overall, I would highly recommend Somerset Riverview Chengdu as a great place to stay - great location, excellent room conditions and awesome service. I will definitely choose to stay here again whenever I'm back to Chengdu.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dude2000ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Located at the center of the city, it has great rooms, good staff, good gymnasium and indoor games too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreevardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.4 km away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#8 of 2,637 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 km away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,637 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.6 km away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#24 of 2,637 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,637 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
1.9 km away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,637 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Riverview Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Riverview Chengdu

Property: Somerset Riverview Chengdu
Address: No.1 3rd Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 2,637 Hotels in Chengdu
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,777 - ₹ 6,653
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Riverview Chengdu 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the banks of the Jinjiang River, Somerset Riverview Chengdu enjoys a prime address in the city of Chengdu. Nature features heavily around Somerset Riverview Chengdu. Whilst meandering water ways with romantic arched bridges make for a pretty cultural picture, local tea houses and bars alike takes on a fantastical modern allure. The 200 serviced residences is furnished with a modern and comfortable living and dining area, broadband Internet access, satellite television access and a fully-equipped kitchen. We offer you a wide range of apartment sizes from studio to three-bedroom apartments tailored to your lifestyle. Our 24-hour on-site security personnel and video intercom system provide you and your family a secure living environment. Somerset Riverview Chengdu is ideal for executive and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Our rooftop garden is the perfect relaxed space for lazy summer barbecue. Unique facilities include fully-equipped gymnasium, sauna rooms and children playground offering extensive leisure and sports choices for you and your family to relax and refresh. Our recreational residents’ programmes like city explorations and networking gatherings enable you to meet people and network within your community. Our helpful and caring staff is always striving to exceed your expectation, showcasing the core value of Somerset’s signature Heartware service, which is our commitment to tailor each residence to your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Somerset Riverview Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing