We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews set menu wine room chinese tea cigar room amazing hotel sun room body lotion make you feel at home chinese style ancient city pleasant surprise two nights tian marcus pedestrian plants oasis
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

This is a truly amazing hotel! Having stayed in numerous 5 star hotels in China or around the world, this is one of the few, which really made great impression on us.
The location is excellent, within the modernized old city with many good restaurants and shops nearby. What impressed us the most was the constant good service we experience throughout our stay with very friendly staff. We had complimentary airport pick up with fresh flower, water and smiling staff. The room is very clean, the bed is comfortable. We had a room looking into the yard, so it is very quiet during the night. The courtyard is beautiful. The breakfast is a set menu with either Chinese or western types of food. It was tasty and more than plenty.
It is highly recommended for visitors in Datong.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed with the family for 2 days to visit the amazing sights of Datong.

The hotel offered us impeccable service and hospitality at a level not easily found in China.

This small family run hotel is located in a pedestrian only area and from getting greeted personally at our drop off to a free shuttle service to the airport the hotel anticipated any of our needs. The rooms are lovingly appointed by the owner family and offer luxurious accommodation. The courtyard style layout and location inside the ancient city walls provides for a serene environment.

We plan to visit Shanxi province again and we will definitely check to stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank thomas_pfenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We've been travelling for now over 25 days and this hotel is the best one we've had so far in whole China. Here are some of the things that might help you while staying there if you are not Chinese:

-Restaurant
Even though it's not the typical western breakfast that you'd be used to in most places, you will not be left disappointed. Food is really nice, and particularly if you come for dinner. Note: Dinner must be booked one day in advance but I highly recommend you to do so. It's the best food experience we've had in China overall. It isn't overpriced either. Compared to most other places, I'd say even cheap. If you dislike something, tell the staff in advance and they will only serve dishes that you'd enjoy. (See photos below for the food we were served)

-Room
Spacious and beautiful. One thing that was not too happy about was the bathroom. The section was semi see-through so it felt a bit awkward every time I had to use the toilet or shower. Amenities were really nice, I noticed Loccitane shampoos and even the body lotion was very decent- again, not the usual things you would find in a hotel but way better in my personal opinion.

-Staff
What made our stay special was the lovely staff of the hotel. They are so caring and nice. We were warmly welcomed, provided fruits in our room. The staff pays close attention to details and personal requests: We bought a melon and after them noticing they offered to send it to the kitchen and slice it for us and bring to our room. We weren't charged for many of the things we should have been charged for- asking for coffee for the room with milk, some drinks during the dinner etc. I found a stray cat near the hotel and someone offered to immediately bring some food I can feed it with. We were given personalized service and this made our experience really special throughout our stay in Datong.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fresie810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Staying at this place was one of the best experiences we had in our trip in China.
Quiet, right in the city center. Best location. Is not only about how beautiful is this hotel. Service is absolutely great and of course staff are corteus and they will surprise you with every detail. We have to say thank you all!
I recommend this as a really worthwhile choice!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alberto-Kini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

This place is gorgeous ... ignore the brocade curtains and this place is perfect. Friendly charming staff - the manager speaks perfect English and is super helpful.. even ordered us a pizza one night. The courtyard is an amazing place to be surrounded by bird chatter to drink amazing French wine and read a book.. it’s also perfect walking distance to explore the newly scrubbed up old town..

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MrJonesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews