We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple hotel”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Datong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

simple hotel quite near the city centre. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The hotel restaurant has a typical Chinese menu and the breakfast is poor. great bar which is open until 2 at night and massage: the foot massage is exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MauroCogno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 销售总监 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hello, 
Thank you very much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very glad that you gave some praise to our hotel, and it's our pleasure to serve you, about our hotel breakfast, almost all the foreign guests gave us high priaise, and our breakfast is very good and special in Datong. Of course, we'll make some modifications base on your advice, we hope that you'll be satisfy when you come here next time,.
Best wishes!
Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed here in May as independent travellers. The hotel was excellent. It is located in the centre of the old town within walking distance of the old city walls and temples. Our room was very comfortable, large and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a surprise, great buffet of western and Chinese food. But the highlight was the staff, very polite, courteous, helpful, great English and so very pleasant. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up even if it means paying more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 销售总监 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello,
Thank you very much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are so happy you like our hotel.
It's our pleasure to provide considerate service for you.
Thank you so much again.
Welcome you come our hotel next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This will probably read as an unfair review. Perhaps it is - I don't know.

First the easy stuff: Room excellent. Only thing I'd change would be size of rubbish bin which is too small.
Breakfast: very good. Enjoyable. Reception staff: very good. A good number of staff have skills in English also.

Less easy bit... I was super excited when I saw the piano in the restaurant. And for the 13 seconds I played it - its "workable" as far as pianos go. As a full time musician who'd been away from any instruments for 4 weeks I was excited. I popped down mid afternoon& asked to play -- response was No, some guests sleep in the afternoon... BUT, they said I was welcome to play at 6pm as they reopened... Fair enough. Fast forward to 6pm I brought the family down - thinking we'd order a meal & play piano while they prepare... a very young cleaner came and shut me down after 13 seconds-- and had no interest in fact I had gained permission earlier. I realise this would not normally factor in a hotel review, but I'd be lying if I said it didn't affect enjoyment of the hotel overall.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JoeandMargret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 销售总监 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your choosing the Garden Hotel and making a high comments for us!
It' s hornor and responsiblities to serve for you. We are very glad that you enjoyed
wonderful stay our hotel. Look forward to providing the better serivces for you next time.
We hope you can recommend our hotel to your friend or relatives.
Wish your life will be happy!
Best regards
Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I've spent three days at the Garden Hotel. The location is just perfect, so close to downtown and clean. The room was so confortable and fully equipped. The staff was so kind and always available to satisfy my requests. I didn't have any issues with communication at the front desk. The breakfast simply amazing, you have both Chinese and Continental one.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Logan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 销售总监 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your choosing the Garden Hotel and making a high comments for us!
It' s hornor and responsiblities to serve for you. We are very glad that you enjoyed
wonderful stay our hotel. Look forward to providing the better serivces for you next time.
We hope you can recommend our hotel to your friend or relatives.
Wish your life will be happy!
Best regards
Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

A fantastic hotel with excellent staff.
Room 235 was spotless with all the amenities one would hope for. Comfortable beds and pillows ensured a great night sleep, and the bed turn down service included a bowl of fruit and chocolate which was a welcome surprise. Food in the restaurant at lunch was of excellent quality and presentation and wait staff provided wonderful friendly service. Breakfast consisted of a wonderful variety of fresh and cooked food to suit all tastes. Staff on duty were friendly and happy to assist. Coffees were specially prepared by trained staff using a professional coffee machine. Great espressos and cappuccinos were nicely presented in tasteful crockery. All this contributed to a short but wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Col N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 销售总监 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your choosing the Garden Hotel and making a high comments for us!
It' s hornor and responsiblities to serve for you. We are very glad that you enjoyed
wonderful stay our hotel. Look forward to providing the better serivces for you next time.
We hope you can recommend our hotel to your friend or relatives.
Wish your life will be happy!
Best regards
Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datong hotels
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
0 km away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#4 of 171 in Datong
27 reviews
0 km away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 171 in Datong
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong
0.8 km away
Yungang International Hotel
0 km away
Datong Hotel
Datong Hotel
#19 of 171 in Datong
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: No.59 Danan Street, Datong 037008, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Datong
Price Range: ₹ 2,681 - ₹ 4,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Datong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing