We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
298
138
25
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
138
25
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese restaurant hanging monastery excellent hotel old city private taxi great room i highly recommend this hotel breakfast was excellent great coffee very comfortable room no extra charge the usual amenities wooden pagoda business center foot massage staff were excellent western style
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Very sophisticated facilities. However, all the rooms open onto the balconies surrounding the restaurant, and the staff down there seem intent on scraping furniture across the floor, even at 1:30 in the morning. Add shrieking children, and piano music, and you get me spending the night with my head pressed between two pillows. Near a lot of wonderful attractions, once they're done being reconstructed.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ace6of6Clubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hello!
Thank you for your appreciation, and we were so glad to meet you at DaTong, and as you said, our city will be more beautiful after the renovation and rebuilding. As the better environment and the process we are making, we invite you come here again .
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Was one of the best stays I have had, the hotel provides 5 star services and accommodation at 3 star prices. I had booked directly with the hotel for 360 RMB a night; the rooms were among the best I have stayed in so it’s was crazy worth for money. The beds were very comfy, the charges for booze in the pantry very reasonable and the bathroom well equipped and provided.

Breakfast was included in our stay and was hands down the best meal we had had during our China trip, the spread was big with many choices in Western & Chinese dishes, great selection of breads, fruits and even a sushi spread. If you book for breakfast separately it’s charged at 100 RMB. For dinner its 160 RMB (we didn’t have dinner at hotel, instead went for Fenglin Ge Restaurant, which is just 5 minutes walks away, very reasonably priced and having great food)

We booked our station pickup (30 RMB), Airport drop (60 RMB), Day tours (160 RMB for Yungang Grottoes), (460 RMB for the Hanging temple, Hen mountain and wooden pagoda) & Guides (300 RMB for a day) over email with the hotel. The driver & guides were excellent and very helpful.

One of the days my friend sprained his ankle, I needed to go to the pharmacy and was not sure how to go about it not knowing Chinese. One of the ladies from Business Centre – Amy went along with me to the pharmacy as a translator and kept following up on us if we needed any other help. Great customer care and thanks one again Amy for being a life saver.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hello,
First,thank you so much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very happy provide comfortable room for you.
It's our pleasure to help you and it's our responsibilities too.
We hope you could recommend your friends and family to our hotel.
Thank you very much again.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Many on the staff spoke English. The location is within the wall so there were many exciting places to visit that were footsteps away. The staff helped me arrange trips in the province, for competitive prices. While it wasn't a fancy, luxury room (I stayed in the secondary building), it was nice, clean, and had all that was needed; it was comfortable. The food was good, and I found other guests, of many nationalities, that were quite friendly. I would have no issues staying here if I visited Datong again. And, considering prices around the world, it was quite affordable. Even though I marked "budget" for a category, it was not a budget hotel.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 80GlobalTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hello! sir/madam,
it's a so beautiful thing to receive praise from you, making good service for you and making friends with you are our pleasure, and we'll learn more English to have a better conversation with you, about the old houses, which will be rebuilt from the government, we believe that it will be a different and good sight, so welcome you to come datong and enjoy it.
Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location and not bad in terms of value for money. Breakfast was good but beware that you will not get anything beyond cereals up to ten minutes before the time when it's supposed to end.
Our room was clean but some of the communal areas weren't. We stayed at a non smoking floor but people smoked there.
Staff struggled with English and although we had some basic Chinese and the help of a phrase book, at times it was ardous to get understood.
There's a travel agency on site and they organised for a taxi to take us to where we wanted to go.
Overall an OK experience but not really meriting the high reviews on this site.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hello! sir/madam,
it's a so beautiful thing to receive praise from you, making good service for you and making friends with you are our pleasure, and we'll learn more English to have a better conversation with you, about the old houses, which will be rebuilt from the government, we believe that it will be a different and good sight, so welcome you to come datong and enjoy it.
Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed during five days with our Family. The Hotel was very good. Very good rooms and clean. Helpful staff and very good breakfast with everything a foreigner could need.

The hotel is also within walking distance to some of the tourist attractions and the great city wall.

A Mcdonalds is also close by, can be handy when you have teenagers in the family.

Very good value for the money !

We can highly recommend this this Hotel !

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roffsingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hello,dear,
knowing you have a good time here, we are all so happy, and thank you for your appreciation to us, we'll make great efforts to achieve more higher aim, expecting to see you again, best wishes for you!
Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews