We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Local Favourite”

DongFang XueMian (YingZe Jie)
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Datong
Cuisines: Street Food
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 June 2016

A chain noodle shop very popular among locals. In meal times you have to queue to pay, queue to wait for your bowl of noodle, and then try to find a vacant seat to enjoy. Price's are really good. No English menu though.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank tensaisimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016

We had our best meal in China at East Wheat in Datong. Our driver brought us here when we asked him to take us to the place he would really like to go to. Not knowing Chinese, we asked him to order for us, supplementing the order with a side of vegetables and soymilk.

The handmade noodles were perfectly cooked, and the rich vegetable broth they were in was light and delicious. The side dish of vegetables was perfectly cooked and spiced and the soymilk was among the best we've ever had. And all this for about 30RMB for three adults.

East Wheat is a small noodle restaurant that appears to be primarily for locals. We were the only non-Chinese there and got curious looks on our visit. It's clean and friendly, and definitely worth going out of the way for. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Best noodles ever!!!!! In all honesty, I was kind of glad my kids wouldn't eat theirs so that I could. The shop itself is very small and kind of hard to find without gps, but I'm glad we found it. The owners were so cute and friendly. The food was delicious and inexpensive--SO inexpensive. We all (2 families with 3 kids each) barely fit into their shop, but we managed. Had a great time and great food here! Please eat here if you ever go to Datong

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank TheFamFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a few days in Datong with friends, 6 kids between our two families. We had eaten out a few times, and wanted to find a good place with the local, famous food to Datong... the Shanxi Noodles... and this looked like the place to find. Of course, the only reviews were in Chinese and didn't translate well. They looked to be good reviews. So we went on a hunt... only to find that the place we ended up HAD to be this restaurant, but no English name to confirm.

Having lived in China for about 3 years already, places like this don't scare us. This was a real China, hole in the wall, noodle joint. Nothing fancy. No luxuries here. If you can't eat with chopsticks, make sure you bring a fork along. Don't expect the owners to know a word of English, and expect lots of commotion over your being there is you are a foreigner. I get the impression that not many foreigners walk through their doors.

We basically pointed to the noodles, and told them how many we wanted. The small room in the back had a few tables and several stools. The noodles came with a tea egg on top... and they were SOOO delicious! Fresh, chewy texture, and perfectly flavored. All of the kids gobbled them up, and my youngest was scouring the bowls for any traces left behind.

If you are a foreigner, please make a point to seek this place out. It is so worth it!! Don't be afraid. Our only regret is that we hadn't been out to find this place a day earlier! I could eat here every day. And you can't beat the price! 9 bowls of noodles, a couple of beers, and several drinks for the kids, and our bill was only 81RMB. I'll let you do the math. :)

Don't miss it!

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachris2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to DongFang XueMian (YingZe Jie)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing