We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not nobody spoke English”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Datong
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel looks pretty nice but if you can't understand anybody that works in the hotel it makes it very hard. When we tried to order room service, we asked if anyone spoke English They said no and hung up. I then took the food service meno to the front desk and I pointed to what I wanted so they ordered it for us. I do understand that we where in china but every other hotel we stayed in china had multiple people that speak English.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank matiercio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Thus us a lot nicer than I remember HoJos of the past in the US. It is not the Ritz but for Datong it seems like one. The room was very clean, well lit, and comfortable. The bell people were highly agreeable and the breakfast was good. We had good WiFi in our room but this is always a crap shoot in a big hotel. If I ever have to go to Datong again I will stay at HoJos!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were with a group of 64 tour members in two tour buses. We timed the arrivals to be 15 minutes apart but the hotel bellmen (8 to 10 of them) had the bags of the first bus in the tour members rooms just in time for the second bus to arrive. Not a single bag misplaced! The efficient service is mind-boggling!
We had lunch and buffet dinner at the hotel. Both were marvelous and the staff's attentiveness is just out of this world.
We would definitely come back again to this property.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hansonlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Howard Johnson is a beautiful hotel. The room was attractive and spacious with all amenities. The bathroom was really nice. Great shower.
I found the wifi worked well in my room. In fact this was the only hotel I stayed in in Shanxi province where I could get wifi reception on my tablet.

The only meal I had in the hotel was breakfast which was extensive.

The location of the hotel in town was convenient.

I would stay here again if visiting Datong.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

It is Howard Johnson and it offers what is expected from Howard Johnson.
We had no wifi in room but someone came to install a plug which gives very good wifi in room. So, I guess it is upon request or depends on the package purchased. The rooms are adequate and we ate breakfast and dinner in their buffet restaurant. They do have egg section where you can get an omelette ( with regular choice of onions, tomatoes, mushrooms etc) or fried eggs. Everything is as expected with no surprises for Howard Johnson. The shower sprays all over like and water runs out of shower like in most Chinese hotels. Service is acceptable overall with a few staff quite eager to please.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S8W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datong hotels
1.9 km away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 169 in Datong
440 reviews
0 km away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 169 in Datong
14 reviews
0 km away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#5 of 169 in Datong
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
4.6 km away
Jinjiang Inn (Datong Nanhuan Bridge)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong

Address: No.88 Pingcheng Street, Datong 037044, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Datong
Price Range: ₹ 3,353 - ₹ 5,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing