We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
188
8
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
8
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable rooms three nights swimming pool great hotel yvette ada translator liu lola housekeeping gym floor china suite amenities chinese
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We had a frustrating 2 night stay here mainly due to there being no English speakers amongst the staff. Every interaction with staff was painful and led to us having to spell out key words letter by letter, while they used an online translator. This was even while ordering from their room service menu for example.

The check in was very slow, with some of our friends being told their booking couldn’t be found. The staff informed us that there were no double rooms available. When we protested that this is what we had booked and we wouldn’t accept a twin room they then said we could have a twin. On getting up to our room we found we had been given a twin room. After a long conversation on the phone to reception we eventually were moved to a double room on their “club” / member floor - that they didn’t offer this to us originally was very annoying as we’d arrived at the hotel late at night and we wanted to rest.

Having tried and failed to pre-order room service for breakfast (a long painful conversation) we put our order in in the morning (another painful conversation) and were told it would take 45mins. 1.5hr later it eventually arrived not covered at all and subsequently stone cold, with half the breakfast food items missing and served with empty salt and pepper shakers.

Despite the problems with communication, the staff generally tried to be helpful, the room was large and comfortable, and the hotel was well positioned.

I heard from our friends that the swimming pool was a bit dingy and that they insisted on you purchasing and wearing a swimming hat, which seems ridiculous for a hotel pool...

The buffet restaurant was reported to be average. The lobby cafe served pretty nice club sandwiches.

Much of this is pretty standard for a non-Putonghua speaker in China, but never before has it caused so much frustration for me. I was also shocked that having paid CNY1300+ per night, the basics for an international, supposedly 4* hotel were so deficient.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank hannahinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAL289, 经理 at Sheraton Huangdao Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

Firstly, thank you for choosing our hotel and give us your valuable feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay, we are highly valued your feedback and share in our management meeting. We strengthen the relevant management and make rectification immediately.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our NO.1 priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Sincerely invite you to visit our hotel again, we are sure to offer the satisfying experience to you. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Your sincerely,


Johnny Dong
General Manager of Sheraton Huangdao Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is a beautiful hotel with a gorgeous atrium. All of the rooms (I think) overlook the water. The food in the buffet featured a massive amount and something for everyone. The rooms were clean and spacious.

I also found the staff very friendly. Among those who helped me and/or were especially kind were Jessica, David, Rebecca, Yvette, Yenny, Mickey, and Katie (yes, I’m good with names). This was demonstrated when I had to move rooms because of a problem with mine. The staff immediately found me another room and sent someone to get my things.

Drawbacks though were that it seemed few of the front desk staff had a good command of English making communication difficult at times. Sometimes I had to use Google translate just to say something. Also, when I asked for a tourist map, they only had ones in Chinese, which seemed very strange for a hotel that has many foreigners. Also, for the three nights I was there, it appeared only two of the four elevators worked making the wait sometimes longer than necessary.

Overall though I was very satisfied with this hotel and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rschiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA L, 总经理 at Sheraton Huangdao Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear guest,

Greetings from Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

Firstly, thank you for choosing our hotel and give us your valuable feedback.

We are very honored to know you are so satisfied with our hotel. Sheraton Huangdao Hotel located at the beautiful Qingdao west coast, all of us are committed to to offer you the considerate service and comfortable experience.

We are highly valued your feedback and share in our management meeting. We strengthen the relevant management and make rectification immediately.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Sincerely invite you to visit our hotel again, we are sure to offer the satisfying experience to you. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Your sincerely,


Johnny Dong
General Manager of Sheraton Huangdao Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at Sheraton Huangdao hotel for many times those 2 years. I must say they did provide very good service. The housekeeping cleaner was very sweet, let me feel being home. Everything was perfect in here, not only due to its features, which quality I needn’t to particularly stress, but so much more for the hospitality and generosity of the staff. Their warm assistance has made me feel at home and among friends. Especially thank to Ada Li,
She's always with great passion, very sincere, great team great work!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank CHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA L, 总经理 at Sheraton Huangdao Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for you stay with us and share your experience in Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

We are very honored to know you are so satisfied with our hotel. Sheraton Huangdao Hotel located at the beautiful Qingdao west coast, all of us are committed to to offer you the considerate service and comfortable experience.

Sincerely invite you to visit our hotel again, wish you all the best!


Yours Sincerely
Johnny Dong,
General Manager of Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The most difficult part of being in China is not speaking good Chinese. The good thing about the hotel is that nearly all of the essential communications are in English as well and some of the hotel staff spoke English. A good translator is recommended.

The Sheraton standard hotel room is a good place to stay. The beds are right and the room I stayed in had a great view of the sea. My room was missing a shaver but they sent it after a quick request.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dustbusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA L, 总经理 at Sheraton Huangdao Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for you stay with us and share your experience in Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

We are very honored to know you are so satisfied with our hotel. Sheraton Huangdao Hotel located at the beautiful Qingdao west coast, all of us are committed to to offer you the considerate service and comfortable experience.

Sincerely invite you to visit our hotel again, wish you all the best!


Yours Sincerely
Johnny Dong, General Manager of Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

good location and close to MRT, very friendly front desk and able to speak English, only door unable to open ( was told that system upgrade) it not impact to my travel as they provide back-up key card for me on net day morning.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank See See N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA L, 总经理 at Sheraton Huangdao Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for you stay with us and share your experience in Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

We are very honored to know you are so satisfied with our hotel. Sheraton Huangdao Hotel located at the beautiful Qingdao west coast, all of us are committed to to offer you the considerate service and comfortable experience.

Sincerely invite you to visit our hotel again, wish you all the best!


Yours Sincerely
Johnny Dong, General Manager of Sheraton Huangdao Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews