We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
22
75
18
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
75
18
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight before boarding cruise ship. The hotel is very big and easy to find. Staff had minimal English. Room was clean and comfortable, beds reasonably soft. Non smoking room but had some cigarette smoke coming through aircon vents. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy walk to river and 10 min taxi ride to pier.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kazz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. We paid RMB391 per night including taxes for a twin bedroom ensuite including breakfast. You need to pay a deposit amount of RMB300 upon arrival.

There is free wifi which is strong throughout the hotel. Our room was on the ground floor (which is called first floor like in China and the US). It was quiet and relatively spacious. The shower was powerful and had ample amounts of shampoo and bath gel. There is no safe in the room which is a slight minus but it did not affect us.

The breakfast was ample and above average for China – it had pastries, fruits and cornflakes rather than just the usual Chinese fried rice, soup noodles and cabbage.

We arrived early at 9am and the staff allowed us to check in early. We were also supposed to check out at 2pm but we did not do so until 3pm. Normally, they charge you 10% of the daily rate that the guest has been paying but they did not penalise us on this occasion so we were very grateful.

There is also a photograph board with names of famous people who have stayed at this hotel including Xi Jinping, Hu Jintao, Wen Jiabao, Henry Kissinger and some other politicians.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jezlinhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with the family. The hotel is grand and Chinese style. English service limited. Room quality is good except the carpet which as usual is not being vacuumed. My parents got a free upgrade to executive floor which was nice.

It's quiet except for other guests who bang the doors and run on the corridors at 6am. It's also located in a walking distance to the river bank.

Overall a nice experience and a good quality hotel for reasonable price.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank WojtekLukasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Front desk staff were courteous and pleasant and good customer service slightly only thwarted by a card machine playing up they were struggling with took time to take my deposit payment but once settled very nice surroundings. This is a stately hotel and the hotel boasts famous past guests international diplomats and statesmen including Kissinger presumably who all came to view the dam.
When booking this hotel we had read this hotel does great afternoon tea however on our arrival we found an absence of food services being essentially referred only to the peaches restaurant which opened later at five. We also found that the food was distinctly local an absence of western food. If booking and expecting home comforts would suggest the Ramada Inn nearby but since we had come to spend one night we sufficed with local produce from nearby shops including Chinese bakery cakes and fruit until our journey next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowersarenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Only stayed one night, but very nice. Reviewing to add photos for the benefit of others. Fun feature was photos of notable guests in the lobby, including everyone's favorite North Korean dictator. Staff was helpful, spoke some English.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bachminara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews