We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
55
200
38
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
200
38
6
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2014

The only thing a little bit bothersome is the long walkway entrance from the main street to the hotel. Its seems always under construction as I stayed the hotel for a few times. My friends drove over to pick me up so it is okay. Everything else is great. Room, bed, shower, bathtub are all huge and comfortable. Wifi works fine. The little sound activated LED alarm clock was cool. The buffet breakfast was awesome and you got a taste of almost every famous Wuhan food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peterepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

If you want street food, shopping or nightlife, this is not the place to stay. It doesn't have much of anything around it and the only thing going for it was the reasonable room rate and the convenience of a subway station at its doorstep (which was important to me). It is located at the exchange between the 2 main subway lines, which meant I could travel in any direction I wished (ticket price was only RMB2 in all directions). I didn't try the inhouse facilities.

Good: Room had all the things that make a good 4 star hotel: clean, safebox, luxurious bathrobe, ironing board etc. Entrance to subway was just 5 minutes from hotel entrance. All the fittings looked freshly renovated. The staff could speak a smattering of English. Buffet breakfast was OK (RMB78). Free Wifi speed was ok. Carefour is about 500m away, across a main road

Bad: The elevator didn't use a keycard access, which made security a bit suspect. The room had a slight sour vinegar smell. My room (15th floor) faced the military training ground and I could hear the roll call every 6am. Hotel is hidden behind other tall buildings, and a bit hard to find. In house quoted massage services were very expensive. Not much street food nearby

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I along with our 6 year old recently stayed at the Poly Hotel while on an adoption trip. We have heard very mixed reviews about this hotel and were hearing more negative than positive so we were a little nervous about our stay. The thing that made us enjoy this hotel and the reason we would return is the staff. The majority of the staff at this hotel we encountered were absolutely amazing! Front desk staff was very friendly at check in which was extremely fast and efficient, bell boy was very sweet and fast. Our room was very nice and large. A few minutes after arriving in our room one of the workers arrived with a vase of flowers for us. There was a crib in our room set up and ready for our little one when we arrived. When we had any issues it was a bit of a challenge to communicate with desk staff since English was very limited but between the translator apps on their phones and the translator apps on ours and lots of laughs we always figured it out and they were always willing to stumble through it good naturally with us. Room service was easy to order and adequate for evening meals, the person delivering was always exceptionally friendly and concerned with making sure we were happy. The conceriege gave us a little map that was folded to the size of a business card that had the hotel and surrounding area on it, it also included the hotel name and address in mandarin which was super helpful. We could find out which way we needed to go with the handy map and if we got lost it was easy to hand it to a cab driver and ask them to take us back. The grocery is an easy 10 minute walk and you can even go through the metro station to avoid crossing busy streets. There is a pizza hut, starbucks, kfc, and several local restaraunts within a 5-10 minute walk without crossing busy streets. Buffet breakfast was great and always had lots of options. The only negatives for us were that the hallways were very dark, there was a lot of smoking in the hotel which I am very sensitive to although our room did not smell like smoke (thank goodness), the pool area was...kind of creepy and felt extremely unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BeckyWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and I found it OK. Not expensive and room was pretty good. It's just 100 yards from a subwat station and thus I found it convenient. Internet was good. The swimming pool was for kids. Think this is a reasonably good choice for those intend to stay in Wuchang. But then you find an ash tray in your room and it's close to a military training centre (so a bit of noise in the early morning). Otherwise, it's not bad. Space is good.

Room Tip: Facing the backyard may not be a good idea. Military training is noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bally1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We usually stay at nearby Best Western Mayflowers but decided to try something different. The family stayed here years ago when it was called White Rose. We did not return because of the smoke throughout the hotel and it seems it was the preferred place military and government officers brought their mistresses. The hotel has improved since then but it is not up to western standards. The location is excellent and although most staff are not english speakers, one can usually be found.

The staff really try to be helpful but we did not really try much with the concierge. For what one gets, the price is reasonable and the room clean. Internet is excellent for China based servers but good luck trying to get across the "great firewall of china". Access to european and u.s. sites is very challenging and often requires a great deal of persistence.

If anyone in your party has any sensitivity to tobacco smoke, you will not enjoy your stay here. It appears that no smoking signs are for decorative purposes only. The no smoking rooms are "no smoking" at the occupant's option as are the no smoking floors. In the old white rose, the ventilation system for each floor was tied together. In the renovation, it seems they have made some effort to make each independent but it has not worked well. When someone in a non smoking room on a non smoking floor has a cigarette, you can smell it all over the floor in each room. We notified staff several times of smoking in non smoking rooms or non smoking floors. Either they said that they did not smell it or they moved us to a different floor because they did not want to enforce the rules for guests in a group on our floor. The Mayflowers did a better job of enforcing their non smoking rules and making the HVAC independent in each room.

Avoid the Korean restaurant. The Chinese one is good. Stick to the chinese dishes in the cafe. Chinese breakfast is good but pricy.

If you eat much at the hotel, the front desk will require a deposit. If you use up that deposit, they will ask for another deposit. This is standard but confusing as the English of the front desk folks is not good enough to explain clearly. When you check out, rather than refunding the unused portion of the deposit, they will not submit your previous deposits for payment and ask you to pay again. I insist on their returning the previously signed deposit receipts. What is confusing again is that they want to only charge your CC in Y1,000 increments. So if you owe Y2,300, You will sign two Y1,000 receipts and one Y300.

Room Tip: Try to get a "non smoking floor". We were on floor 18 but again, the signs seem to be for decoration only. That is about the best you can do at this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews