We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel
Ranked #29 of 2,402 Hotels in Wuhan
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed one night here in Wuhan - rooms were fairly small but nicely done out with great views of the city. Staff were pleasant. Buffet was OK although there were a few odd dishes (must just be my Western tastes!). Aircon in the rooms was a little ineffective but otherwise no complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Close to the Wuhan Station. Reasonable price. The room is clean and tidy, bathroom has both shower room and bath tub. Free internet access. But no entertainment around the hotel. We needed to take a taxi to go to the town centre for fun.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed here in August while in the process of adopting our second daughter. The hotel was very nicely located, the staff helpful and the breakfast buffet my husband's favorite during our stay in China. The hotel staff was kind enough to have toys and a crib (one that was just fine) in our room. There was also a baby bathtub placed in our bathroom. I will agree that it was a bit shabby, but it was still clean and quite nice. Although another guest complained of smoke, we had no experience with it during the time we were there. There is a lounge on the main floor and we saw no one smoking there ever. Our room was always cleaned nicely and it and our floor never smelled of smoke. The indoor pool was quite lovely and each time we used it, we were the only ones there. Men and women enter from separate very fancy dressing rooms.
Wuhan is a very busy city and the street below the hotel has to be one of the busiest. You can see a McDonald's across the street, but it is far easier and safer to stay on your side of the road and walk a very large block past some cute shops to a major intersection. When you look to the left, you will see a McD's about halfway down the block. Right before the McD's is a department store and on it's top floor is one of our favorite food courts. You do order at each stand, get a ticket, pay for the item and then go back and pick up your food. Once you get used to the system, it's a snap.
You will be stared at in Wuhan. It can be a bit disconcerting, but we had no incidence. The places listed in your guide book of worthy to visit are pretty much it. They are lovely, however, and we enjoyed both the Rare Stone Museum and Yellow Crane Tower very much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Mayflowers Wuhan March 4-11, 2011. We were VERY disappointed with this hotel for many reasons.

First, the hotel is in much need of renovation particularly with the rooms. Worn carpet, chipped tiles, scuffed walls, broken Ethernet cord, outdated TV set, etc.

Second, cleanliness was below expectations. The rooms were marginally cleaned each day. The perimeter of the room had build up in the carpet of dirt, food crumbles, lint, etc. The maid’s vacuum touched only the main walking area of the carpet, if that. Our shower would not drain correctly leading us to believe the drain was clogged from many previous customers’ hair and whatever else.

Third, and the most offensive aspect of this hotel, is their approach to being a NON-smoking hotel. Our first room smelled of smoke all the time and sometimes more than other times even though we were on a non-smoking floor. After two days, our guide got us moved to a different room on the same floor which was a little bit better. Chinese guests in the room next to us were smoking with their hallway door and room window open (in their non-smoking room as stated on their door) so I finally went down, knocked loudly on the door where they turned around to look at me, I pointed to the non-smoking symbol and slammed the door shut. I went to the front desk to complain and the manager asked, “If the people in that room do not cooperate with us, do you want to move to another room?” I demanded, “Move THEM to another room, it is a NON-smoking floor! We have already moved rooms once due to smoke.”

The restaurants were no better. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking tables adjacent to each other which defeats the purpose of even having non-smoking tables at all.

The elevator even had cigarettes on the floor that had been put out by customers. EVERYWHERE in the hotel had the smell of smoke and I am not exaggerating. If you’re a smoker and this does not bother you, then feel free to book a room.

Food in the restaurants, we ate at two of them, was adequate. It was nothing better than what could be purchased at a local restaurant cheaper than the hotel. Fresh water, which is a must for the rooms, can be purchased at a kiosk outside the hotel’s front doors for 2 Yuan per piece versus 20 Yuan per piece at the bar.

Finding English-speaking hotel staff members was difficult at times. If you have an emergency that occurs while you are there or if you have health conditions that may require emergency attention, you may find yourself in trouble in getting immediate help.

The area around the hotel had food, shops and stores for anything you may need. We did not feel as if it were the safest area of China compared to other cities we visited. The area was continuously crowded and VERY crowded during peak periods.

Although this is a city of 9.1 million people, we found it challenging to find English-speaking assistance at the hotel and the surrounding businesses there in Wuhan.

The hotel has an adequate business center with fax and copy machine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

What a nice place. i was expecting this to be the weak link on my hotel itinerary - but actually it turns out it is very pleasant. Nice, very helpful staff, good rooms. And - the best room-service sandwich I have had in a hotel in China ever (tuna sandwich). All a very nice surprise. All at a very attractive price (about £60 a night).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caloobrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,402 in Wuhan
733 reviews
Zhongnan
New Beacon New Times International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Wuhan Xinhua
#26 of 2,402 in Wuhan
427 reviews
Dorsett Wuhan
#18 of 2,402 in Wuhan
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel

Address: No.385 Wuluo Road, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430070, China
Region: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wuhan
#26 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#29 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range: ₹ 3,644 - ₹ 4,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wuhan
Wuhan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing