We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of South China Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South China Hotel
Ranked #38 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

My room was large and very comfortable. I liked the arrangement and location of the work desk. Wifi speed was pretty good.
The Hotel has good security and is set back off the street The local area includes other hotel, restaurants, and shopping.
Great facilities for business and relaxation.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michs3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2016

We enjoyed our stay at South China Hotel. We booked the cheapest room, Garden View with no elevator, however there was no garden view but this was not a problem for us. The room was clean and nice with 2 big double beds. The pool was closed on the first day and the hotel did not inform us of this when we made our booking, which was a shame since we had only booked the place for 2 nights. Also, we found the breakfast to be expensive at 78 yuan each as we are both vegetarians and there was very little choice for us. The hotel has a private beach entrance with some sun beds and the overall surroundings are very pleasant. We still enjoyed our stay here and would come again!

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

I paid extra for the sea view room. The sea was visible when the tide came in. The receptionist said that was the sea view.

The room safe did not work, the toilet did not flush properly. Reported these faults but nothing was done.

No wifi in the room, had to go downstairs. Last night I stayed in a 100 RMB hotel that had room wifi. Simply not good enough.

The beach access is great but there are other hotels similarly positioned.

The restaurant was very good with friendly staff. They deserve better. Stay elsewhere but do visit the restaurant.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lydia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

I just book it from with the chinese website, i paid the rooms for 300RMB per night. They call me later to tell me that i book the price for chinese people and they can't give me the same price as i'm a foreigner. It's a huge shame

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Gao t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We had booked this 4-star hotel for two nights. First of all, there is nothing 4-star about this hotel at all. The receptionists don't speak a word English and the check-in procedures take long. The rooms are large but very poorly furnished, the sofas have foodstains from previous guests. The absolute worst are the bathrooms, you can smell the mouldy shower curtain as soon as you enter. The shower is filthy!
Breakfast is another disappointment as there are no seats available and the buffet set up, choice and quality is horrible.
What's really putting me off is that this is not a cheap hotel.
All in all I have no idea how this place can be rated 4-stars and I would advise anyone to avoid staying in the south china hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Weihaidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yintian Holiday Hotel
#189 of 1,373 in Sanya
2 reviews
Sanya Bay
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hawaii Hotel
#52 of 1,373 in Sanya
52 reviews
Harman Resort Hotel Sanya
#44 of 1,373 in Sanya
33 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#117 of 1,373 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South China Hotel

Address: Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Bay, Sanya 572021, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: ₹ 2,632 - ₹ 22,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South China Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your South China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South China Sanya
South China Hotel Sanya, Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing