We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has got new owners - it's a scam!”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We've been in China for five weeks now, and stayed in six different hostels. Most of the recommended by Lonely Planet and they were really good.

But this place is by far the worst experience. They have got new owners, apparently, so it's not the Singaporean couple any longer.

Room was very small with fungus on the walls. No soap on bathroom. The bar closes early and there is a big sign in the bar about the rules of the place (no fighting, no offensive manners etc.). Also a sign in the room of behavioral regulations (vomit in bed charged 100 rnb) - why is al this necessary?

But the worst thing, which made us furious, was the sign in the bar telling that we could get a free drink for rating them 100% on Tripadvisor. This simply just undermines the entire concept of Tripadvisor.

The staff was arrogant and the atmosphere was horrible. Such a shame, since we were really looking forward to this place.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank casperhennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The hostel looks great from the road and certainly has 'Curb Appeal '! The bar and staff are likewise great - our room however was not. Upon checking in we where offered an 'upgrade' to a private four bed room as there where 3 of us in our party. When we entered the room we found sheets strewn across the beds, stained pillows and broken shelves. The room also appeared as it wasn't cleaned on anywhere near a frequent basis as the rest of the hostel. There where shoes abandoned under one of the beds along with several cigarette butts. The shelves above the lockers where also very dusty. The showers/toilets where in a state of neglect, with lots of mould all over the walls and a vine/ivy of some sort growing up the wall! This hostel looks as if it may have once been good - but needs some work to bring it back up to scratch! We stated in much better places in Sanya for less money on other nights and would urge others to consider the alternatives before booking here!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank t242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

To start, I had a wonderful time here and made due. I was expecting a bit more based off reviews, however maybe that is because my group booked the 6 person dorm. We had other friends in private rooms, and they seemed much more comfortable.

Take the free shuttle from the airport to the bus terminal/parking lot. Then take bus 8 for 5 yuan. It will take about an hour to reach here but to me it was worth it rather than paying for taxi. Show bus attendant Chinese character address and he/she will help direct you to when to get off. We also took the bus back to airport, it is the last stop.

The dorm room and private room had the same type of bathroom (extremely small) so I would have paid extra if those rooms had bigger ones but they don't. My group decided to use the public shower in the hall in order to shower to avoid getting the floor in our room soaking wet. We only used private bathroom for the toilet, which worked out fine. Our bathroom always had toilet paper but no soap/shampoo provided. We had same bath towels every day but I know they would give us new ones if asked.

The 8 person dorm had no door handle for a lock, so would avoid that.

The mattresses were a bit harder than I've experienced in other places in China. However, the dorm room mattresses I could barely call a mattress. The private rooms' were much better. Free luggage holding if needed. The staff completed understood when I asked for my fried eggs to be cooked on both sides, not just one like they were doing.

The staff spoke enough English and were so friendly. Bar closes at midnight. Pool table, darts. They serve breakfast but no other food advertised. Alcoholic drinks, coffee, juices. Rented a large umbrella for 10 yuan a day for the beach. Tubes for rent for 5 yuan a day. Free beach towels every day. Have a little printer for pictures where your first print is free.

There is a great (a little pricey) Western-style bar named Dolphin down the street. Expect to pay 55-65 yuan for a meal, not including a drink but great great food and they have 'parties' once a week with a theme. Beach is definitely a 3 min walk away. During the day, it's what I would call empty for a beach and then around sunset is when it starts to get crowded (Asians prefer to not get sun).

The area has a late start compared to home, Starbucks (also a 4 minute walk away) wasn't even open at 0800. We tried to check out at 0730 but no one was awake in the hostel. Would stay here again in a private room, met some great people.

Lots of mosquitos in the area including inside hostel, bring bug spray if possible. Sunscreen is around 70-90 yuan and aloe Vera gel is 80-110 yuan. Bring this stuff before.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank fgc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We stayed in the hostel for almost a week, and it has many good things about it.

-The rooms are clean and bright!
-The location is great.
-The price is very reasonable.

However, it seems like there were some basic things that were not quite right about the hostel. For example, when we asked if they had a map, they wanted us to pay 6 RMB for one. No big deal. We asked if they could point out where we were so that we could find our way back after wandering around. Two of the women working couldn't figure out where we were, and the map was in Chinese!

The information on the wall, telling you how to get to various places on the island, is largely incorrect. It needs updating. The people working there had trouble understanding and giving directions for almost all of them. I needed to go to hospital for a minor eye problem while there, and the girls working couldn't really help with that, even! One of the men working there is helpful and competent, but he wasn't there the whole time.

If it's busy at breakfast, expect to wait almost an hour for toast and fried eggs. It would be better to walk down the road (cheaper, too!). They also have karaoke every single night of the week. It really is overkill, and the staff pressures guests to sing. A couple nights per week, sure. But maybe not every night.

It was a good place to crash for a while, but I wouldn't say it's a great hostel just yet.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColeenMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

we arrived at around 1 in the night. although there was no electricity at that time due to some major fault,we had no trouble checking in...hostel staff Gleeman showed us our room and helped us figure out everything we needed.he speaks really good English and so does all the other volunteers at the hostel.
gleeman helped us rent an electric scooter and the service was very prompt, he also helped us follow baidu maps which comes only in chinese...hehe...
the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable . bathroom was clean as well.
the hostel is located in a quiet and calm alley and is just 5 mins walk to the beach.
it is a very lively hostel to stay in...the staffs and the guests drink and sing karaoke every evening and i have enjoyed myself a lot with gleeman, jason,summer,abigail and the other staffs....they will also help you book a cab or to change your tickets...you just need to ask them.
the only problem was that their chef took a leave and even for small snacks we had to go out....but you can always have coffee at miocafe- the hostel's bar and cafe..
the perfect place to go, spent 4 nights here and will definitely visit again .....

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simantini g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Palmena Apartment
#119 of 1,355 in Sanya
17 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: ₹ 843 - ₹ 2,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Backpackers Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing