We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
280
39
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
39
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every evening hostel china yuan chinese
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I stayed here for a couple of nights in a single room - it was clean and not too cramped with a small sofa and coffee table which was a nice touch. The overall feel of the place is awesome and laid back with surfboard stall to greet you on entrance and a nice bar area with a pool table. However the people managing it at the time didn't seem to capture the vision I think the owners would have set it up with. No diving guru's or friendly Singaporians as mentioned in previous reviews - and although the Chinese staff were friendly enough the language barrier meant I really had to find my own way around and things to do. Despite a sign on the lobby desk with numerous things to hire including a bicycle for 60 yuan a day - I was told there are no bikes to hire as they have just been sold. If this is the case it's a real loss for the backpackers as those kinds of small touches can really make someones stay. Luckily it's in a great location and walking distance to most places with reasonably priced taxi's constantly buzzing around. One tip however is to always tell the taxi drivers to put the meter on. All in all a nice stay - but expect to find your own things to do.

Room Tip: Single room was a good choice.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We spent 5 nights in this hostel, in a 8 bedrooms room. The first two nights there was a typhoon, so we run out of electricity (but i guess is normal). From the third day, only our room was without electricity and we have to ask many times to the staff to do something. Finally at the end they changed our room. Apart from that, the rooms are simple but clean, bathroom small but with everything you need. The location in the best thing: 10 mins by car/taxi from the city center, 2mins walking to dadonghai beach and 30 mins by bus to yalong bay.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

This is a very nice hostel located on a quiet side street 5 minutes from the beach in Sanya. Other beaches are very easily accessible from a nearby bus stop. Our double room was very clean, nicely decorated and with air con. No safe though.
The ensuite was a bit small (phone-box-sized with the shower, sink and toilet all in one) but the water was warm and nice towels were provided.
There is a bar area and pool table.
We felt that the hostel must have changed hands since the Lonely Planet visited, as the Singaporean couple mentioned were nowhere to be seen and there was no scuba diving at all. There is a separate excursion company who have a stand in the bar area but the activity list was all in Chinese and they just seemed to be a selection of water sports. Recommended due to good location and rooms, but expect to have to put the effort in yourself to find things to do.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Sanya Backpackers is a great place to stay. Ava and Leo, the owners, are friendly and hung out with us in the bar area one night just drinking beers. They gave us good advice: ignore all the tourist traps and just enjoy the beach. The hostel is squeaky clean because they don't allow shoes inside and have regular cleaning staff. My buddy and I stayed in the big dorm room - each bed came with a curtain, nice for privacy. A close enough walk to the beach or bus stop, which can take you to the airport or lovely Yalong Bay. There is a drinking/eating area right outside the hostel, a good place to meet and chat with fellow backpackers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Stayed here twice a few years ago and have recommended friends stay here since. Chris and Linda were great - laid back but very helpful. Place is spotless and location is priceless. Looking to come back at the end of the summer (:

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews