We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Ranked #3 of 1,308 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Amazing food & great staff all round - in particular Sucy at the tea room & Dadanian at Fresh8 in particular. The grounds and pool are immaculate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    499
    62
    19
    10
See reviews for
149
130
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed with my friends at Garden view balcony room at the Ritz in July end 2011.
The rooms were top notch.
The resort is huge and has lots to explore around. It has a well equipped amusement roon with table tennis, badminton, fooseball, chess and other board games to enjoy. There is a projector TV which plays movies for kids to keep them busy.
There are a number of Mahajong rooms. The resort had about 4 (or 3?) swimming pools. We did enjoy spending our times at the pool. Not to miss is the pool size bar which also serves great snacks.

The staff is really helpful. It was my husband's birthday and the staff was helpful enough to arrange for the surprise layout of his birthday cake (ofcourse on my instructions, but it was a flawless execution).

The breakfast buffet is sumptuous with almost something from every cusine.
The spa at the resort is also very nice with close access to a great beach.

All in all a very self sufficient and hospitable place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AruJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We expect a lot from Ritz Carlton hotels given the price and reputation. Firstly the hotel is 120RMB from airport, about 45 mins so not close. Upon check in, they made us wait a long time. I like Eastern hospitality but it just tends to be disorganized and slow, ie our room wasn't ready despite we called that morning confirming a noon time arrival. And after we waited and hung around, checked in, we got our welcome drinks. Wierd. But that is not a big deal. The rooms and beach are generally fabulous- Yalong bay is gorgeous! But when lounging by the pool, no one comes around to offer drinks or food. At the beach we did get a free shot of mango juice, but she also never came back. You have to chase down service. Also - not a big deal because some people like their peace. The biggest issue is the unknowledgeable concierge people. They led us mistakenly to the kids pool to get tennis racquets and then had no recommendations for restaurants out of the hotel. Finally at check out, they tried to tax us 22 Rmb claiming it was Hainan service fee. We disputed this saying our travel agent should have charged it. They removed it. All in all- great for China albeit very costly! But service levels and training need work.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irenehwangyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in mid-November attending a business conference.

Good points - wonderfully spacious room with great bathroom; superb buffet breakfast (wonderful selection of both Western and Asian cuisine); helpful staff; good beach (nice sand quality); really good spa facilities; very nice gym. Overall, a very nice beach resort

Bad points - The nearest town (Sanya) is more than half an hour away by taxi so you're pretty much stuck with the F&B outlets at the resort and other 5 star hotels in the vicinity. Given the captive audience and given that this is a Ritz, food & beverage outlets are not cheap (but they are good!). Main courses at the Italian restaurant average around US$40 in the evening. If you're at the Chinese restaurant be careful if you order Chinese tea. Normally tea-ordering in a Chinese restaurant is an afterthought - the assumption being that the tea will cost a couple of dollars per head. At the RC, that's not the case. It's very easy to end up ordering a tea costing US$15 or more per person - demand to see the tea menu (it's extensive) and you'll avoid a nasty shock

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed for 6 nights as part of a conference. The room was large, a bit too far to walk from the bed to the dressing room truth be told, very well appointed and practically faultless. Staff were extremely helpful and always smiling, which makes a change from further north in China.

The hotel is big, you have to walk a long way to the main facilities if you are in one of the outer blocks. But there is a good choice of restaurants. I particularly liked Sands, which is nearest the beach. It has a relaxed atmosphere and very good seafood. The main lobby bar had amplified music on an evening, which was unnecessary and appeared to drive people away because you couldn't hear what anyone said.

The beach is really nice, firm sand, very clean and the water warm an inviting. Golf is available very close by at Yalong Bay. Recommended. Excellent gym at the hotel also.

The only downside apart from the high prices these resorts charge is that you are 20-25 mins away from anywhere that isn't a large resort hotel. Downtown Sanya has some restaurants and nightlife but it is a trek to get there and back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,308 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#4 of 1,308 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Sanya Yalong Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sanya
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#3 Family Hotel in Sanya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#45 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,681 - ₹ 66,854
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 450 rooms with ocean, mangrove and lagoon view, including 66 rooms and suites in club level, 33 villas with private plunge pool. Eight dining outlets "will please discerning palates with signature favorites, seasonal offerings and even personalized dishes and beverages. We also feature a 30,000-sq.-ft. spa and fitness center with 24 treatment rooms; operated by world-renowned ESPA.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Sanya
Ritz Sanya
Ritz-Carlton Sanya
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing