We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shenzhen
Ranked #6 of 2,811 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I like this place”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I think objectively it is a real 5 star hotel. Against my expectations (from trip advisor rating and the price I paid - about $280/night) I think it is a 4 star - it exceeded my expecations.

this hotel has everything we expect of a 5 star. it exceeds my expectations mainly becuase it has an amazing pool. my 2 year old especially appreciated it. the pool is huge and irregularly shaped as if it is a real lake. on one end of the pool, there's a (man-made) white sand beach, so you really don't feel it is a swimming pool but you are on the beach. There are a few waterslides in the pool and some playgrounds for kids just around the corner. Another plus that I am happy with is the rooms are very spacious.

However, next time i visit shenzhen, i will probably NOT stay here again because the location is bad bad bad (I mean it is in a nice neighborhood, but within walking distance you can only get to a few rundown amusement parks.) you have to take a taxi to go to any decent restaurant. I would stay in the CBD next time, where everything is convenient especially good food!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zc12_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review, we are glad to hear you liked the beach, the 10,000sqm landscaped Caribbean garden embraces a real-sand beach and a pool of 2000sqm. Plus a sailboat on the shimmering water and swaying Palm trees, a joyous relish of holiday is right there. Exceptional experiences every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    407
    58
    18
    8
See reviews for
81
61
56
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Real nice pool, large with man-made sand beach. Good fun for kids and family. However, the room cleanliness a bit below average. Breakfast food good but many choices. Tea at lounge a bit pricy. Easy to access via underground rail.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C200FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review and staying with us, for the issue you’ve mentioned, we will immediately notify related department, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure a better services in the future! Thank you for your support again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

It was a fantastic experience. I was there for 3 nights and the services were very good. The swimming pool was quite nice. It's quite close to the metro station so, that's very convenient. The staff was quite helpful and friendly and the check in was quite fast. The rooms have to above average but not very specious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevator because some rooms can be quite a distance from the elevator i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review and comment, we are glad to hear your high appraisal about our nice facility, excellent service and amenities. Wish everything goes well with your work and life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for just one night from the 13th of July. Took the subway and were pleasantly surprised to find the exit of the subway just outside the Intercontinental as explained by Eara. How convenient! Eara handled our reservation very efficiently and was very helpful and told us about the Hong Kong family package.
Check in was fairly smooth and staff were friendly enough except for the immigration- like check and double check of our passports and I D cards. Photocopying god knows how many pages. But then it was explained to us that it is a requirement of the China government. Fine, rules are rules, just a bit clumsily handled. But apologies made by the staff and they were accepted.
The room was Fantastic. Very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. We had a view of the swimming pool, which is one of the best things about the hotel. The bathroom was very luxurious and the bathtub was huge. The swimming pool is in a gorgeous setting. The beach created really looks real. Wish there were more deck chairs. Restaurant service was very good. Being vegetarian we expected a huge problem but the staff were helpful. Being English speakers we expected a problem but our waiter Mike Li was extremely helpful and with a very pleasant disposition. There was a chef too who went out of his way to help with finding us something to eat given our special diet. Unfortunately I cannot remember his name but he was there at dinner time and breakfast the next day, helping behind the omelette station. He was very very helpful and I would like to thank him for his helpful manner and very pleasant personality.
Overall a fantastic stay. Windows of the world and splendid china only a short distance away. Thank you Intercontinental. We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your time and detailed descriptions of our marvelous facilities and professional amenities. We will pass your sincere thanks to the chef in charge and the helpful colleagues. It’s truly our big pleasure to make your living comfortable and exceptional. Wish you all the best with work and life! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel regularly since 2008 and have watched it evolve from maybe the finest hotel in China to what is now simply a very good hotel with a great pool.

Surprisingly, it was the F&B which disappointed us the most on this trip with even the basics not getting done right:
- Day 1: 45 minute wait for food in the all-day dining restaurant because they were "busy"
- Day 2: Needed to teach the guy in charge of eggs at breakfast how to make scrambled egg
- Day 3: Needed to teach the guy in charge of eggs at breakfast how to make an omelet

Eggs are such an important aspect of breakfast that I am surprised that they do not have a qualified chef preparing them. I recall that the InterContinental in Atlanta seemed to actually celebrate/showcase their breakfast egg-making skills, with the head chef making the best omelet I have ever tasted.

That said, we really enjoyed our long weekend, especially my 8 year old son who simply refused to leave the full size pirate ship-equipped pool each day! The spa was also very good, if a little pricey, and the excellent Concierge team ensured that the car we needed each day was briefed/ready to go at the agreed time.

Overall I still highly recommend this hotel. Just be prepared to expect that, sadly, not everything is as great as it once was.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Communications at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Warm Greeting from InterContinental Shenzhen

Many thanks for you to choose stay with us again. Please allow me to apologize for the unhappy experience that you encountered at our dining outlets, especially at breakfast that’s said the most important meal of the day. For the points you addressed, we will communicate with operations immediately to get things improved. We look forward to your coming back soon and taste our eggs with happiness. Also you can be assured we are committed to make InterContinental Shenzhen “Great Hotels Guest Love” as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
916 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#9 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
337 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#14 of 2,811 in Shenzhen
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shenzhen

Property: InterContinental Shenzhen
Address: No.9009 Shennan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#45 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,601 - ₹ 17,672
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When InterContinental Shenzhen opened on the Shenzhen Bay Hotel site, it not only preserved the legend s original façade, it honoured its innovative spirit by becoming China s first luxury hotel to adopt a mesmerizing Spanish theme. The Shennan Road address is minutes from Overseas Chinese Town, Meridian View Centre and the Futian business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing