We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shenzhen
Ranked #6 of 2,812 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

While the room was very nice and large, the TV remote would not work, even after calling the service desk the replacement needed a vice-like gripping pressure just to change the TV channel. I would expect a TV remote to function properly even after calling for service. Location is a short walk from Splendid China attarcation and next to metro. Nothing else nearby. As an IC Ambassador the room upgrade I got was questionable, as it was on the ground floor (where one would expect the basic rooms). Would not stay here again, much better value elsewhere in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review and comment, For the issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related operational department, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure a better services in the future! Thank you again for your precious time and comments. Wish everything goes well with your work and life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    407
    58
    18
    8
See reviews for
82
61
57
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Shenzhen is becoming a very popular and crowded city in China. The moment you arrive at the Intercontinental, you feel like you are in a serene place thousands of miles from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff is very welcoming upon your arrival and eager to make sure all your needs are met. The lobby is nice and well appointed the central location for everyone to meet and enjoy a cocktail or just pass through. The rooms are extremely spacious and decadent. They have large bathrooms, closets and in-room amenities. You definitely do not feel like you are in a crowded city. The hotel has a great fitness center and business center. It is a great business hotel for traveling in China and the concierge will take care of anything you need.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review and comment, we are glad to hear your high appraisal about our quite environment, nice facility, excellent service and amenities. Thank you again for your precious time and comments. Wish everything goes well with your work and life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

In its own right, Shenzhen is a fascinating, important and massive city and an increasingly relevant player on the global stage due to its high profile corporate citizens, most notably Huawei which is headquartered there. Perhaps it is not fair to review a stay in Shenzhen when it is book-ended by stays in Beijing and Hong Kong, immediately before and after as was the case with my visit. Frankly, Shenzhen is not in the same league as either of those two globally-recognized cities, but if you have to travel there, the Intercontinental Shenzhen is a reasonably comfortable base of operations.

I imagine that it is highly unlikely that many international travelers visit Shenzhen for holiday/pleasure, especially with Hong Kong literally a few miles away. However, it is increasingly common for business travel to take you to this lower-profile but huge city of over 18 million people. If this is the case, the Intercontinental is a good option, although it is a very odd hotel in some ways.

First off, it is impossible to get past the omnipresent Spanish theme that permeates every nook and cranny of this large hotel property. Frequently this theme is carried out to comically absurd levels, most notably with the bell staff who have the great misfortune of having to wear elaborate bullfighter-themed costumes that are simply ridiculous, and also the two giant Spanish galleon replicas plopped both in front of the hotel and in the pool area.....all of it carried out in the typically Chinese no-expense-spared fashion. Just bizarre.

That being said, the Intercontinental turned out to be a suitable venue for a 3 day business event, with expansive business/convention/event facilities that are well-suited to hosting medium/large scale business functions. Service and support for business event, at least from a participant/attendee point of view, were very good, but not unexpected for any hotel of this caliber around the world.

The Intercontinental has an elaborate pool/garden complex that is very nice, but lacking the style/sophistication factor I would prefer. Again, the overwhelming Spanish theme, manifested in the pool area by a life-sized galleon sitting right in the middle of the pool, is impossible to ignore. Las Vegas comes to mind frequently, and this is not a compliment. Just goofy and comical, at least to my taste.

The layout of the hotel is unusual and worth noting in your planning. There are only two elevator banks, both of which are centrally located in the lobby area. This despite the fact that the hotel is laid out linearly, meaning that many rooms require lengthy walks to and from the lift. On at least a couple of occasions, when I realized that I forgot an item in my room, the resulting trip there and back to retrieve an item involved a 10+ minute walk.....no exaggeration. This gets old quickly even during routine trips to and from the room.

Overall, the Intercontinental Shenzhen is a good choice when visiting the city. This is a city that does not present a long list of hotel options, so based on that fact, I would recommend the Intercontinental.

That being said, I would also recommend doing what I did, and the minute your obligations in Shenzhen are over, cross the border to Hong Kong immediately!!!!!

Room Tip: This hotel has ONLY two centrally located elevator banks. Be advised that rooms on the far peripher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for recommending InterContinental Shenzhen, and your observation on our Bullfighter styled uniforms and galleon models displayed in lobby and outdoor swimming pool. Wish next time when you step into our hotel, you would be inspired by our lobby ambassador in elegant long dresses. Wish you all the best with work and life! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Va
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The decor is not what you would expect in a business district in China - the Spanish theme seems out of place - but it does add visual interest (the Galleon Bar is actually IN a Galleon!) but does not detract from the excellent service or amenities of the hotel. Rooms are very spacious and well thought out. The bathroom was enormous and the in-room safe and iron/ironing board always welcome. Elevators were amazingly quick, so no issues with what floor you are on. The conference center is also well located, but Wi-Fi at the hotel is spotty. Consider bringing your own - however we were at a business conference so likely all of our attendees were taxing the hotels resources.

The location is close to many businesses but within walking distance to a shopping center but people who went reported there were not real deals available there.

Breakfast is a huge buffet with made-to-order eggs. Sometimes the chef doesn't quite finish the eggs so keep an eye out and maybe ask to cook them a bit longer. Coffee was hit or miss and not sure how to fix that. Sometimes we had coffee right away and other times it took 15 minutes to get a cup. Minor issue however.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if the highway construction is still going on. Drilling/pounding doesn't sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review and comment, we are glad to hear your compliment about our nice facility, excellent service and amenities. For the Wi-Fi issue you mentioned, we will immediately notify related department, including our senior management, and take concrete action to ensure a better services in the future! Thank you again for your precious time and comments. Wish everything goes well with your work and life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

There are many hotels in China and Shenzhen with good service and 5-star amenities but this one takes the cake. The Gym, pool, dining facilities were all top-notch, and service was unfailingly spectacular. The Galleon Bar was just amazing, the only downside was it was kind of empty on a weeknight - but that didn't stop the band from playing on. The rooms were true 5-star with fruit, water, jacuzzi tubs, balconies, the works.

During Lunch there was a huge rush in the cafe and the head chef himself came out to lend a hand and scoop gelato. They also have decent beer on tap, hard to find in China. I also had dinner in the Chinese restaurant and it was excellent. Expensive yes, but if you want cheap there are plenty of good options in Shenzhen.

It has a huge pool and sandy beach and would be a great place if the family were along for a day or to.

Only downside would be the silly costumes the bellmen wear, given the level of professionalism and attention to detail this is really unnecessary.

Clearly a spectacularly run hotel, puts the Beijing Intercontinental to shame,

Room Tip: Some rooms have a LONG WALK. Request a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Communications officer at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your time and detailed descriptions of our marvelous facilities, professional amenities and your observation towards our Spanish styled uniforms. Wish next time when you step into our hotel, you would be inspired by our lobby ambassador in elegant long dress. Wish you all the best with work and life! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
916 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#9 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
337 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#14 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shenzhen

Property: InterContinental Shenzhen
Address: No.9009 Shennan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#5 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#45 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,600 - ₹ 17,408
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When InterContinental Shenzhen opened on the Shenzhen Bay Hotel site, it not only preserved the legend s original façade, it honoured its innovative spirit by becoming China s first luxury hotel to adopt a mesmerizing Spanish theme. The Shennan Road address is minutes from Overseas Chinese Town, Meridian View Centre and the Futian business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing