We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality”
Review of Conrad Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conrad Xiamen
Ranked #7 of 1,296 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I have been staying here two weeks each month since April and cannot say enough about this fantastic property. First of all the hotel is the most iconic structure in Fujian province, it takes my breath away each day I arrive "home". The 38th floor lobby is sleek, modern and offers incredible views of the sea and Gulangyu island and offers a retreat with a modern bar and fabulous buffet. I spend many nights in the 54th floor executive lounge receiving the VIP treatment from Melody, Minnie and the rest of the wonderful staff along with personal service from Allesandro the Italian chef who cooks some great pasta. The premier seaview room is spacious, modern and sleek and offers outstanding views and upgraded amenities along with the most comfortable bed I have slept in. It's also nice to see the personal touch offered by the General Manager Michael S and his second in command Max who spend time greeting guests and asking for input. To see both of these officers on the hotel floor says a lot about the Conrad team. The Conrad offers in my opinion the best location in Xiamen, easy walking distance to Xiamen University and Nanputuo Temple and a quick ride to the airport. The oceanfront walking paths offer a wonderful respite from the bustling city and the Shapowei district has a great selection of restaurants (both Chinese and western) pubs and sights that are unique to old-town Xiamen. You cannot go wrong choosing the Conrad, without a doubt the best hotel on the island. John F

Room Tip: Premier sea-view rooms with Executive lounge privilege cannot be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelinEvertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Conrad Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear John,
Thank you for our kind comments and needless to say I am delighted to have you stay with us on such a regular basis. You are a true ambassador of the hotel. I never get tired to hear that my team is doing a great job and it makes my job a lot easier. Our Executive Floor lounge is very unique in Xiamen and second to none but it is the personalized service that makes the big difference. Max and I pride ourselves to be around, get to know our guests better and establish relationship that go beyond guest and hotel staff, hence it is always a pleasure meeting guests… And yes, you are right, our location is amazing and so close to the beach, sigh seeing and much more. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon. Until then, have a great time.

Kind regards,
Michael Schmitt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We had a friend visiting Xiamen and thought we would treat him to afternoon tea at the Conrad With it's superb views out over Xiamen.
It was not exactly afternoon tea as one might get in the U.K., at Betty's Tearoom in Harrogate for instance.
A single cup of tea or coffee! What the hell!!??? The food selection was ok but no sandwiches as such, a sliver of salmon on a piece of stale bread is NOT a sandwich (!) but to be given a single drink in return for MUCH money was nothing short of disgraceful and needs to be addressed.
Betty's is also definitely not cheap but at least one is given a pot of tea or coffee AND a pot of hot water to refresh it.
Conrad, you need to go back to an English school to learn about the meaning of afternoon tea. It is not this Americanized version which has been fostered onto the local Chinese population....
The views are spectacular, the cakes ok, the scones very so-so. The volume of tea or coffee deplorable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xmroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Conrad Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear xmroots,
Thank you for your feedback on our afternoon tea, which took me by surprise. We are getting great comments on our heavenly high tea but I do hear your comments and will look into this at once. As a matter of fact, a review of the whole experience started about a week ago and I estimate that we need another 2 weeks to ensure we have the absolute best high tea in town. Your comments about the single cup of coffee / tea are duly noted and part of the review. We do have the perfect setting for such a product and I hope that you will give us another chance to experience it. Please contact me directly on michael.schmitt@conradhotels.com and I will ensure you will be well looked after the next time.

Kind regards,
Michael Schmitt – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We wanted to do a nice staycation to mark our 18th wedding anniversary in a special way, so we thought, why not at one of Xiamen’s newest 5 star hotels?
It was a great choice! The staff were great, the food was great and the location made for a fun evening and afternoon stroll around the area. Not to mention the amazing views of Gulangyu, a recently named World Heritage site.
We’d highly recommend the Conrad for any time you may spend in beautiful Xiamen.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Conrad Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Firstly, I wish you both all the very best from Conrad Xiamen and I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Through panoramic, floor-to-ceiling windows, Conrad Xiamen overlooks the stunning sea as well as the amazing Gulangyu Island, Nanputuo Temple and Xiamen University, providing an inspiring journey. Whether this is for a longer period or just for 1-2 days, there is a lot to explore here. I am also very appreciative for your feedback about our guest service and I will certainly pass this on to the team. They have a true passion for hospitality and looking after our guests, which makes my job a lot easier. Once again, all the very best to you both and I hope to see you soon again at Conrad Xiamen.

Kindest regards,
Michael Schmitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for business for 4 nights. Each day was better than the last. The staff were outstanding including the General Manager, lounge staff, housekeeping, registration, etc. They were all most helpful, courteous, and eager to please. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I plan to stay there each time to am in Xiamen. Thanks, Michael Schmitt, you're doing a great job!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhdaniels2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Conrad Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear John,
It was a pleasure meeting and chatting with you. It is always great to hear that frequent travelers such as yourself are enjoying our hospitality and having an inspired stay. Personally, talking with guests and my team are always the highlights of the day. I very much appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you soon again. Until we meet again, my team and I wish you safe travels and inspired journeys.
Kindest regards,
Michael Schmitt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I must say "CONRAD" has once again lived up to the expectations that I expect from the Conrad brand. The Executive Lounge at the 54th floor offers amazing views, comforts and services that any business traveler would find as top shelf quality . I especially was thankful to Minie and Vera as they were amazing host during the time I was enjoying the comforts of the Executive Lounge, which was often due to my hectic work schedule. On many occasion during my 4 day stay I utilized the amenities offered at the Executive Lounge from the very impressive conference room that I booked for an hour and of course the balance of the space with views of Xiamen at every table with top notch food and drink offerings courtesy of the Executive Lounge privileges. During my stay I also enjoyed a 100 min. Hot Rock Massage at the hotels Spa. From the time you exit the elevator at the 37th floor where the Spa is located and are greeted by the spas incredible ambiance and all it's derivatives of tranquillity to the time you begrudgingly need to depart you feel as though you have experienced a true time of uninterrupted healing and solitude. My therapist Coco was very professional and performed my requested treatment with such harmony that I could not believe the 100 min. had expired so quickly. The location of the hotel offers you lots of shopping within a very close proximity and access to the pedestrian bridge walk that spans a distance along the beach that warrants the effort at night to then look back and see the beautiful towering Conrad glowing in the distance. My last mornings breakfast I was greeted by Mr. Michael Schmitt General Manager of the property to express his gratitude for my stay at the hotel and if I were to have any questions or comments I was to feel free to contact him directly. My experience at the Conrad Xiamen will keep me coming back, not only for the brand itself but specifically this property.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Namaste2u626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Conrad Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Namaste2u626,
Thank you very much for your kind comments, which I will most certainly share with the team. While – without doubt, we have amazing facilities and an unbeatable location, it is the service of the team that makes a luxury hotel. Thank you for your time in mentioning some team members’ names and I will ensure that they are being recognized for their service. Our Conrad Spa is managed by ourselves and we have some great massages available as well as an unique face skin revitalization machine. Please do let us know when your travel plans bring you back to Xiamen and we would be delighted to look after you again. Until we meet again, my team and I wish you all the very best.
Kindest regards,

Michael Schmitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
6.6 km away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,296 in Xiamen
447 reviews
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Xiamen - Wuyuan Bay
4.2 km away
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
#14 of 1,296 in Xiamen
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#4 of 1,296 in Xiamen
557 reviews
4.8 km away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,296 in Xiamen
644 reviews
4.4 km away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#2 of 1,296 in Xiamen
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Xiamen

Address: No.186 Yanwuxi Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361005, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,296 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: ₹ 11,465 - ₹ 19,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conrad Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
241 spacious and stylish guest rooms and suites with incredible sea views. Three executive floors with exclusive Conrad Executive Lounge on the 54th floor, which offers complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktails and canapes. Average room size of 60 sqm with floor-to-ceiling windows.Large flat-screen television, Wi-Fi Internet access, relaxation area and walk-in wardrobe in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrad Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing