We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Recent addition to Fuzhou” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel
Ranked #11 of 510 Hotels in Fuzhou
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,471 reviews
312 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
“Recent addition to Fuzhou”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I heard this was a new hotel built in 2010, but i saw a 2008 review, regardless, it's a fairly new hotel worth considering in this city. Newness has some advantages:
1. 21st century design with standing shower
2. fresh carpet

Newness can't compensate for these however:
1. tardy service at check-in . we checked-in at 1am in the morning and there was hardly any other guest around and yet our process took 15-20mins
2. dodgy room service. i asked for fried rice out of their tiny menu of 10 items and they said they "maybe" have it
3. i asked for check-out extension from 1 to 2pm and they insisted on charging an extra half day
4. the room is about 20-30 feet from an apartment next door i.e. really close and keep your curtains closed at all times

Short of staying at the Shang or Westin however, this is probably a good choice here in Fuzhou

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    131
    21
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Very good hotel, Free internet in rooms, rich buffet breakfast included.
Rooms spacious and comfortable.
Service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I was in a business trip last January and I need to change 100 euros. Well they gave me back 500RMB (around 60€) in fake notes. At the time I realized about the fraud, i was already in Beijing. I contacted Best Western to explain them the situation and I sent them the invoice from the Hotel. They just said it was not their business. I contacted the Hotel directly too and they answered me the same.
Don't try to phone Fuzhou Police! They won't help you either!!!

In any case, Fortune Hotel it doesn't worth. Breakfast are terrible! Only location is OK.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank navapamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Although Best Western has a lot of motels in the US, most of its properties are branded as 4-star hotels in China. So don't be fooled by it's name and the hotel is quite inviting based on my recent experience. I believe the staffs work hard and the rooms are well appointed. Lack of some amenities is a big problem, no pool and fitness center. However, the onsite dining is excellent overall. At least they served something you can eat and not horribly expensive. Unlike the negative comments form another traveller, I felt Chinese and Korean quite acceptable. Who would want to eat American cheese burgers or McDonald's in China? lol. For guests not familar with this city, Fuzhou has a lots of seafood twists and not very challenging to your stomachs.

What I've expected from the hotel is room quality, cleanliness, and personal attention to hotel guests. Best Western meets my standard. A 4-star hotel really doesn't have to upscaled to 5-star in China and jack up the price tag.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

I recently spent the May Day holiday weekend with my girlfriend at this hotel in Fuzhou. It is very clean and the rooms are very nice, but the hotel fancies itself a four star hotel. In reality, I would rate it about a two and a half star hotel. The rooms are at least a three, but the food, if you like Western food, is no better than a two. The worst McDonald's in China has cheese and potatoes available for breakfast, yet this hotel had neither for their supposed Western breakfast that they charge 50 Y for (the equivalent of seven US dollars). Also the chefs will only cook you one egg at a time! There are parsimonious amounts of coffee, fruits and sweet pies or cakes. The hot cuisine is almost exclusively Chinese, but advertised as Western. When was the last time a Westerner ordered rice for breakfast instead of potatoes? The service was not that great, as I had to refill my tiny little cup of coffee three times before I got an American portion. Also the waitresses just stand around and just do silly things with items on your table rather than actually do something useful like refill your coffee for you as any waitress would in the US. The quality of the breakfast meats was suspect, at best. They served prison bacon and the sausage was Chinese and not something most Westerners would care for. It is mostly cereal and fat with a little bit of meat. There was no ham, pancakes, french toast or other breakfast items normally associated with a Western breakfast buffet. The orange juice was fresh, as was the coffee, but it was all downhill from there with the food. If rooms are important to you, add a half star, but if breakfast is important to you, be sure to subtract a half star - rating: 2 and a half stars

Arthur Tafero

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tafero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuzhou hotels
Wuyi Square
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Fuzhou
#2 of 510 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Lakeside Hotel
#5 of 510 in Fuzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Fuzhou
#1 of 510 in Fuzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Empark Grand Hotel
#10 of 510 in Fuzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel
Address: No.220 Hualin Road, Gulou District, Fuzhou 350003, China
Region: China > Fujian > Fuzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Fuzhou
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,290 - ₹ 6,338
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HRS and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fuzhou Fortune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fuzhou
Fuzhou Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing