We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
14
24
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
24
14
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Small and friendly hostel. Rooms small but clean. Breakfast was good especially huevos revueltos served in red hot skillet. Although we had pico Spanish and staff had minimal English we managed to make each other understand and they were so very helpful on directions, taxis/transfers, problems with hire car etc. A good value base for the city.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElaineCC2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My partner and I stayed in the Hostal Cordillera in a double room with private bathroom over the course of 2 nights in December. Here are a few of my thoughts surrounding this place.

PROS
ROOMS - Although definitely on the smaller side they had comfortable beds and were cleaned daily.
HOT WATER - Works well
WIFI - Worked well and is fast but did drop out from time to time
TOURS - The desk does a booking service which was convenient as we were able to book a tour to Tierra Del Fugo and the Penguino Ray penguin colony (King penguins, not the Magdalen penguins) with Selnuk which is a company with decent ratings on tripadvisoer.

CONS
COST - This is probably a bit harsh, as all of Punta Arenas is expensive but it cost 76USD a night. Note you need to pay in a foreign currency (usually USD) and present your passport at time of payment to avoid the 19% VAT tax on foreigners.
SMALL - The room was very tiny with the double bed taking up 2/3rds of it
LOCATION - About a 15 minute walk from the centre of town. The walk was particularly unpicturesque. Given the bus stop is in the town centre it is within walking distance. Need a cab to get to the airport (see below).
NO WINDOW - Just a skylight although there is no ability to close this and over the long summer hours it interupted our sleep.
BREAKFAST - Very average even for South America's low standards. Seems they just leave some very old pastries in a fridge for several days. Not only are they quite stale but the hygiene is questionable at best.
NON MULTILINGUAL - Although friendly most of the staff don't speak any English.

CONSIDERATIONS
TAXI WAS LATE - We pre-ordered a taxi the night before to the airport for the flat rate of 8000CP. However our taxi was 20 minutes late so you might want to factor this in when booking.
ODD EXCHANGE RATE - I think they need to update the exchange rate displayed on their counter which displayed 552CP for 1USD, although when you pay you are charged the daily rate (in our case 706CP for 1USD). This was confusing.

Overall a few pros and a few cons. It's not the best but the accommodation on offer in punta arenas is limited and overpriced due to it's location as a transit hub.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

The breakfast that they highly advertise consists of one vey salty egg, one piece of bread (if you're lucky it won't be stale) and stale pastries. I picked up one of the stale pastries and didn't finish it only to find the leftover piece displayed on the platter the following day. Coffee wasn't fresh either. Their recycling of food practice may save them a few bucks but it could definitely ruin people's trips.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal C, Director de Recepción at Hostal Cordillera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Buenas tardes, junto con saludarlos,pedir las disculpa por lo sucedido y agradecer sus criticas. y ver en que fallamos para mejorar y poder satisfacer en otra oprtunidad, ya que nos gustaria volverlos a ver en nuestro hostal.

Saludos
Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Accommodation in punta arenas is expensive, this is a great little guest house about 15 minutes walk from town, clean, tidy, hot water and an OK breakfast, we paid $ 160 for a twin room for 2 nights around £ 50 a night which was the cheapest non dorm room rate we could find

You don't want to stay any more than one night as there zippo to see in PA the only d sure reason we stayed for 2 was to try and see the penguins but the wind beat us and they harbour was closed for 3 day

Top tip check the weather before you commit to a trip

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank batmoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed one night arriving late on a bus and leaving early with a taxi. Arrival staff was fantastic and early taxi booking went smoothly. However, the sheets were used with remnant hair :( and the electrical switch on the besides light fell apart. Adequate though.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews