We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healing Oasis”
Review of Salar de Atacama

Salar de Atacama
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 33.00*
and up
Cejar Lagoon Half-Day Tour from San Pedro de...
Ranked #3 of 41 things to do in Antofagasta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This vast salt lake is blanketed by a thick crust of salt and attracts some interesting varieties of birds including several different types of flamingos.
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I could have soaked in this salt lagune for days. My body felt light as a feather and 100% better after swiming here. The scenery is beyond anything imaginable. I had never been to a place so beautiful and wonderous, and I have been to many places. I loved it and hightly recomend a visit.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Antoinette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"salt flats"
in 5 reviews
"chilli"
in 2 reviews
"flamingos"
in 12 reviews
"lagoon"
in 3 reviews
"body"
in 3 reviews
"lakes"
in 5 reviews
"landscape"
in 4 reviews
"atacama"
in 7 reviews
"world"
in 5 reviews
"sunset"
in 4 reviews
"rock"
in 3 reviews
"cover"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2015

I loved this place - the isolation and beauty of it. I got a great shot of the flamingos flying across the volcano - it's a wonderful place for photographers. But then, Chile is full of wonderful places. Take plenty of memory cards and be patient wating for the light.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

This trip was great. We hired some tour guides in San Pedro to take us around the salt flats, the valley of the moon, and other lakes up in the mountains near the Bolivian/Argentinian border. Great sites and the guides helped us explaining a lot of historical events surrounding the areas we visited.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank emptydesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Go there! Do the tour. It is such a unique experience and one of the places in the world that makes you feel truly special for having been. I would love to return one day. Yes, so the journey to get there is long and bumpy but you will not regret it! Sure, it's expensive too but not compared to the truly unique experience that it is! The date of travel is not correct - went a few years ago but the tour experience has stayed with me and was one of the highlights in our South American tour!

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank BJeppesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

It is a beautiful place to go however is not that cheap. Unfortunately it was winter time when I went there and I didnt swin, probably the cause I am saying it is expensive.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Luiz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salar de Atacama also viewed

Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Salar de Atacama? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing