We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend a bit more and go to a 5star hotel”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I was very happy when I arrived. Hotel looked good from outside, lobby was very relaxing, they offered a refreshing towel & lemongrass tea during check-in, wifi was free and worked with minor issues even from room. I was given a room on the 4th floor which I thought was great as I like to be away from noise. Room was big and so was bathroom. Breakfast buffet was okay. I also have to say that unfortunately my stay turned out to be an unpleasant one.
If you are a light sleeper like I am try to ask for a room away from the pool/water fountain - windows are not sound proof.
If you enjoy a decent shower pressure try to get a room on a lower floor. Besides that be careful when showering as water temperature oscilates often from super hot to super cold in a matter of seconds.
If you cannot sleep at night because you can't stop itching yourself, and get off of bed in the morning with red marks in your body do not hesitate to request a room change! This happened to me, and ruined my first day in the city once I was exausted. Management gave me a new room at the end of the day, and staff tried hard to make me feel comfortable. For as much as I can understand this things may happen from time to time I would not stay there again. I have higher expectations on 4star-hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,456 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel has nice ambience with nicely decorated lobby.
The room is clean and big. Breakfast has decent selection of western and asian food with indoor and outdoor seating.
We enjoyed chill out by the pool with nice cocktail from the bar.
I would have given them excellent rating if not because of embarassing incident during our check out.

apparently one of our 4 rooms didnt have laundry bag and of course we didnt notice that as we dint use their laundry service.
There were about 4 or 5 people went to check our room left us cluelessly waiting at the lobby for 15 mins till one of the lady incharge ( I assume she is the manager of the day) asked us to pay for the missing laundry bag which we never seen before. She with her rude loud voice right infront of everyone at the lobby told us that "every room has laundry bag" and we have to pay for it.
Felt humilated with this, I argued and challanged them to check out bags. after all the arguments she ended up asking us to write on the small note that we didnt see any laundry bag in the room.
Her PR skill is definitely a BIG NO as the person in charge for the front line !!! I gave Zero for her ! This is really a big shame for the hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yukiari_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Thank you for your taking time to write us on trip advisor, we're regret to hearing your unsatisfied of the laundry bag story and kindly note that as per 4 star ranking all amenities or items which are support a convenience stay of all client must be completely as procedure, hence upon checking out of any of our valued client will re ask from front desk as their duty and we're very sorry if this task of our role disturbing you.

As per our goal and objective, all comment are very valued for us to bring up to improve to reach all guest satisfaction.

Tara Angkor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of an organised trip operated by beyond unique escapes (who were excellent) so can't comment on the price as accommodation was included. Hotel was very comfortable and provided us with a perfect base for exploring Siem Reap. Our room was very big, clean and had everything you would expect whilst staying in a hotel. The breakfast choices were very good and included a variety of cuisines from around the world. During the evenings we usually got a tuk tuk to pub street or the markets and would only pay $2 which meant that we were close enough to the action without being surrounded by it all of the time. Nice pool but as the weather wasn't the best we only used it for a dip and didn't do much sunbathing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Only sad thing is they don't offer late check outs..But otherwise food is good! Service is awesome and it feels 5stars! We didn't expect the hotel to look this good based on what we had paid! The bathrooms are excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasthuri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I enjoy shower and breakfast at this hotel. Selection of breakfast dishes can be compare with five stars hotel and taste is good except coffee. Water flow from shower is powerful with very stable temperature. Similar to water jet massage.
Recommend this hotel to person who aware of value for price paid.
-Good size rooms
-Clean
-Friendly service
-Superb breakfast
-Powerful shower with stable showering temperature
-10 mins to Angkor Wat/Old market by Tuktuk

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank MarkPHOTOgraphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 km away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
0.9 km away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#54 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,574 reviews
1.2 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,310 reviews
1.3 km away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#92 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,421 reviews
0.9 km away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#75 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: ₹ 3,382 - ₹ 7,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing