We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a few issues...”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #89 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel was really impressive when we arrived, very large, clean and looked like a good 4 star hotel.
We were taken to our room but I have to admit is smelled very bad, of a public toilet so I called reception and it was changed immediately. There was no apology or explanation and I would have expected something for this hassle such as a free drink or a better room but we were moved directly across the hallway!

Dinner was great, outside area, beautifully lit and relaxing.
Hotel is really close to angkor temples which is handy.

One night we returned to the hotel late and I asked for the room service menu, but the kitchen had already closed which was really disappointing as it was 10.15pm and the menu states up until 10.30pm.

The spa I found a little unprofessional. I booked a facial and a male friend booked a full body massage half an hour before. When I arrived for my facial they took me to the same room as my friend and asked me to strip!! After explaining to them I wanted a seperate room the staff giggled a lot and although apologised it was still quite embarrassing for everyone involved. Again, nothing was offered in the form of apology! I had to be taken to a room within the main hotel for my facial which was a bit annoying.

It was a nice hotel and no problems with the comfort of the room but I don't think I would return here again, there are plenty of other hotels in Siem Reap.

Must point out that breakfast was really very good a lot on offer and much choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelifeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Warmest Greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel,
We were honored that you have chosen the Tara Angkor Hotel during your visit to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. The Team hopes that this response will finds you well and that you had a safe trip.
On behalf of the Tara Angkor Hotel Team it was our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel in Siem Reap. If this encountered of any inconveniences during your stay please do not hesitate to comment on them. As we are constantly striving to improve our standards and exceed guest’s expectations we take guests’ comments very seriously.
We would like to thank you again for having chosen to experience the Tara Angkor hotel and hope that this experience has been a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you here again.
The Tara Angkor Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,536 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

I would largely agree with all the positive reviews here - it is beautiful, particularly the outdoor dining area, but unfortunately I ordered the Cordon Bleu chicken, and discovered (towards the end of eating it) that the chicken wasn't cooked at one end. I didn't complain at the time, as I was tired and didn't want to make a fuss, so can't comment on the staff response to this. I did, however, have to visit a medical facility in Saigon a few days later with severe diarrhoea and sickness. This was a shame, as everything else had been lovely.
I would have to say that the ladies in the spa could have been a bit more professional. My partner and I were told to strip completely and don a robe. Unfortunately the small robe meant that my partner was slightly 'exposed'. The masseurs were talking in Cambodian and really giggling about this, which ruined the relaxed atmosphere. I understand that it is comical - I can see the funny side - but feel that professionals should not make guests feel uncomfortable during an expensive massage.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Helsibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Warmest Greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel,
We were honored that you have chosen the Tara Angkor Hotel during your visit to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. The Team hopes that this email finds you well and that you had a safe trip.
On behalf of the Tara Angkor Hotel Team it was our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel in Siem Reap. we are accepting on the issue as ti's encountered of inconveniences during your stay . As we are constantly striving to improve our standards and exceed guest’s expectations we take guests’ comments very seriously.
We would like to thank you again for having chosen to experience the Tara Angkor hotel and hope that this experience has been a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you here again.
The Tara Angkor Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed with this hotel for 3 days and it didnt fail to impress us, cold towels & welcome drinks upon arrival, fast check in process, and personalized tour of the hotel from a staff of front office which was really great. Rooms are nice but we had an instance that we are just chatting in a normal tone and the other room which happened to be our cousins can clearly hear what were talking about. Breakfast was good and had many choices to choose from although some dining staffs are limited and quite overwhelmed. They even gave free cocktail drink coupon at Lily Lounge which was really good! Upon check out 3 staffs assisted us for our baggage which made loading our luggage fast.

Its truly a nice experience to stay at this hotel Ill sure come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Warmest Greetings from Tara Angkor Hotel,
Dear Valued Client,

We were honored that you have chosen the Tara Angkor Hotel during your visit to the UNESCO

World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. The Team hopes that this email finds you well and that you had a safe trip.
On behalf of the Tara Angkor Hotel Team it was our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel in Siem Reap. If you encountered any inconveniences during your stay please do not hesitate to comment on them. As we are constantly striving to improve our standards and exceed guest’s expectations we take guests’ comments very seriously.
We would like to thank you again for having chosen to experience the Tara Angkor hotel and hope that this experience has been a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you here again.
The Tara Angkor Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We loved the Tara Angkor Hotel. My lady and I arrived by shuttle from the airport to the hotel and I guess because we had a suite, they treated us like royalty! We received drinks, scarfs and desserts and the check in process was very easy. We also got a free massage each!The room was nice and big. One day, I will definitely go back to Angkor Wat and I will be staying at the Tara!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roys891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

After backpacking around vietnam for 2 weeks we needed a nice hotel as a base to enjoy the fabulous sites of Siem Reap and surrounding areas. It was excellent value for money.
Lovely rooms, huge good quality breakfast choices, nice pool area with free towels.
Tuk tuks into town $2 do no let them charge anymore, always negotiate before getting in.
Cannot fault this hotel, exactly as it advertises which in my view deserves an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoochKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 km away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
0.9 km away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#54 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,574 reviews
1.2 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,311 reviews
1.3 km away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#91 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,421 reviews
0.9 km away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: ₹ 3,453 - ₹ 7,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing