We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Big disappointment!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #129 of 335 Hotels in Siem Reap
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big disappointment!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Such a big disappointment!! Not only the wifi was not working, but the AC was super slow and was not cooling out room properly. Then to make things worse, the electricity went off in the room, it took a while for them to fix it and still we were left without cable tv. Not worth our money, could have stayed somewhere much better for the same price!!! The hotel have potential, the rooms were clean and spacious, shower worked properly and breakfast was ok. However, the most essential for us was wifi and AC, especially in this heat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lizza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    216
    57
    21
    4
See reviews for
62
145
60
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I cannot believe that so many people actually gave this lousy hotel good reviews- I can't imagine what they consider bad! Firstly, I booked an airport transfer with the hotel which never materialized. After traveling for 22 hours, that was disappointing. The person in charge of the taxi stand and the driver that I contracted for $7 (cheaper than the hotel) told me that the Claremont NEVER sends a driver; they just say they are going to. I arrived at the hotel, which is on a disgusting, garbage littered street at 11PM. Most of the lights in the lobby were off. I was greeted by a youth of around 16 who was very pleasent but totally clueless about everything.Through patience and sign language, I found out that there was no telephone service. I tried to connect to internet with the "free wifi" and found that there was also no internet connection. The young man told me that no-one else would be in until tomorrow.Eventually, he pulled another young man with a motorbike from the street who took me to a filthy internet cafe where I was able to e-mail my home and office. I was not entirely sure that I was not being kidnapped. The next morning, the internet was still down and the staff at the front desk informed me that there was no in-room telephone service because they did not yet have their "new system" installed. Don't hold your breath for that one! The internet was finally restored that evening, but it would be down once more for an entire day later in the week. If I had not envisioned a major battle to get a refund I would have moved to a different hotel. My "deluxe" room was actually quite nice and comfortable- except for the "deluxe" view from the side window of the roof next door unpon which sat a water tank, various broken wooden objects and two toilets. Yes, toilets. What a lovely view! The free "breakfast" is a joke. Fortunately, I happen to like stale baguette. The one saving grace was the excellent coffee-thank God for small miracles.The "limited room service" does not exist. There was actually a menu left on my desk one day, but it did not indicate hours of service or extention to call; it disappeared the next day.The "free bottled water" that is supposed to be supplied daily is not. I got it the first two days and that was it. I asked for it at the front desk on three occassions and was told that housekeeping would bring it up; it never materialized. The little pool is nice if you are lucky enough to snag one of the four tatty lounge chairs. Forget about enjoying a cocktail poolside. the bar, located ouside in the front garden, does not open until 5PM. Oh, and if you really get bored you can always watch Korean soap operas on the "cable" television. True, this is an inexpensive hotel, but there are many others in Siem Reap in the same price range that must be better quality, and some well reviewed ones that are just a few bucks more per night. Avoid the Claremont unless everything else is booked full!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a corner room facing the street. Not a pretty view, but better than the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dblank76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont A, General Manager at Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2015
Dear Value Customers,
Greeting from Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel

We found this review that customer posted with wrong location or reviewed by competitor. Why we said like that? Because in the tittle put no telephone, no internet, no lift but our properties we set up all this completely. We wrote a letter to tripadvisor to release the review and we waiting to respond from their team until now.

Best regard,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We, 3 adults arrived at the hotel at midday having booked and paid for 3 adults/1 room trough AGODA. After we entered the room we noticed the very high temperature in the room because the windows were fully open during the midday heat. We tried to cool down the room but the the A/C unit worked really slow with no option for speed increase. We also noticed that we were short of towels, shampoo, glasses, and the safety-box had its door locked. For the next couple hours the staff started to fix all the problems, having problems unlocking the safety-box and each problem had to be explained at reception and then again to the person who showed up to fix the problem and was not sure what to do. We decided to go to see the sunset at Angkor Wat and when we came back late in the evening to the room we noticed that room has only the two light sources and one was not working. When we went to reception and asked a young fellow at the desk to give us a new bulb, it took him almost one hour to find a minute from his "busy" time at the desk to bring us a new replacement bulb for the lamp (he had claimed that he does not have access to the storage room and can not help us.) During the night the A/C unit was so noisy that we had to wake up and try reduce the vibration noise.
Next day we asked for a room change or A/C unit repair and by the the time we came back in the evening time to the hotel, the A/C unit was fixed but again the cleaning staff opened the windows and left them open for the rest of the day despite us asking the reception desk person to not leave the windows open.
The internet service was extremely slow. Only one computer (at least 10 years old) was working from the three units at the lobby.
The hotel is advertising itself that it is under the new "western" management but it seems us there is still a lot of room for improvement. It is just a simple thing to dedicate 10 extra minutes to find the problems in the room before giving the key to the guests.
The hotel is a long walking distance to the city centre. We enjoyed the breakfast at the beautiful terrace and a nice swimming pool.
I think that for the same price you may have a better option for a short stay at Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank latawiec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Entry is off any main street and was a little hard to find the first evening we got there. Location of the otel itself is about 20min walk from Pub Street where the main night life and markets are.

Staff were friendly and very helpful at all times. We must really commend the front desk girls who were warm and helpful.

A few complaints associated with hotel services though. The Angkor Wat guide they organized for us basically finished the day early, and left us fighting with the poor tuk tuk driver to take us to see the "included" sunset. Hotel itself also over-charged us on checkout with bus tickets to Battambang double the price compared to the bus station, leaving a poor parting impression.

The room itself was spacious, clean, a little poorly lit at night, with a bar fridge and an old school CRT TV.

The shower was dismal. On our 5th floor room, the hot water flow was poor, and mostly non-existent: I basically had two COLD SHOWERS each day, for the 3 days we were there. And considering the activity out of Siemens Reap is long hot days in the sun, temple sighting and climbing stairs, coming back home daily to a cold trickle to try wash all the dust out of my hair was quite unpleasant. I ended up resorting to boiling water in a kettle to half fill the bath tub slowly so i could finally have a good wash after 3 days.

Internet too was disappointing. There's a pan-hotel wifi log in, so there were no issues with connecting multiple devices, but the internet was very slow. My ipad mail is set to fetch mail from my 3 gmail accounts, and the internet was incapable of coping with such a simple task and i had to check each account separately in safari.

Given that holidaying in SE Asia involves humidity, lots of sweating, sunscreen, insect repellent, tuk tuk rides through dirt roads and subsequent dust in hair, i really can't recommend this hotel based on our lack of hot water and weak shower flow. The inability to wash properly at the end of the day made the experience unpleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank borzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

nice staff, nice room with window! nice top floor restaurant, nice long hot shower :) abit poor with bar drinks selection :( Overall it is a very nice hotel :)

Room Tip: for smokers, you can ask for smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabJas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#128 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 km away
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
#82 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 km away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
1.3 km away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#119 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.5 km away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#111 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel

Property: Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Address: No. 0017 Phum Wat Bo | Sala Kamreuork, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Claremont Angkor Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#89 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,743 - ₹ 5,966
Hotel Class:3 star — Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claremont Angkor is a charming boutique hotel located in central Siem Reap, 6 km from Angkor Wat and about 50 m from the riverfront. It features a rooftop restaurant overlooking views. Guests enjoy access to the hotel's outdoor swimming pool. Free WiFi is available in rooms and public areas. Enjoying a convenient location, Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel is only a 15-minute drive from Siem Reap International Airport and a 10-minute walk from the Night Market and Pub Street. The property offers complimentary pickup services from the airport or Borei Sieng Num bus station. The modern rooms come with cable TV channels and a safety deposit box. A minibar and tea/coffee making facilities are also provided for guests' convenience. Guests can work out at the fitness centre or request for a massage. For convenience, the hotel offers a 24-hour front desk, ticketing services and a tour desk. Hot meals are served at the rooftop restaurant & Bar, which overlooks the peaceful river views. Drinks can be enjoyed at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Claremont Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing