We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Vanna Nith - very pleasant TUK TUK driver”

Angkor English Guide - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Angkor English guide was initially founded by senior tour guide-Sopheap-who want to better help visitors explore and experience his country. The team has since been joined by a number of professional tour guide, all with extensive experience leading private tours in Siem Reap and surrounding the areas. Over the last 7 years we have helped many people this beautiful city and create unforgettable memories of their time in the kingdom of wonder, and look forward to doing the same for you !
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We took Mr Venna Nith - tuk tuk no 3 from our hotel- le merdien. It was our first choice and the best one!! 2days trip around Angkor Wat- good value for money, flexible, open to negotitate, always rigt on time and extremly helpful!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank 38kamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pleasant personality"
in 2 reviews
"day tour"
in 13 reviews
"cambodian culture"
in 5 reviews
"visiting cambodia"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 3 reviews
"knowledge"
in 11 reviews
"mr"
in 17 reviews
"angkor"
in 20 reviews
"jokes"
in 3 reviews
"school"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

We booked a two-day tour with Angkor English Guide and we were very satisfied with their services. I don’t usually book tour guides, as there is so much information online and one can easily find the answer for every question they might have without paying for it. However, I found it compulsory to hire a tour guide for a place like Siem Reap, as the place is filled with history and symbols and having someone explaining them to you makes a big difference.

While I am positive there are many other tour guides in Siem Reap, I would like to STRONGLY recommend the one we had, Mr. KROOCH BOPHA. He not only has a good knowledge of his country’s history, but also has a pleasant personality.

He had been a monk for 17 years and he had only stopped two years ago, at the requests of his family, as he is the older brother and has to provide for the entire family. We were very grateful for all the stories and the historical and religious insights he told us, but especially for the fact that he shared his own story with us. While he was still a monk Mr. Bopha funded a school, where he teaches children English, Computer Science and Morality. The school was built with foreign donations and it’s open to anyone interested in learning, free of charge. Mr. Bopha was illiterate until the age of 19, when he became a monk, so he wants to make sure he gives something back to the society. Furthermore, he is positive that for the country’s situation to change people need to be educated and he is trying, to the best of his efforts, to help.
He pays teachers’ salaries from the donations he receives from his foreign friends/ clients, but in months when no donations come in, he pays them from his own pocket. In a country where a monthly average salary is $128, Mr. Bopha has to pay 5 teachers and the bills (approximately 700$). While we were not able to help more, we will definitely try to find the means to do it in the future!

If you are travelling to Cambodia and need a tour guide, ask for Mr. Bopha! Travel, learn and help!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

It was a great time for me to visit Cambodia and get a great tour program. The tour guide was very nice, he has a good information to provide to us and the driver were most polite and friendly. It was my great time in Cambodia.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank DDSokSovandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent tour for a high price.

My wife & I booked the 3 Day Tour for our visit to Siem Reap, and the whole experience was wonderful right from the start! Our driver, although I cannot remember his name, was extremely pleasant and professional, always opening our doors, with water and cold towels at the ready! Our guide, Mr. Sonpheap, was incredible. He provided thorough information about each and every temple, was incredibly pleasant and friendly, and did everything he could to make sure our time with him was comfortable and fun! The only downside to this tour is the high price -- for the $300 we paid, very little was included. But if you are not on a backpacker's budget and have some extra money to spend, I highly recommend this trip!!! This company offers many varieties of Angkor trips, something for everyone.

If you decide to book a tour with Angkor English Guide, I highly recommend requesting Mr. Sonpheap as your guide!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank hlawson2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kong Y, Owner at Angkor English Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hello Hailey, thanks for your excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Our guide was Mr. Sopheap and he was excellent! He and a very nice driver picked us up right on time at 4:45am to head to see the sunrise at Angkor Wat. He found us the shortest line to get our pass, then scoped out a fairly empty spot by the water to experience the beautiful sunrise and then let us stay there as long as we wanted (even taking some nice photos of us). He went out of his way to ensure we had many happy memories of Cambodia, from making sure there was a fan by our table at lunch, to making sure we had enough water throughout the day.

We were on a really condensed schedule and he made sure to fit in as many temples as possible, even changing the temples around as he figured out our interests throughout the day.

He had so much information to share about every temple, and will slow down if you want to spend more time at a specific site or speed up if you want to move on. He also provided amazing stories about Cambodia in the present day, and shared many insights into daily Cambodian culture.

Overall, it was a great experience, he was so nice and everything worked out so well, we left feeling like we had seen everything we wanted. We will miss his smiling face and his excitement!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank discoelephant 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor English Guide - Day Tours also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor English Guide - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing