We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location and value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Temple Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Temple Villa
Ranked #48 of 335 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Golden Temple Villa for 3 nights over Easter. The location is great, short walk to the centre of town and places to eat and drink. The rooms are simple, but very clean and have air con and a fan. As other people have said, the staff were very friendly. My only complaint on the room was that the mattress is foam, so if like me you have any sort of a bad back you don’t get lots of support. That being said, I did actually sleep well.

When considering this place you have to remember that it is only US$20 per night (for the room we were in), so this is not the Four Seasons. That being said, I have no problems giving 5* based on what you get for the money. Breakfast was not included, but was only US$3 for a good meal. There are free bananas to help yourself to all day. We also had a pick up at the airport included in out rate. The guy was there, nice and visible and it was a great way to start the holiday riding in a tuk tuk into town.

For visiting the temples, they offer readymade packages, but you can change elements and they were very accommodating. We wanted to add in the landmine museum for example, which they were happy to do. I am sure you pay a bit more than if you negotiated with a local tuk tuk driver, but you are guaranteed reliability and no need to haggle.

There are plenty of bigger hotels with pools etc, but from my perspective this covers everything you could possibly need to visit.

My only other tip would be that while there were bikes at the hotel you could use, and there were lots of cheap rental places for US$2 per day, you are much better off going to one of the places with the nice shiny new mountain bikes. They were US$4 per day, but head and shoulders above anything else for quality, and hence comfort.

As a reference point, we are a British couple living in Singapore. No kids, mid 30s. We have stayed at everywhere from Four Seasons to backpacker lodges in West Africa, so I think we have a balanced view of what is acceptable and what is value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    533
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
173
756
370
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a lovely little place with the most welcoming and friendly staff who couldn't do more for you and always greeted you with a smile.

The rooms are clean and have tvs with a lot of western channels plus a DVD player and air con. There is also a lovely little bar which does good food.

The location is great only a short walk to pub street but down a quiet street. They also provided a pick up for us from the bus even though it was only a very short walk away.

Friends of mine tried to book in with a few days notice but were unable to so worth booking up early.

All in all for only 18 USD a night is a must stay in that price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in April after coming from Vietnam, the hotel is situated down a little side street but don't let that put you off as its location is excellent 5 minutes walk from Golden Temple you will be in Pub Street.
Unfortunately we did not book but managed to stay three nights, the room was very good air con & fan / free WiFi / nicely decorated and the power shower was excellent only a minor complaint but the cord for the shower could have been longer so I didn't have to stoop my 6.4ft frame to get washed!
Staff are friendly and the organised tours are very good, a Tuk Tuk for the day is only $10 with an English speaking guide it was an extra $20 you cannot go wrong for a full day tour around Angkor Wat private driver and guide for $30!
Book in advance if you want to stay here as it gets full fast!

Tip*
To get to pub street;
Turn left out of the hotel at the end of the road turn left again walk 50 yards then cross the road. Big neons signs advertising Pub Street you cannot miss it.

Room Tip: Book in advance as this place gets booked up fast. The 1st Floor & 2nd Floor have the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich_IX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel was one spotless , the rooms were a good size and had everything we could have thought of . All the staff ere very friendly and helpful. They all spoke English . Pool area and gardens were beautiful , very relaxing after walking the temples. We booked all taxis etc through the front desk which was easy .
A very memorable trip ! Would definitely return .

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I spent 6 enjoyable days in March 2012 at the Golden Temple Villa. From the second we arrived by tuk-tuk from the airport , provided free by the hotel, we were cared for by the always kind and welcoming staff as if we were family. In a friendly and professional manner, they helped in planning all our daily adventures. The hotel is itself absolutely beautiful, a real work of art both in the building and its surrounding garden and restaurant (good food, too). Our room was clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. For those travelers looking for a memorable place to stay in Siem Reap at a great price, give the Golden Temple Villa a try. You'll like it. A big "thank you" to all the staff from Jeffrey and Susan from San Francisco

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 km away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#9 of 335 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,342 reviews
0.0 km away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#84 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 km away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#74 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#6 of 335 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 km away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#68 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 km away
Travellerhome Angkor
Travellerhome Angkor
#184 of 335 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Property: Golden Temple Villa
Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,939 - ₹ 15,844
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Temple Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 30 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing