We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't change a thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #114 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Creemore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wouldn't change a thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Loved this small hotel, just 10 rooms. Staff all very friendly. Breakfast and laundry included. Didn't meet this owners, but they run an excellent operation. Books to read, lovely rooms and pool

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
128
138
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Because my wife has flown for a living for 44 years, we have had plenty of chances to travel, including some "third world" destinations (our son lived in Guatemala for four years). The Journeys Within Boutique Hotel is simply magnificent and the package of sightseeing (the obvious, such as Angkor Wat and the not-so-obvious, such as our guide's home village in the jungle) was superbly planned and executed: We saw just the "right amount" of central Cambodia.

If there is a more enterprising, interesting or caring young couple than proprietors, Brandon and Andrea Ross on the planet, we haven't met them. A stay at the hotel includes a near-mandatory hour or so, teaching adults or children in the adjoining school they operate for the Cambodian people. This "social tourism" feature was a new one for us, but a high point of the trip.

Their food and drinks are great, air conditioning highly functional (in a place where it REALLY matters) and the rooms and grounds of the small hotel immaculate and beautiful. You could probably spend a day in the pool, but you'd miss some great sightseeing.

Andrea and her U.S. opposite number, Kate, also provide a barrage of getting-ready-to-go guides for your trip, indeed, the best and most comprehensive of such materials we have had from any company on any trip. They will do a trip anywhere in Asia for you.

Siem Reap, by the way, has a very attractive new airport and is served by several major airlines; the town has plenty of popular restaurants, great markets and lots of "life."

Room Tip: Does not appear to matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Journeys Within rocks! Engaged Journeys Within for our 3 seek trip to Thailand and Cambodia with four night at the Siem Reap hotel and could not be happier with all aspects. The experience came with fantastic guides, accommodations, itinerary and food in all respects. The staff at the Siem Reap Hotel were all so very helpful, kind, respectful, should I go on, I could. In particular, Phen Po was a delight with is bright smile, exuberant greetings and genuine friendliness, and as with all the staff a desire to help. WOW, Thank you all, I will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpd2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I've never stayed anywhere quite like this, certainly not in Cambodia: a beautiful group of small villas laid out around a pool in glorious gardens, very comfortable, amazing breakfasts in the restaurant, quiet, restful rooms and all very well-equipped. The young American couple who built this idyllic place help to support and educate people in the local community. They have built a school next door for local kids, and are helping young Cambodians who otherwise might never get a proper education to go through school and university. Many of these charming young people help to run the place, and the service is first-class - always with a dazzling smile. Brandon and Andrea are themselves excellent hosts. They live on the premises with their young family, and are friendly but unobtrusive. It's not only a perfect base from which to explore the unbelievable temples of Ang Wat and the rest, but also a life-changing way to get close to this wonderful country and its people. When you factor in free laundry and free evening tuk-tuks, it's not expensive even by Cambodian standards - and even by having a lovely selfish holiday there you feel you are helping the community. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights in May 2008 and just loved it! The place, then called Journeys within Bed and Breakfast, is absolutely fantastic. They only have a few rooms, so it is never crowded and they have got time to be personal. Apart from that, the rooms are just beautiful and a swim in the pool in the late evening after a long day visiting the Angkor Wat area... not much can beat that!

Also, Andrea and Brandon had helped us with arranging also a leg to Battambang and a boattrip across Tonle Sap. On the boattrip across the boatcompany lost one of our bags, but Brandon and his crew were just fantastic in helping us with the police and everything.

If (I'd love to say when, but...) we ever return to Siem Reap, this will be the place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.0 km away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#35 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.6 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 km away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#75 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
#104 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.0 km away
Residence101
Residence101
#24 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Property: Community Residence Siem Reap
Address: | Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,992 - ₹ 4,754
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing